We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mountshannon harbour from Aistear Park
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Mountshannon harbour from Aistear Park
The Moorings on Lough Derg - approx. 50 yds from property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mountshannon, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Poor - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
cork2011
cork
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In desperate need of Maintenance - disappointing”
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here in last week with young family.
while I have no issues with the manager on duty who addressed the main issues i spoke to him about which were
- poor heating on arrival (timer on boiler was broken, heating needed to be left quite awhile,to get house warm) note it was a very cold night we arrived.
-wifi was not connecting
-side lamps with blown bulbs

I firstly like to say caretaker /manager assisted as best he could with the above 3 issues .

However I felt i needed to write a review on the other items that came to my attention that could not be resolved in a weekend stay. these were
- overall shabby look of the house (paint peeling off walls)

- shower tray badly rusting
- ensuite shower had duct tape on shower head holder to try and allow shower
head to be risen
-sidelamps in bedrooms badly rusting (bulbs blown in some)
- light over sink in main bathroom not working
- patio needs to be maintained (broken portion- which i was made aware of)
- duvet covers ripped in parts
- small cupboard with broken shelf
-sweet papers under bed in twin room on arrival

I also felt to have at least soap provided in bathrooms would be a nice gesture.
Mountshannon and surrounding area are lovely parts of the country and these houses are ideally situated but the houses themselves were a let down, and also the heating/water should be covered in a booking cost when booking as these houses are costly to heat.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnomaho...
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't even think about booking these holiday homes!”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Where do I start......On arrival, noticed that the outside of the property probably hadn't seen paint since the day it was built, windows were dirty, walls and timberwork were very shabby. Swallows nests were up in the eaves with the birds fouling clearly visible on the slates and footpaths. Going inside, things didn't get much better. A smell of must/damp greeted us. Had to clean all surfaces including all delph and cutlery. Internal walls were badly in need of painting,some lights not working including no cover on the strip light over the sink in the main bathroom and some blue tape over a switch for the front door light - I think this meant it wasn't working! There was a smell of sewage in the main bathroom (which doesn't have a window) - not very welcoming. A small nail was protruding from one of the spindles at the top of the stairs which one of my children noticed!
Mountshannon itself has a very pretty harbour but that's about it - nothing much happens here and it reminds me a little of the poem by Oliver Goldsmith "The Deserted Village". If you are looking for total peace and quiet and boredom - go for it but otherwise steer clear.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mountshannon hotels

joefoster...
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this last minute but very glad we booked it. The house was outstanding the local people really friendly. A great place to just get away from it all. I am looking forward to coming back at some other time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
periluce
Saint-Brieuc, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Non.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
Nous vous remercions de prendre le temps d'examiner notre propriété, vos commentaires ont été pris en charge et les suivons.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing