We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mothers Day Lunch”
Review of The Blue Haven

The Blue Haven
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilcar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blue Haven
Ranked #5 of 6 Kilcar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We went to the Blue Haven on Mothers Day 30th March, 2014.
This hotel is in an excellent location with exceptional sea views.
We had a fantastic day out, delicious food, very helpful staff and well priced for a family.
We will definitely be back here, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We can not comment on the rooms as we did not stay but cleanliness in the restaurant was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

We visited the Blue Haven on St. Patrick's Day 2014. We had been to the parade in Killybegs, and the town was still very busy with the celebrations. We drove out of town to Kilcar as it would be less busy and (theoretically) be easier to have a meal for a party of four.
As we entered the restaurant there was no-one to greet us; eventually we went and spoke to a member of staff who told to sit at any of the empty tables, which we did. We waited for a menu for twenty minutes before one of our went and got one for us. Then no-one appeared to take our order; again we had to leave our table to have a member of staff come to us to take details of our food choices. By this time three quarters of an hour had passed. We also noticed that a customer at the neighbouring table had almost finished her meal before her chips arrived; these were slammed onto the table unceremoniously by a staff member who was not in a good mood.
We then asked for a wine menu which did not arrive; we had to go and get it for ourselves. It was an unusual list in that it had no prices. We ordered a bottle of wine, which arrived, when we had to ask for glasses. As for cutlery, three of the party were given two sets of knives and forks, while the fourth member (me) was given only one set although we had ordered two courses each.
In relation to the food it was hot and tasty, with the only problem being the onions missing from the eggs mayonnaise, which had been specifically requested at the time of ordering.

My general comments are that the service was probably the worst I have come across in recent years, but the food was fine.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank sheughtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

stayed here to attend my friends wedding, have been to weddings here before but never stayed the night and never will again.... eighty euro b&b

the service for weddings it self is good and food i couldn't complain but the room was just a disaster there was fag ash on the carpet (we dont smoke) an empty bottle of lucozade in the bed side locker the curtains were hanging from the rails, there was no info as to what time breakfast was so we tried to ring reception which is eh non existent just got fed up and went down breakfast is tiny and the "hotel" was manned by two young girls and a chef, if there was a proper manager i would have actually refused to pay for it but felt it wasnt the young girls fault that its accommodation is a disaster. just learnt my lesson and wont be wasting my money there again

Room Tip: my advice would be look into killybegs for a proper hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scunnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed overnight here while attending a family wedding. It was first class as a wedding venue but it is a strange hotel. We tried to book in before the wedding which was in early afternoon but no one was there!!! It doesn't seem to open if there is not wedding. The hotel was cold when we booked in but our room soon heated up.
The wedding reception was first class, the food lovely, service super.
However the breakfast was basic, considering we were in Ireland, we expected home made bread. A bit disappointing!.
Cannot really fault the hotel, it is very clean and basic. Only stay here if you are attending a wedding. The B & B next door if FAR superior. Stay there instead.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We planned our wedding from abroad so we could only meet with Terence the owner, and his staff just three weeks before our wedding. It couldn't have gone smoother. From the moment we met him, he made us feel at ease, and nothing was too much trouble. Terence and his team are very accommodating, and were extremely willing to go the extra mile to give us what we wanted. Everything went so easy, exactly what we wanted after travelling thousands of miles to have our wedding. The day itself was perfect. We had both our Civil Ceremony there and the reception afterwards. The ceremony was beautiful, the smaller ballroom ideal for the occasion, and the wedding reception was nice and intimate in the dome. The food was delicious and very plentiful. Some of our guests were from the Netherlands and were very impressed with the quality and quantity, as well as the irish hospitality. We stayed in the brand new bridal suite which was amazing, and the bar staff were nice and easy going as we partied into the small hours of the morning. We felt everyone was very attentive to us and our guests. Terence's calm nature together with his hard working staff made our day perfect, and the best thing of all about it is its very reasonable value, the price is a fraction of what you get elsewhere in the country. Highly recommended for a relaxed and stress-free wedding day!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed here for a wedding. Not all bad. The food was excellent and the staff were helpful when you could find them. No hot water and cold water tap didn't work. Hook in closet for hangers but no hangers. No TV and you could not turn on or off the heating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarletbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location with exceptional views. The food was very good and reasonably priced. The menu offered a good selection. I cannot comment on the accommodation here but if the food is anything to go by, I would not hesitate to stay here.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank aggiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilcar
3.5 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 2 in Killybegs
655 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kilcar Lodge
Kilcar Lodge
#4 of 6 in Kilcar
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilard Farmhouse B&B
Kilard Farmhouse B&B
#3 of 6 in Kilcar
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Haven

Address: Kilcar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Kilcar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kilcar
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Blue Haven Kilcar, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing