We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We saw the Northern Lights from our bed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Skogar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Skogar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skogar
Azle, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“We saw the Northern Lights from our bed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were out there, away from city lights, all prepared to wrap up at midnight and go out in a blustery 5C night. We had accidentally gotten a room (#204) with a big north facing window at the foot of our king sized bed (an attraction all by itself after sleeping in push together twins on this trip). And when we got up, there they were. Luminescent green, pretty weak but definitely there. We were later told the lights are seldom as bright as depicted on the internet or at the Northern Lights Show in Reykjavik. We didn't go out, but stayed in there comfy and warm. Our fresh fish dinner in the small restaurant was excellent, as was the breakfast.

Room Tip: if you don't want to go out in the night, hold out for #204.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tico8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    57
    27
    9
    16
See reviews for
31
103
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We've walked into this hotel looking for a room after walking 26 km in rain and wind looking for shelter. This means that we are a bit biased in our review :) The room we stayed in was basic and small, but it was clean and had a spacious bathroom. The dinner (not included in the price) was excellent - the chef accommodated our desires and changed the dishes as we asked, the food was great. The breakfast was ok, standard buffet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daria_Segal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was supposed to be our second stay in Skogar, After completting the Landmannalaugar-Skogar trek. Unfortunately we had to cut short our trek in Thorsmork, and could only notify the hotel about the cancellation 2 days in advance. According to the reservation conditions they could have charged the whole sum, but to our great relief chose to accept our explanation and charge nothing at all. Typical Icelandic decency? Maybe, but nevertheless worth mentioning as a well-appreciated, considerate comportment of an honest establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galiavu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Location of hotel is close to hiking trail, very good. Check in, check out was efficient and all who work were friendly.

The hot tub was very hot and nobody could use it. The sauna was cold and nobody could use it. My bed was horrible other said OK. TV set didn’t work when we used it. Can be our failure.

The restaurant was acceptable and the breakfast good but coffee was definitely not good. If I will be around I could stay again at the hotel but not more than one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krzysztof F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I can't comment on value as it was part of a package.
The rooms here were very small (literally 2 feet of space around the double bed) and our room was not new, nor renovated. It was clean basic room but we stayed in other motels that where nicer. There were rumours of renovations but we saw no evidence of that.
Excellent location near Skogafoss waterfall that we walked to before breakfast.
Breakfast was fine, but view from diningroom was nothing special.
I felt it was a little long in the tooth in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location. Friendly helpful staff. Hot tub needs attention. Small boutique Hotel, no lounge or bar.
Excellent food, well presented. Very attractive dining room. Close to Skogafoss, folk museum and black sands in Vic.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We went in here on a chance. The hotel is fairly new, the rooms are very large and the bathrooms very clean and modern. We just ate dinner, I had lobster and my dad had cod. My lobster was 9 lobster tails with salad (great variety of veggies). It was very fresh and delicious! I would definitely recommend staying here. Its the same price as a guesthouse but much more spacious and includes breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamiltongirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skogar
21.4 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
7.5 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Edda Skogar
Hotel Edda Skogar
#2 of 2 in Skogar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Skogafoss
Hotel Skogafoss
#1 of 3 in Skogar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skogar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skogar

Property: Hotel Skogar
Address: Skogar, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > South Region > Skogar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skogar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Skogar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing