We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fort Payne
Certificate of Excellence
Portageville, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good place to stay!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Had to travel to Fort Payne for a funeral & chose to stay at the Holiday Inn Express. It was in a good location with plenty of restaurants & fast food chains nearby. Our room was spacious, but it did have a little dust (as if it had not been occupied in a couple of days). The beds were comfortable & my husband and I both commented on how great the pillows were for hotel pillows!The bathroom was VERY clean (YAY)!!! Breakfast was ready on time with a variety of choices; the cinnamon rolls were fresh from the oven! Of the other hotels available, I'm confident we made the best choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jule83, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Fort Payne. We are sorry for your loss, but we are glad we were able to provide you with a comfortable place to stay during your time in Fort Payne.

We recently upgraded from standard pillows to Queen and King size pillows and I think it was a great improvement too. You can't beat those Holiday Inn Expess Cinnamon Rolls!

Sincerely,
Julie Mewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    48
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
53
38
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

For starters,Fort Payne is a charming little town.very cute & reminded me of the Smokies. This holiday inn express was conveniently located right near several restaurants & just up the road from the Alabama museum.our front desk person,the night audit,was very nice. We got a 1 bdrm suite,& it was HUGE. It could easily pass as a 1 bdrm apartment. It had a jacuzzi tub,& kitchenette as well. It was a really fun place to stay.my only complaints were that the bed was too hard(like,hard as bricks),& the hotel did need some upgrading. The shower knob had some trouble turning on,some shelves in the closet were off the hinges,& the interior in general was outdated as opposed to other holiday inn expresses. But if, like us,minor upgrades & maintenance repairs are something to suggest to be taken care of, but not a huge issue ,then this is the place for you. We will definitely stay here again

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PermaVacationer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jule83, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for your review; we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate all feedback from your stay. Having maintenance feedback is very important and quite helpful.

I am glad you enjoyed our town. When you return please ask front desk for maps of our area, Fort Payne and Dekalb County. There is a Lookout Mtn. Parkway map that is super and has attractions highlighted. We have unique shops, dining and exciting outdoor adventures very close.

Happy New Year!
Julie Mewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I have been coming to this HI Express since inaugurated in 1998. The staff and service is efficient and polite as always. Good internet connection. The only point is that Hotel needs renovations as it has seen better days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdienemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jule83, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for your loyalty and for being an IHG Rewards Club member! The staff loves to hear they are doing a great job; thank you for the compliments, I will be sure to share your review with all of them. Next time you are hear I would love to hear any suggestions you may have regarding the hotel. Since your last visit we have put new pillows throughout the hotel and they are fabulous.

Sincerely,
Julie Mewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have never been disappointed by staying at a Holday Inn Express. This hotel was a good value and very comfortable. We stayed here for two nights while on business and we were very pleased. The bed was comfortable and the room was nice and spacious. The breakfast offered a very nice variety of items. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EjayMobile_Alabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jule83, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We love to hear that you rested well and enjoyed your room. Thank you for staying with us and we hope we can look forward to seeing you again in the future.

When you visit this area I hope you are able to enjoy our scenic area and some of our unique attractions and dining establishments in and around Fort Payne, Alabama.

Sincerely,
Julie Mewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here for wedding and rooms were clean, staff very friendly and good rate. Would definitely stay here again! Convenient to everything and staff was always helpful. Carts were available and it was a great weekend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jule83, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We love having wedding groups in house. It always makes for fun and exciting times. We always hope to give a comfortable, worry free stay. I will pass your gracious comments on to the staff. Hearing from satisfied guests is always a bonus for all of us.

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Julie Mewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel last minute after a horrible experience at a nearby B&B forced us to vacate at 10:30. Keith at the front desk was great, as was the room. We are rarely disappointed in HIE, and this property was no exception. If we ever return to the area, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kern C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jule83, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Keith has been a valuable employee with the hotel for over 10 years. We are so glad he was able to assist you in your time of need. I see you are a seasoned traveler and your compliments mean a lot and will be shared with the entire staff.

There are so many attractions and such beautiful scenery in our area. I hope you were able enjoy a few of those things. We look forward to your next visit to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne.

Sincerely,
Julie Mewes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

After leaving our previous vacation spot, traveling 9.5 hours, stopping at Talladega Speedway and then traveling north to our next stop, we found ourselves exhausted and stopped here. The staff was friendly and very inviting. The rooms were quiet from each other and outside noise. They had a nice free hot breakfast in a large seating area for families. Would definitely recommend and come back. Only bad thing was when we first entered the room the smell of chlorine or cleaner was powerful. It diminished and at least I knew the room was clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jule83, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us back in August. We have a great staff and I am glad they were made you surroundings clean and your stay comfortable. I love to hear when people have a great stay.

I hope next time you are in the area you can enjoy attractions around Fort Payne and Dekalb County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Payne
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
#2 of 7 in Fort Payne
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Fort Payne
Days Inn Fort Payne
#3 of 7 in Fort Payne
222 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 7 in Fort Payne
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsboro
5.1 mi away
Super 8 Rainsville
Super 8 Rainsville
#1 of 1 in Rainsville
256 reviews
21.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Scottsboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne
Address: 112 Airport Rd W, Fort Payne, AL 35968-3334
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Fort Payne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fort Payne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated in 2016. Come Stay at the Best of DeKalb, AL Hotels. Situated against the backdrop of Lookout Mountain at exit 218 off I-59, this quintessential small town provides the kind of serene surroundings necessary to relax. Whether you're an outdoor enthusiast or an avid antique shopper, we have everything you need at our Fort Payne, Alabama hotel near the DeKalb area. Corporate guests looking for a facility with superior meeting rooms need look no further than the Holiday Inn Express & Suites(R) Fort Payne, AL hotel. Our 24-hour business center allows guests to complete their work without ever leaving the property. We are also conveniently located near many companies, including Dekalb Regional Hospital, Ferguson, Siemens, Heil, Gametime, R.T.I., Children's Place and Plasman Corporation.Leisure travelers love that our hotel is near DeKalb and Fort Payne area attractions, as well as exciting outdoor adventures like rock climbing at Little River Canyon. We're also close to array of specialty shops and unique restaurants in the downtown Fort Payne, AL area. After a day of touring Fort Payne, AL, hotel guests can take a dip in the seasonally-heated outdoor pool or work out in the state-of-the-art fitness center. Complimentary Wi-Fi is included in all rooms, as well, and guests enjoy free breakfast each morning. Book your room today to experience great amenities, outstanding service and the best of DeKalb area hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ft. Payne
Holiday Inn Fort Payne
Fort Payne Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ft Payne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing