We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and full of charecter.”
Review of Hotel Tindastoll

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tindastoll
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saudarkrokur
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Small and full of charecter.”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night on 12 September 2013. We were not the only guests but the hotel was still very quite. We had a room upstairs and the stairs presented quite a challenge to go down with large heavy luggage. The room was in charecter with the rest of the hotel full of old stuff. Particularly interesting were the lighting switches. Liked the swan on the bed (towels). Breakfast was average but fresh. The receptionist very welcoming and friendly. All said a lovely house in an uninteresting village.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Noel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    79
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
23
102
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of a 2-week tour of Iceland. The hotel has two parts: the old 1800s part with dark but cosy rooms full of olde world character, and the new part with modern bright rooms. They also have a summerhouse in the grounds behind the hotel and we stayed in it. It's a wonderful wood cabin with its own kitchenette, dining area, shower room, three single beds, an outside decking area with table & chairs and your own private parking space! It was cosy and warm. There's free wifi in the cabin too! You have breakfast in the hotel (which was good) and you're steps away from the hotel's natural thermal pool. The staff are friendly and the lady at reception makes her own jams that you have for breakfast - blackcurrant & rhubarb was our favourite flavour! Thank you for a great experience

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ivan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here on our second night in Iceland. The room was facing the see and although old, quite roomy. The bathroom was very small, but acceptable. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the outdoor heated pool after a long day very welcome. The breakfast was average but enough was provided for everyone. I would recommend this Hotel to travelers.

Room Tip: Try the upstairs room facing the ocean, it is bigger than the opposite room facing the heated pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VampireNam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Really a jewel in a boring city. The people are friendly and helpful. The rooms are small [ours were 50% occupied by a sloping roof], the bathrooms are minute - BUT ... the ambiance makes up for everything. Also has a very nice hot pool - fed by a natural hot spring. This place is full of character and tradition.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvdcolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
telaviv
Level Contributor
148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Great for History buffs.Otherwise it's a very old traditional hotel wit tiny rooms,noisy beds and soft mattresses ,you can hear any talk form the next room and from the raod traffic.
Very dim lights.Tiny bathrooms with great towels but you can hardly move in.
One should aware what kind of inconvenience you are paying for the Historical rooms.
10 for ambiance but 6 for the rest.
PS Friendly receptionist
.

Room Tip: Try the new modern building same owners got
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amnobenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Man, this hotel has a lot of potential, rooms are small but very cozy and romantic, like the small things in putting your bathtowels like a swan or elephant in your room. But man it is noisy, especially when the owner family decides to have a kind of party in the bar. It started at 5 pm with the father running around like a clown with his children arguing when they could get in the pool. It lasted till 11 pm... Too bad because the hotel has style. Would be better if the owners realize that a hotel is not a playground for their family, but that it is a business to run...

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank robertmonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishpon, Israel
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We, a family of four - parents and two adults (25 and 20 years) stayed at Vhotel Tindastall for one night on the start of May. Although the surroundings and the whole city of Saudarkrokur, is quite non-promising, the Hotel Tindastall has its inside unique appearance, full of tradition an character, yet elegant and clean. Sure, it has a big potential, with a good hot tub outside. However, since we had a promise, and, moreover since we were the only guests (or alomost the only ones, for the benefit of the little doubt) on this period of the year, we expected a more positive attitude and some good will. We received the most littel and condensed rooms (we knew there are some better rooms beforehand). The short, almost bizarre welcome was a little insulting, and most of all the most cheapskate breakfast we had in Icleland which represented the whole attitude of the owners. It was extremely poor, with minimal portions of that and that, where for example one! tomato for us four, and some opened butter packages. I assume that for the rates Hotel Tindastall is charging they may offer a little better breakfast, and a much more positive and welcoming attitude and dare to say much more generosity. Tips: (a) If you are stuck in north-west Iceland and you would like to try a special place, and when basic service is not of your preference, meaning you may get along by almost neglectance, you may try Hotel Tindastall, otherwise go somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamir_Caspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saudarkrokur
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mikligardur
Hotel Mikligardur
#2 of 3 in Saudarkrokur
39 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hotel Varmahlid
Hotel Varmahlid
#1 of 1 in Varmahlid
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mikligardur Guesthouse
Mikligardur Guesthouse
#3 of 3 in Saudarkrokur
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Microbar & Bed
Microbar & Bed
#2 of 4 in Saudarkrokur
11 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hofsstadir Guesthouse
Hofsstadir Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Saudarkrokur
217 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kolkuos
Kolkuos
#1 of 2 in Skagafjordur
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tindastoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tindastoll

Property: Hotel Tindastoll
Address: Lindargata 3, Saudarkrokur 550, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Northwest Region > Saudarkrokur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saudarkrokur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tindastoll 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tindastoll is the oldest hotel in Iceland, dating back in 1884. The building came in parts from Norway and it was assembled as a storehouse in Hofsos between 1820 and 1829, moved later on to Grafarós in 1833 and finally shipped over the fjord and reassembled at its present location in Sauðárkrókur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Tindastoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tindastoll Hotel Saudarkrokur
Hotel Tindastoll Iceland/Saudarkrokur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing