We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good happy hour”
Review of Fosshotel Reykholt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fosshotel Reykholt
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reykholt
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good happy hour”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

What a surprise to find a small hotel that has a real "happy hour" and it is nicely done by attentive and friendly staff.

The hotel itself is not so great. Single rooms are tiny, very tiny. There is no elevator to help get heavy bags up the stairs. The restaurant is only so-so. Some of us are vegetarians and we gave the hotel notice of this well in advance. While other hotels accommodated this request creatively, Fosshotel Reykholt served a most unappetizing vegetarian lasagna that was not recently made, perhaps kept frozen or something like that. There is a computer for checking email but getting it to work is time consuming and takes finding the right staff member to sort it out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    72
    60
    22
    8
See reviews for
38
93
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Fosshotel Reykholt was the second hotel of our stay on our trip around Iceland, and the first venturing out of Reykjavik, and we never regretted chosing it. Already we were familiar that the hotel's slogan about friendly athmosphere is absolutely true, but here we were fully reinforced. I cannot praise the friendlyness and the helpfulness of the stuff. Apart from that, the hotel offers spacious and comfortable rooms, that look like exactly in their photos, comfortable wellness and fitness facilities, and great tasting food in their restaurant, as well as a good locations to visit some of the nearby natural wonders. One plus point for me is also a chance to see everyday icelandic lifestyle, as it is located at the edge of a small settlement. All in one word, a great little hotel, absolutely recommended :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gallusdomesticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iceland
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I have stayed here before and then it was a little rough around the edges. Now it is a great smaller hotel. Stayed here with friends. the hot tubs were great. We had a nice supper here and the breakfast was bountiful.
A great place to spend a few days and explore the west of Iceland.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londrina, PR
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The rooms need a reform, the water smells bad, but is very usual in Iceland (different from other places wich have geothermal activities, like Atacama Desert- where the water doesn´t smell).

The staff was very nice to us and the location is very quiet and peaceful.

Cheers to Martina (who got us there, a lovely person), and all the staff from the reception and restaurant.

Layla Pontello Dal-Prá Reis

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaylaReis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Ouseburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
744 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We were en route to waterfalls up the road.... their name escapes me. We stopped in Reykholt to check out the Church, an old pool of historical significance and to find a WC = not in that order I hasten to add.

Reykholt is a one horse town, so I bravely went in to the Fosshotel hoping we could have a sandwich and a coffee, with my wife and friends thinking this was a non starter as to be fair the hotel from the outside looked like a design throw back to the 1960s and all that was wrong with concrete construction.

But we had found a warm oasis of friendliness, food and drink. Lovely staff welcomed us in, they tried out their new coffee machine on our group and it worked particularly the Latte and we were then served toasted salmon sandwiches which were the business.

Meanwhile outside the storm clouds and winds were gathering. Local advice from the Receptionist Leilla was to high tale it back to the big R... a bit dramatic may be, but last year a big storm hit the west side of Iceland and the outcome was not positive.

I never saw the bedrooms or experienced the full facilities, but if I wanted a warm and friendly place to watch the Northern Lights then I would certainly consider next time I came to Iceland.

Morale of the story. Never assume that an ugly building gives ugly service and poor value...

PS gutted that we did not have time to visit the Micro Brewery down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MStJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed there with my son (7). We were met by Ásgeir in the reception. I have never been to this location and Ásgeir was really helpful in pointing out places for us to go and see.

The breakfast buffet was nice and the waitresses were helpful.

The hot tubs were very refreshing after a long day of sightseeing.

Our room was clean and overall I thought the hotel was very nice and up to standard for this location. At least we liked the stay and would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here for one night on a tour of Iceland, I can't comment on pricing/value as it was part of a package but the building itself is (in common with the other Fosshotel Group place we stayed) pretty old and tired and in need of investment. nevertheless, the staff were helpful and friendly, the cooking was good and the loctaion is a very nice one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reykholt
12.7 mi away
Hotel Husafell
Hotel Husafell
#1 of 1 in Husafell
224 reviews
18.7 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
332 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hraunsnef Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Bifrost
Hotel Bifrost
#2 of 2 in Bifrost
63 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
179 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel Glymur
Hotel Glymur
#1 of 1 in Akranes
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Reykholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Reykholt

Property: Fosshotel Reykholt
Address: Fosshotel | on Rte 518, Reykholt 320, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Reykholt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reykholt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Reykholt 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshótel Reykholt is a cultural theme hotel, based on Icelandic literature, Norse mythology and classical music. This official 3 star Tourist Class hotel includes a restaurant, bar, library, Internet lounge, front desk, outdoor hot tubs, the cosy moon-lounge, wellness center, conference rooms for up to 150 persons and free parking. All guestrooms and restaurant/bar facilities are non-smoking. At Fosshótel Reykholt following room categories are available:•24 spacious superior rooms with bathtub.•29 standard double and single rooms with shower.•3 Family rooms.This hotel is ideal for guests that like to relax in the countryside, enjoy reading, writing and are interested in extending their knowledge of Icelandic cultural heritage.Fosshótel Reykholt focuses also on well being and cultural travel, offering unique facilities based on relaxing, destressing and revitalizing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fosshotel Reykholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing