We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Castel Vecchio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castel Vecchio
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel Gandolfo
Ceron, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We had a wonderful 4 day stay here. The food and service was excellent, the views magnificent and the staff amazing. It is ideally situated for catching the very economical train into Rome.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    121
    48
    34
    19
See reviews for
64
158
6
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Casorate Primo, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I have really enjoyed my stay at Castel Vecchio. Nice hotel, very kind service and fantastic location at the Albano Lake. Castel Vecchio is an excellent hotel at a very affordable price, just few minutes drive from Rome.
I will for sure return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stay only one night in this hotel, was impossible to stay more.
The bathroom possessed a horrible sewage smell. I had headache because this.
The room is old and not in a good condition.
The restaurant is a trash. I paid 40 euros for the fish menu and was totally disgusting. I got sick because the food was spoiled.
The internet access is a joke. Works just on the entrance hall.
The young staff is nice, but the old staff is rude.
There is no noise police, was 11:30 pm and there were a religious group, singing and playing guitar in the restaurant that is very close to the rooms.
There are some rooms that are located underground and these are the worst. The restaurant is located just above the bedrooms, than you can listen every noise from the tables and chairs.
The only thing that is good is the lake view and the location.
I did a complaint to the staff about the food and I told them that I got sick. In this moment they started to say that the italian food is very heavy and the problem was my stomach. Unbelievable.
This hotel was one of the worst that I have stayed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montai_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
230 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The hotel is situated with a breathtaking view over the lake and the Popes summer residence. Unfortunately we got a very small two bed room (no 201) not much space for suitcases. The larger rooms facing the lake are better, but the ones staying there had no heating that worked (March can be cold!) The restaurant at the hotel is great and offered menus for 25 EUR and the food is delicious. The breakfast buffet offered a good selection of bread, cold cuts etc. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andernos-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
153 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This hotel was a great find. It is a grand old place, it might not live up to current four star expectations but it is quite magical, in a perfect setting. At 120 euros including breakfast for a junior suite for our family of three (off season) it is also not the price of a four star hotel so take it as it comes. Our room was huge, with lovely epoque furniture and an absolutely stunning view over the lake. Diner was also very good, in an elegant dining room. Everything was really perfect, except, maybe, for the Christmas songs played over diner (in March).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

When we first walked into the room, it was such a disappointment to see the shabby furnishings and the spartan amenities. How can this be rated as a 4 star is beyond me. in terms of comfort, there is nowhere to relax outside with the exception of the rooftop patio which had horrible green indoor/outdoor carpeting that was ripped in places and overall very ugly. it was quite warm up there and we would have overlooked the state of the patio if the pool had been usable, but it was filthy. I know it was the beginning of the season, but really why bother having a pool if people can't use it!

In the room, the a/c didn't work and we needed to open the window to at least get some relief (not much). The bed was very uncomfortable to say the least. The bathroom is so cramped and my husband actually hit his nose on the vanity as he was getting up from the toilet!

Breakfast was served in the room at the top and was adequate, however, it was very warm up there and oppressive. We couldn't wait to get out of there.

This could be a nice hotel but it needs to have a major overhaul. Get rid of all the fussy mismatched furniture and weird colours in the public rooms for a start. How can the owners of this property not see that there is a great deal of potential here?

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

In September 2011 we had our wedding at Hotel Castel Vecchio, I am English and my husband is Italian so we had to please a mixed crowd. We had 27 rooms for the weekend with guests from both Italy and England. The place is lovely, the view of the lake is beautiful, the rooms (although traditional) are lovely and clean and in keeping with the place, the staff are really helpful (as you can imagine organising so many rooms and a wedding we asked for a lot of assistance) and the food is unbelievable. We could not have asked for a better place for our wedding, all of the guests were wowed by the place, food and service...it is hard to believe the bad reviews! We will be going back for anniversary!!

Room Tip: The area is pretty quiet at night but lake views are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smills9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel Gandolfo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
#1 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel la Culla del Lago
Hotel la Culla del Lago
#4 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa degli Angeli
Hotel Villa degli Angeli
#3 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Tuscolana
1.7 mi away
La Locanda del Pontefice
3.9 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Pietra di Ponente
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Vecchio

Property: Castel Vecchio
Address: Viale Pio XI 23, 00073 Castel Gandolfo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Castel Gandolfo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel Gandolfo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castel Vecchio 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel, situated in the Roman Castles, near Rome, is refined Liberty–style building with two restaurants, meeting rooms, a splendid Roof Garden with outdoor swimming-pool, private car park and 50 rooms. The Historic centre of Castel Gandolfo is only 500 metres from the hotel, where on the main Piazza You can find the impressing Palazzo Pontificio, the summer residence in Italy of the Pope and a visiting place for thousands of tourists every year. The Hotel is only 30km from the ¨Leonardo da Vinci¨ Fiumicino airport and 6km from Ciampino airport of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Castel Vecchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelvecchio Castel Gandolfo
Castelvecchio Hotel Castel Gandolfo
Castel Vecchio Castel Gandolfo, Italy - Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing