We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountshannon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakeside Holiday Park
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a holiday”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This holiday park was a lovely break for myself and family. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a mobile home and it was more than adequate for what we needed. It was as spacious as any mobile home is and had everything in it that we needed. The lake is beautiful and was a great place for the kids to play, swim and fish. The park was busy when we were there. There were quite a lot of people staying in tents and there seemed to be good facilities for them. As was said in some of the reviews, some of the holiday homes/ mobiles seemed to be quite old (from the outside anyway) but were nicely situated in between the trees and had a nice feel to it. This park would really only suit someone for longer than a few days if you were really into your watersports. A lot of people came just to use the lake. There are no other facilities on the site. All in all, it was an enjoyable stay and I would go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    17
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is a lovely spot run by lovely people. The lakeside pitches are worth searching out. The site is quite European with pitches among the trees. Facilities are very good with onsite boat/canoe hire.

Room Tip: Search out the lakeside pitches
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Had 2 nights staying in our caravan overlooking Lough Derg, fabulous views, very peaceful. Plenty of trees, making he place feel more like camping than the usual organised pitches. The staff are friendly and helpful. The showers and toilets are a bit dated, but clean and the water is hot. We rented a boat from the owners of the site (only €50 for the day) and went to Holy Island and saw sea eagles on another island, magic... We ate in the An Cupan Caife 20 minutes walk in Mountshannon Village, lovely food and atmosphere. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrisHolidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Ok so this review will be somewhat mixed... We had a lovely time here, camping beside the lake. With only three family tents alongside us, it was quiet by the lakeshore and our children made plenty of friends and had great fun in the shallow inlets at the waters edge. However can't score the holiday park any more than three stars due to the facilities of the site. It looked like a much loved place back in the 70s /80s with now overgrown garden features, bathroom facilities with tiles reminding me of the 70s, old cisterns etc etc really in need of modernisation. Lots of old decrepid caravans on site which add to that unkempt feel, small one bed huts that hopefully are not let to tourists as they had awful looking mattresses, old old furniture and looked as though they had been stuck in a time warp. Overall we had a good time but it was what we made of it ourselves, the great weather plus the complementary views as opposed to what the campsite offered...would be a fabulous site with some more investment.

Room Tip: Campsite away from the lake got very busy over the weekend, big groups of people. Lakeside was coole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiingTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin , Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Lovely little spot hidden away from it all. We stayed in our caravan right at the shoreline, fantastic location with 180 degree views of Lough Derg and , most interestingly, Bushy Island which now accomodates Irelands new white tailed sea eagles and their little babies ! Unbelievable. We rented a boat and headed out to take a closer look with our binoculars and brought a picnic to have on Holy island( not allowed within 50 metres of Eagle's island). Wonderful.
Only negatives were poor play facilities for kids ( no playground) but they figure it out like all kids do. No shop or food . Showers nice and hot, toilets clean if a little old looking by modern standards. by 11pm MOST people had gone indoors and had respect for other fellow campers but there is always one group who decide that their humour at 1 am is so funny that everyone should hear it ! ! the Warden soon put an end to that . Highly recommend it for families and couples ,especially on quieter weekends where you can enjoy the tranquility . A hidden gem.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GP1Dublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muffinman11
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed at this place for only one night but wish we'd stayed longer. We parked our own campervan on one of the pitches. The staff were so nice and told us we could park anywhere so we got to park really close to the lake. The pitch was very big and was stone floor so in bad weather wouldnt be muddy. There is a big soccer area with goals, a table tennis table, a tennis court & swings. At the lake you can hire out row boats or motor boats or kayaks which was great fun. The park feels like being in the forest as there are so many trees around and lots nice places to sit at the lake. The facilities included toilets, showers, laundry room, refuse area, wash up area and they were all well kept and spotless. Cost was very good at €26 a night. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muffinman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughrea, Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I just spent 3 days/nights at lakeside with my two sons and was compelled to tell you about it. The facilities were great, access and to the beautiful lake perfect, with boats for fishing,kayaks available, swimming is fine for young swimmers. The staff were very helpful and friendly. All this and much more added up to a lovely stay. we will return and recommend this place to all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountshannon
8.4 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
8.4 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
East Clare Golf Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Bed and Breakfast
Sunrise Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Mountshannon
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hawthorn Lodge B & B
Hawthorn Lodge B & B
#2 of 3 in Mountshannon
113 reviews
14.1 mi away
Pod Umna Village
Pod Umna Village
#1 of 3 in Portumna
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Holiday Park

Property: Lakeside Holiday Park
Address: Lakeside Park, Mountshannon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Mountshannon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mountshannon
Number of rooms: 45

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing