We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staff, Cool Location, Zero Amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Welcome Hotel Lambafell
Ranked #3 of 3 Skogar B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Staff, Cool Location, Zero Amenities”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here in June 2014. They have new staff, and they're solid. Hotel is in a beautiful location, close to the coolest glacier ever. You can drive right up to the base of it.

Room was small and the hot tub didn't work, but there's a hot spring-fed swimming pool up in the mountains nearby.

They charge 19.00 USD for a 9 inch frozen pizza, and the closest grocery store is 40km away. Business 101 dictates that you'd sell alot more product and make more money if you lowered your prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canuckangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    70
    59
    42
    42
See reviews for
55
150
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The pictures are somewhat deceiving. When you arrive, you can tell that the pictures don't quite show the reality. That nice warm cabin feel is kind of cheap and faked. The rooms are large but awkward and strangely decorated. Our TV had a hot pink frame for example. The location is great, just at the base of the mountains (Eyjafjallajokull is not far), not far from the main road, and you must take the time to drive/walk out to Seljavallalaug which is only a short distance away. The staff were friendly, but not overly helpful or attentive. The hot tub was dirty and aged, and we decided not to go in but it would have been nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRob147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel was a little hard to find if you miss the sign... Very near skogarfalls (~5min), Dirholaey (~25min), and Vik (~35min). The room was clean and bathroom was very modern. The internet connection was good and the breakfast was good too. There was a hottub outside but we didn't use it (it seemed nice though).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimjin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar es salaam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here two nights and used it as a mid-way stop for all of our southern attractions (Skogafoss hike, black sand beaches etc). It's a great big lodge with simple clean rooms and a hot tub that was great at the end of a long day. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: A second floor room might offer a better view of the ocean
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank blitz195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Lambafell on the second night of a trip round Iceland. It's a beautiful wooden lodge in a remote spot, not far from the Eyjafjallajokull volcano. It was very difficult to find as the address we were given was not recognised by Google maps. Our sat nav took us to the wrong place; about 20 mins west. We ended up calling in to a cafe and the owner helped us find directions - but even she struggled and had to call the owner of Lambafell to get the right information. There was no option of an evening meal there so we went to a restaurant about 5 mins down the road - it was called "Anna's" and it was a very authentic local Icelandic restaurant, which we would recommend! Our room at Lambafell was a superior room. It was very large and comfortable, with amazing views of the surrounding landscape. The bathroom was great, with a really nice powerful shower. Breakfast was very basic and was the one thing that let the place down.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We spent one night here on our recent week-long trip of Iceland. We were en route from the Golden Circle to Jökulsarlon and this made for the pefect mid-way stopover! The first thing that struck us was the rather random welcome, somewhat unfriendly, from one man who gave us our key but it didn't deter us. The room was lovely, spacious bathroom and two duvets on the bed, which we love. Right outside our room there was a hot tub which we pretty much jumped straight into! It was perfect to relax there after a day's driving and before dinner. It was a gorgeous sunny day and there were great views of Eyjafjalljökull!

There is no restaurant here so you need to drive a bit to find one. We actually ate in a brand new restaurant in Skogar (owned by same people as restaurant anna in the other direction) and the fish was really superb.

In the evening we played chess at Lambafell and ordered to really expensive beers! The "bar" at the hotel charges €7 for some basic lager...but I guess you find that all over Iceland :) IT was a cosy "alpine" feeling inside in the evening and breakfast the next morning was pretty basic to say the least. Plentiful but basic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenski3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Large log cabin inn beside the mountains. Amazing setting and convenient location to the sites of the southern ring road. Family suite had 4 twin beds. Bathroom was fine. Hot tub outside was nice after a day of hiking. Breakfast was simple - toast, yogurt, coffee, etc. A good option for the south coast.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACDC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skogar
21.7 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
4.9 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
273 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Edda Skogar
Hotel Edda Skogar
#2 of 2 in Skogar
145 reviews
21.7 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
22.8 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel Lambafell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel Lambafell

Property: Welcome Hotel Lambafell
Address: Hvolsvollur, 861, Skogar, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Skogar
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Skogar
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Welcome Hotel Lambafell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing