We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice port in the storm.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Ft. Payne
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Fort Payne
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The title of my review may be misleading a bit because there was no storm but it was a nice find nonetheless. I happened to have stopped in this town on the eve of probably their biggest weekend; the longest garage sale in history or some none sense like that so I was lucky to have even gotten a room anywhere in town.

The front desk person was nice and trying to be helpful but he needs a lot more training in how to negotiate the hotel's booking software. It took him twenty minutes to check me in for a simple stay of one night, one person.

The room was clean and stocked with all that's necessary except for a coffee maker. Refrigerator and microwave but no coffee maker? C'mon guys use your head. How much does a coffee maker cost? The television was an old tube type but with plenty of channels that is except up to midnight on the particular night that I stayed. The local cable provider was updating their service to 100% digital so I had no television after that time but that's not the fault of the hotel. Maybe they'll upgrade their televisions along with it but I doubt it.

I'm writing this prior to check out so I can't yet comment on their continental breakfast but I'm sure it'll be fine. An added convenience is that there a Waffle House next door within walking distance. There's a kiddie and adult pool that I will not take advantage of but some of you might.

All in all I give this place a thumbs up.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bthor76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I are starting early on the Worlds Longest Yard Sale and decided to investigate Ft Payne which is close to the route laid out for the yard sales. We were able to check in early which counts a lot for us. Our room 101 is between breakfast room and breakfast room set up and closest to the desk. Not for everyone since all guest walk by our room. But we had no real issues with the room. Everything was clean and new looking. Building exterior was just as nice and pool was outside and also clean. We did hear someone's TV coming thru the walls, not sure where that was coming from...maybe upstairs unit...but it was not too bad.

Room Tip: Room 101 is not for you if you are sensitive to small noises like bumps against the walls. But Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MadBeachMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhal D, General Manager at Econo Lodge Ft. Payne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We are glad you enjoyed staying at our motel and you had few good words say about it.

We thank you for your comments.

B. Dave
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

While traveling from Bon Aqua, TN to MS we traveled through Fort Payne, Alabama. We stopped at 2:30 a.m. To check availability at Econo Lodge. The lady at the counter, Melanie, was very friendly. She helped us get a room at a reasonable price very quickly. Our room was nice and clean and we slept very well with no disturbances. Barbara help us checkout and she was also very friendly. We will definitely stay here if we stop in this area again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Tnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhal D, General Manager at Econo Lodge Ft. Payne, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We thank you for staying with us and kind comments about our staff. We are proud of all our staff, without them we cannot operate our business and satisfy our customers like you.

B. Dave
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Love it!!!!! When we first pulled up, I told my sister in law, "I don't know about this," went in and fell in love immediately. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was upbeat and positive. Our rooms were wonderful. No complaints. Best pool we have every encoutered in a hotel. We stay there all the time now. It is only a couple of hours from home and is a great get away.

Room Tip: Rooms 108, 110, and 120 are our favorites, they are by the pool and away from noise of traffice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhal D, General Manager at Econo Lodge Ft. Payne, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We are just speechless. We, sincerely, appreciate your kind comments about our motel and our staff.

B. Dave
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

If you don't have a credit card, you can't stay here.
Grounds are in disrepair and stairs are in bad shape. I suggest going elsewhere anyway as their pool is empty anyway.Poor poor poor............. poor

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhal D, General Manager at Econo Lodge Ft. Payne, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

(1) If the guest had noticed, he would have noticed that there was all kind of repair work going on, therefore, things were not as clean as it should be.

(2) We accept cash, however, for back up we require credit card. There are some guests, who simply cause damage to the room. (smoke in non smoking room, sneak in pets, steal from the room and damage furnishings) If you do not cause the damage to the room you do not have to worry about.

(3) In a small town, it is very difficult to find pool repair person. Due to the exceptionally cold winter, the pool concrete was damaged very badly and it took longer than we anticipated to repair the pool.

B. Dave
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel was ok.. we normally stay at HIE, Comfort Suites or Holiday Inn Express, but they were all booked up for the weekend.. Was hesitant because of some of the reviews.. We found the room to be clean - but did need updating.. especially the bedding.. had the old style bedspread that just isn't very appealing or comfortable.. TV was OK, but some of the channels didn't come in very clear - not that big a deal because we weren't in the room that much - but may be important to some..A/C unit old style as well and VERY loud, kept the room damp feeling.. The breakfast was very meager.. nothing hot - just two kinds of bland cereals, a few pastries, not much else that I can remember.. Coffee not strong enough.. I would consider staying here again only if the other places listed above weren't available.. I think the price was $65.. which is kind of on the high side for what you get. We had friends staying in same hotel and their experience was not as good as ours..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TnFan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhal D, General Manager at Econo Lodge Ft. Payne, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

(1) Guest had decided to stay anonymous.
(2) We do not know what room guest stayed in ?
(3) During guest's stay, guest did not complaint once.
(4) During Teladega Nas Car races, all local motels had raised their rates by 25% to 50% except Econolodge, Fort Payne. We had kept our normal rates.
(5) As per guest, he/she likes to stay in high end motels. The high end motel's had rooms available, however, their rates were $ 150.00 per night. Therefore, May be guest decided to stay with us for $ 69.95.
(6) we provided better value. We ran a full house that day, we had received this only complaint and most our guests were satisfied for the value they received.

B. Dave
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Comfortable night sleep. Clean, comfortable, staff friendly. Suggested they get a new toaster for the breakfast room. This was the only problem. Insignificant problem. Will stay again when passing through or visiting family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammie J, General Manager at Econo Lodge Ft. Payne, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

We at Econolodge, Fort Payne, Alabama, sincerely, thank you for your kind words. It helps to continue doing good job.

B. Dave,
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Payne
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Fort Payne
Days Inn Fort Payne
#3 of 7 in Fort Payne
231 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 7 in Fort Payne
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
#2 of 7 in Fort Payne
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Rainsville
Super 8 Rainsville
#1 of 1 in Rainsville
268 reviews
19.5 mi away
Days Inn Of Centre
Days Inn Of Centre
#1 of 2 in Centre
139 reviews
21.6 mi away
Quality Inn Scottsboro
Quality Inn Scottsboro
#4 of 10 in Scottsboro
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Ft. Payne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Ft. Payne

Address: 1412 Glenn Blvd SW, Fort Payne, AL 35968-3520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Fort Payne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Fort Payne
Price Range: £44 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Ft. Payne 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge Ft. Payne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Payne Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Fort Payne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing