We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding Hotel”
Review of Castel Vecchio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castel Vecchio
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel Gandolfo
cheshire uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Wedding Hotel”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The hotel was the setting for our daughters wedding reception and the service received for the whole weekend was excellent, the food was first class and they did everything they could to assist us from getting rooms ready early to making the evening a night to remember. We had over 20 rooms booked and yes they do vary in size and outlook, but all were clean and air conditioned, if your booking a room ask for a view of the lake as it's spectacular and if you really need a huge room 218 is the one to book. Castel Gandolfo is a pretty like village with plenty of places to eat, the station and the lake are a long way down the hillside but a number of our guests managed the walk both ways, a car would be useful if you plan to visit other villages in the Castelli such as Frascati.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samCheshireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    123
    49
    34
    19
See reviews for
69
158
6
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

The view is spectacular. However the rest... The room I had on the -1 Floor was rather small and crowded with a tiny table AND a tiny desk with two chairs. The shower cramped and awkward. No airconditioning and a hot floor (presumably hot pipes underneath?), the room was stuffy and unbearably hot. I would have left the window open, but you can easily break in from the parking lot outside.The breakfast is funcional. Internet only available in the lobby. I have been to other places in the area and will continue my search for a perfect place somewhere else.

Room Tip: if you have to stay here insist on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nododamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We had high expectations for this visit. We were there to find a hotel for our wedding reception. But upon arrival, we were immediately let down. The entrance is unkept and quite inaccessible. Inside is no different. Outdated and distastefully decorated with Roman trinkets. Reception staff were slow and disinterested. Bedrooms were unappealing and uncomfortable Ensuite shower incredibly awkward. Swimming pool room and dining hall suffered from air and noice pollution: chlorine and water tank.
The icing on the cake was the incredible low quality food and service in the restaurant. With only 6 guests to be served, orders were taken incorrectly and primi and secondi were served on cold plates. The pistacchio ice-cream was laced with green colouring and amaretti flavouring.
Such a spectacular failing on every count.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livvissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

This town is widely known for being the residence of the Pope in the summertime. The town itself is small and does not have a large amount of tourist activities but it is another one of those beautiful old European towns that are worth the visit. The Hotel Castel Vecchio was also excellent and much easier to access/find than Hotel Castel Gandolfo where we had stayed the previous night. There is also adequate off street carparking available on hotel property and if you dine in their restaurant they will take your car out the back for you where it is even more secure.

The hotel itself is run by very helpful people, who speak good english also. We had a room overlooking the fabulous Lake Albana. The room had a balcony that comfortably sat the two of us. We paid 119 euros which also included a wonderful breakfast. Standard European fare - coffee (freshly made by request), fruits, bread, hard boiled eggs, cold cuts, yoghurt, juice, cereal and plentiful cakes and slices. The breakfast room is located on the top level of the hotel in a form of sun room which was lovely.

Wireless internet is not free but 4 euros gets you 5 hours.

There is an elevator up to the higher floors so anyone with disabilities should have limited issues.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was one of the better meals we had on our holiday. For 25 euros each you get an aperitif, glass of prosecco, bread, water, primi, secondi and dolce and there is a great variety to choose from. The waiter was also terrific.

Overall the hotel stay was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KerriMc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Castel Gandolfo is a great place to get away from the excruciating heat and noise of Rome. Hotel Castelvecchio is an place that takes you back in time: old palacelike building with marble floors, chandeliers, heavy velvet curtains and such. A lot of character, huge rooms and the most incredible view. From our room (218) we had a beautiful lake view, from the top floor (with swimming pool, simple but effective enough for us) you have almost 360' view on lake, Castel Gandolfo with the papal summer palace, Rome and the countryside all the way to the seashore.
It's really good value for money. We paid a 150$ (about 110 €) for a double room including breakfast. There's a fine restaurant that serves an excellent 4 course dinner including wine and prosecco for just 25 €.
To get there take a train from Rome, it takes 40 minutes and costs 1,90 one way. The hotel staff will tell you it's too far to walk to/from the station or the lake so you have to take a taxi which is a total ripoff. (The guy started at 20 but went down to 15 euro, but it should be 5, as it's a 5 minutes drive.)
If you don't have a lot of luggage, you can walk easily. From the hotel to the lakeshore it should be no more than half an hour, to the train station about 15-20 minutes, no more. From the station to the hotel is a little more strenuous, because it's uphill. But still not difficult if you don't carry heavy luggage.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aichadeviAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2010

If you have a chance, just pass it and don't srop there. The view is beautiful but doesn't worth the hustle and the bad experiance of the place.

Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler34530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We stayed here for four nights and highly recommend it for any travelers who want to enjoy Rome in spurts but retire to a lovely, cool village with amazing views of the Lazio region. The hotel is only 30 minutes from Rome by train, overlooks beautiful Lake Albano, boasts a lovely pool with views of the village and the Papal Palace and provides wonderful food. English travelers should seek out the front desk gentlemen who spent many years in London who is very helpful and understands service expectations. The water pressure in many places in Italy is not good so do not blame them for the pressure issues in the room. No bathtubs. Breakfast is lovely and the dinner at the solarium room at the top of the hotel fantastic. Recommend the suite number 218.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmh2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel Gandolfo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
#1 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
322 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel la Culla del Lago
Hotel la Culla del Lago
#4 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
78 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa degli Angeli
Hotel Villa degli Angeli
#3 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Tenuta Cusmano
Tenuta Cusmano
#1 of 4 in Grottaferrata
262 reviews
4.7 mi away
Villa Tuscolana Park Hotel
1.7 mi away
La Locanda del Pontefice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Vecchio

Property: Castel Vecchio
Address: Viale Pio XI 23, 00073 Castel Gandolfo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Castel Gandolfo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel Gandolfo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castel Vecchio 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel, situated in the Roman Castles, near Rome, is refined Liberty–style building with two restaurants, meeting rooms, a splendid Roof Garden with outdoor swimming-pool, private car park and 50 rooms. The Historic centre of Castel Gandolfo is only 500 metres from the hotel, where on the main Piazza You can find the impressing Palazzo Pontificio, the summer residence in Italy of the Pope and a visiting place for thousands of tourists every year. The Hotel is only 30km from the ¨Leonardo da Vinci¨ Fiumicino airport and 6km from Ciampino airport of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castel Vecchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelvecchio Castel Gandolfo
Castelvecchio Hotel Castel Gandolfo
Castel Vecchio Castel Gandolfo, Italy - Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing