We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit!”
Review of Mountshannon Hotel

Mountshannon Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountshannon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountshannon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Mountshannon B&B and Inns
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

What I like about this hotel is that it doesn’t claim to be something it’s not. This is a good, clean, honest, down-to-earth family-run establishment which I hope to return to again. In addition to having very friendly/helpful staff, it also offers very good value for money.

The rooms (like the rest of the hotel) are a little old-fashioned, but are well equipped, very clean and have comfortable beds.

Full Irish breakfast was substantial and dinner was quite good. All round the food was good-quality basic fare. However you are looking for a up-market meal, then you may wish to seek out a nearby restaurant.

The hotel has a lively bar area and had music or sing-song on both nights of my stay. A note of caution, the rooms over the bar area can suffer from noise from the bar and roof-fans. So ask for a 1st floor room away from that side of the building.

This is welcoming hotel either to use; a base for exploring the area or just to spend a couple of nights. While this is by no means a 4* establishment, what it offers in terms of value, comfort, cleanliness and a genuinely warm Irish welcome - it’s well worth a visit.

Room Tip: 1st floor away from bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PanEuro_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
kildare
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed here for a weekend with our 3 children. We had a family room which was a bit small but it was ok . It's a very old fashioned hotel but the food is lovely & the staff are great.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Have stayed at this hotel each year since 2004 some times on my own and other times with
company this year I will be eighty two and return because of the superb treatment I
recieve nothing seems to be to much trouble they set up a fridge for our bait fill flasks
bring my evening meal into the lounge make sure that all my needs are attended to
made the mistake of staying else were one year never again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekfmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daraw004, Owner at Mountshannon Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you Derek, looking forward to seeing you again this year. Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed here in July, 2011.
First off, the accomodation is rustic at best but very clean & just what we were looking for.
We were made to feel right at home, from the moment we walked in the door & that was just the locals. It had beenour intention to stay just the night, but ended up staying three.
Through the information pried out of the locals, at the bar (we did use beer as a bribe) we used the hotel as a base to vist the Cliffs of Mohr & other very interesting sites.
Couldn't recommend this place highly enough if you are after basic yet honest hospitality.
The Staff & food were better than expected
Thank you

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m_m2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountshannon
8.4 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
8.4 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hawthorn Lodge B & B
Hawthorn Lodge B & B
#2 of 3 in Mountshannon
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Bed and Breakfast
Sunrise Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Mountshannon
137 reviews
3.8 mi away
Glocca Morra B&B
Glocca Morra B&B
#1 of 1 in Ogonnelloe
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountshannon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountshannon Hotel

Property: Mountshannon Hotel
Address: Mountshannon Hill Mountshannon Hill Mountshannon Hill Main Street, Mountshannon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Mountshannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mountshannon
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountshannon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque and charming village of Mountshannon, the hotel is only 3 minutes walk from the village harbour on Lough Derg, the largest fishing lake on the river Shannon. The hotel comprises of 16 en-suite bedrooms, all with multi-channel TV, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryer. A comfortable lounge and residents bar, both with open fire, provide a relaxing atmosphere. The restaurant offers the best in quality food, always freshly prepared from local produce. We can cater for up to 200 patrons in our elegant function room, ideal for weddings or functions. WIFI is available FREE in all public areas and we have a wonderful decking area to have drinks or food outdoors. During the summer months we have traditional music every Friday night in the main bar, while we have old time dancing every Thursday night in the function room. The Mountshannon Hotel, where you are always welcome.. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing