We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birdwatching at Lough Derg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunrise Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Mountshannon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Coleraine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Birdwatching at Lough Derg”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Ken P

Birding near Mountshannon.

Returning home from a long weekend birding along the western shore of Lough Derg my group of eight from Northern Ireland have great memories of looking at White-tailed Eagles in flight and sitting on a favourite perch out on a small wooded island in the lake. Apart from the birds the highlight of our stay must be the warm welcome we received at Sunrise B & B and the extent that Vera O'Rourke went to in making our visit and stay there so very special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrisebnb, Owner at Sunrise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hello Ken P. Thanks a million for your glowing review. It's great to read such positive feedback from you and your Bird Watching Group. I'm glad that you got to spot the WTSE and many other birds that this area has to offer. I look forward to seeing you again with your next group in the future. All the best, Vera :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
47
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Four of is recently stayed at this delightful B&B on a bird watching trip to Lough Derg . Vera our hostess was welcoming, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. I would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B to anyone who wants to visit this part of co. Clare... Richard B

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrisebnb, Owner at Sunrise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi Richard B, Thank you for your nice review of our B&B. Reviews from guests are very helpful both to us, and to future tourists looking for information on where to stay. The White Tailed Sea Eagles that are nesting close to Mountshannon Harbour are becoming a very popular tourist attraction. Hope you will come stay with us next time you are in Co. Clare. Best regards, Vera & family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My friends and I had a wonderful stay in the Mountshannon area. We had come to see the white tailed sea eagles and we were not disappointed. At Sunrise B&B Vera was most helpful in suggesting places to visit one being Portumna Forest Park which was delightful. She was also very helpful in suggesting places to eat, we decided on Mountshannon Hotel in the village where we had two excellent evening meals. The rooms at Sunrise were spacious, the bed very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day. Vera could not have done any more for us and had a great warmth and friendly nature. I would definitely recommend a visit.
James McDowell. Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 687James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrisebnb, Owner at Sunrise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi James, It was really great meeting you and your friends and I'm glad that you got to view the White Tailed Sea Eagles. They were the first pair to successfully breed and hatch 2 chicks in the wild in over 110 years in Ireland, in April, 2013. We feel very privileged that they chose to breed on a small Island very close to Mountshannon Harbour. Fingers crossed that very soon they will have more chicks as they are sitting on the eggs. After the hatch there will be lots of activity while the parents fish to feed the chicks. This can be seen from Mountshannon Harbour. Thank you and I hope that you and your friends will revisit again soon. Vera :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast is amazing (particularly the french toast!), and Vera is really nice and attentive.
Very beautiful views and landscapes.
It's also a good place for hiring a boat and fishing, or for walks in forest.
I totally recommend Sunrise Bed & Breakfast!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivier d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrisebnb, Owner at Sunrise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi Olivier, Thank you for your review. It's always great to get feedback from our guests. I'm glad you really enjoyed fishing on Lough Derg and you ever got to catch a few fish! I'm very impressed that you and Clara liked the French Toast. I guess it must be good when French guests such as yourselves give it the thumbs up!! Best wishes to you both and hopefully you will revisit us next time you are in Ireland. Vera :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverdam, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My daughter stayed at this B&B with a friend last summer while on a dance trip to Ireland. She could not say enough great things about the trip and her experiences while staying at the B&B. She felt very safe and comfortable and woke up every morning to a breakfast she enjoyed. If she goes back to Ireland we definitely come back to Sunrise B&B because they took such great care of her while she was there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrisebnb, Owner at Sunrise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hi Jennifer S. Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B. I hope your daughter is doing well. It's so good to get your feed back and I really appreciate your review. I look forward to all the family visiting next time. All the best, Vera :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I recently stayed at the Sunrise Bed and Breakfast in Mount Shannon - the accommodations we most welcoming, always a warm fire lit in the lounge and comfortable beds, with a great shower.
The breakfast is one of the best I have had. A great, welcoming and hospitable welcome from Vera, who was prepared to go out her way to accommodate any requests. A great Stay

Room Tip: All of the room were outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrisebnb, Owner at Sunrise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you Bernie for your great review. We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Co. Clare. Best wishes, Vera, Joe & family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Thank you Vera to put us up! The B&B is in a beautiful area, nearby a lake. It is very clean and we felt comfortable. Perfect view from our window and the breakfast room. Vera was helpful, she organised that we could go on a horse ride through the Mountshannon area. I can warmly recommend this place!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett_on_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrisebnb, Owner at Sunrise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your time in Mountshannon and especially your stay here at Sunrise B&B. Horse riding is just one of the many outdoor activities that we are lucky to have in the area, and it's nice to hear how you enjoyed riding in the hills with very friendly and experienced guides. All the best, Vera :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountshannon
8.5 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
8.5 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
7.4 mi away
East Clare Golf Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hawthorn Lodge B & B
Hawthorn Lodge B & B
#2 of 3 in Mountshannon
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clareville House B&B
Clareville House B&B
#1 of 1 in Tuamgraney
131 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glocca Morra B&B
Glocca Morra B&B
#1 of 1 in Ogonnelloe
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sunrise Bed and Breakfast
Address: Mountshannon | Co. Clare, Mountshannon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Mountshannon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mountshannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning 4 star Bed & Breakfast.Ideally situated a stones throw away from the beautiful lakeside village of Mountshannon, renowned for it's natural beauty and a winner of the National Tidy Town award. Enjoy panoramic views from our family run B&B overlooking Lough Derg and the Arra Mountains.Lough Derg is now the home of White Tailed Sea Eagles who made history in 2013 when their 2 eaglets successfully fledged the nest in the wild for the first time in over 110 years in Ireland. These magnificent birds can be viewed from Mountshannon Harbour/Marina which is a five minute walk from our B&B. Sunrise B&B is located in a peaceful rural setting. Good choice of Restaurants and pubs with traditional music and dancing on chosen nights. Generously sized en-suite bedrooms ensuring a comfortable and relaxing stay. Ground floor bedroom available. A varied choice of breakfast available served in an air conditioned conservatory with unrivaled panoramic views over Lough Derg,the Arra Mountains and the rural Countryside. Coeliac diets catered to along with most dietary needs given prior notice. Located locally is Holy Island one of Irelands most famous monastic sites which has a well preserved round tower.Sunrise B&B is located on-route to the East Clare Way. Base yourself at Sunrise and Vera and her family will help you to plan your day trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunrise Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing