We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily the best guesthouse we stayed at in Iceland during our trip.”
Review of Skogar Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skogar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skogar Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 3 Skogar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Easily the best guesthouse we stayed at in Iceland during our trip.

Thanks Sigga and her husband for a wonderful stay in Skogar!

The husband and wife team prepared for their guests' arrival late into the evening and made sure the hot tub was ready for a warm relaxing soak after a long day on the road. They love what they do and made everyone felt at home immediately.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Although a bit late we stopped in to let Sigga, a delightful hostess, know we had arrived and at dusk we walked over to see the lovely, but huge cascading Skogarfoss waterfall beside a neighboring dairy farm. After dinner and a soak in the geothermal hot tub at the guesthouse, we visited with the other quests and were convinced to get up later to hopefully see the northern lights. We returned to the falls to watch the only glimpse of the aurora borealis that we saw during our 9 night visit. Met super friendly people and felt very 'at home'.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3432Sandy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I can't say enough about the hosts at Skogar Guesthouse, it feels like you are staying with long lost friends. The house is so cozy, beautifully decorated and comfortable in a nice, low key environment. We enjoyed it so much, we went back on our return from Hofn to Reykjavik. It would be an absolutely fabulous place in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldiegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Really this place is an enigma. There are plenty of pluses as well as minuses.

It's not a hotel, can't call it a guesthouse neither is it a hostel. As a lot of reviewers have said it was like staying at your favourite auntie's house who is also a bit batty and disorganised.

It very much depends on what you can put up with and find acceptable as a holiday vacation. If this guesthouse is located in the UK, it will fail miserably should an inspector of the Health & Safety Dept drop in.

Due to the very low tariff this place is very popular and therefore invariably full or almost full. The location is excellent, that is without argument. Sigga is a very amiable hostess, very accommodating and bubbly and is genuinely kind and welcoming. We enjoyed her company immensely during our stay.

As the lady from Shanghai stated, cleanliness is an issue here. Renovations works looked like it was done by a "cowboy", electrical wires were left lying about the place. Wall plug fittings were hanging out of the wall. The kitchen which was opened to anybody who wants to cook their own meal is often left in disarray and dirty dishes and cooking utensils unwashed.

There were 2 bathrooms shared among occupants of 8 (supposedly) bedrooms and that is far from ideal.

There is not much privacy and the sitting room upstairs is cluttered and not very comfortable. Most guests would spend their time in the kitchen or in their rooms. Broadband is available from a domestic connection which when shared out among more than 10 devices made for a very slow and frustrating experience.

Sigga, you're a very, very good hostess but your premises need a whole lot of sprucing up.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful evening with the hosts, talking about all kind of topics. We requested dinner and enjoyed a incredibly delicious fish gratin that we will never forget! The relaxing bath in the outdoor pool made a perfect evening unforgettable. Thank you so much, we loved your place and really felt at home away from home.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank atc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

well it took us a while to find the guesthouse. the owners are nice and helpful, they have a kitchen so you can cook meal if you want. Don't expect too much about the wifi. The room was ok and we kinda enjoy the "vintage" feeling there, it's like sleeping in my grandma's room..

The guesthouse is closed to Skogarfoss and a museum.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

At first, let me mention some of the good points:
- friendly people running this guesthouse;
- possibility to prepare your own food;
- close to Skogar waterfall

However, the negative points clearly outweight the positiv parts:
- horribly dirty!!
- it seemed like the rooms where not cleaned since this guesthouse opened
- the mattresses where full of stains, likewise bedding and pillows
- bundles of hair and dust in the rooms
- cute but smelling dog (walking around the kitchen and bathrooms)
- one bathroom was renovated, the second one had "garage standards"

As a conclusion, this guesthouse is run by nice people which like to interact with their guests which is a positiv point. However, they seemed to have no cleaning personel and never took care of the cleaning themselves (since opening in 2012!). I would never stay here again due to the mentioned reasons and can therefore NOT recommend this guesthouse in any way. Investing all the money to fly over from Asia and travel around Iceland is only worth it if you stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravellerC2409XD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skogar
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edda Skogar
Hotel Edda Skogar
#2 of 2 in Skogar
149 reviews
17.2 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
0.3 mi away
Hotel Skogar
Hotel Skogar
#1 of 2 in Skogar
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Skogafoss
Hotel Skogafoss
#1 of 3 in Skogar
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Skogar Hosteling International
4.6 mi away
Welcome Hotel Lambafell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skogar Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skogar Guesthouse

Address: Skogar, Skogar 861, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Skogar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Skogar
Price Range: £103 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing