We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going to the castle and we're goin' to get married”

Castello Odescalchi di Bracciano
Book In Advance
More Info
US$116.45*
and up
Bracciano Castle Half-Day Tour from Rome with Lunch
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Bracciano
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Castello di Bracciano - a stone's throw from Rome - is one of the most impressive castles in Italy, Europe and the world. Completed in 1485 by the Orsini family, around an existing 12th century Vico fortress, it is one of the few renaissance castles in Italy that - thanks to the Odescalchi family - is open to the public. It also plays host to numerous weddings, galas and important cultural events throughout the year.
Santa Marinella, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Going to the castle and we're goin' to get married”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Historically rich and well guided with lots of nice surrounding shops and little restaurants and very helpful and sincerely nice people to help you.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rose Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    197
    44
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Castle”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I took my mother-in-law here today. 7.50€ per adult. We had a fabulous guided tour of the castle and grounds. The tour was in Italian and lasted about an hour. Tour guide didn't speak English but there are boards in each room detailing what you see in English, French and German. Castle is well maintained and the views over the lake are spectacular.

No access for wheel chairs or buggies. Glad I didn't take my children (ages 12 and 10 and 0) as they would have wanted to tear through the rooms. Entry to castle is by guide only.

I recommend this for adults and any one with an interest in history.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wedding fortress of the rich and famous.”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed in Bracciano and on our last day visited the Fortress. If you want a tour I advise you to check first and if you only understand English then book the English speaking tour guide, also check that there is no filming as the Fortress was closed for two days during the week when we first visited.
Our guide was very knowledgeable, informative and was able to answer any questions.
The Fortress was still being set up for another film and unfortunately this meant the electricity was off in some rooms but this added to the ambiance, the guide did apologise for this and offered a free tour the next day which was really appreciated.
You will be amazed at how many films have used this Fortress as a film set.
Great views from the top.
Well worth the visit as is Bracciano.
wgmac

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank wg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Intersting”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

The trip, is just a part of the castle, but intersting. The spaces are well manteined and the guide was intersting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Giulio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset england
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“odescalchi castle bracciano, great place, amazing history, and wonderful views”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We visited this castle whilst staying in Bracciano. They do hourly tours, which cost 7 euros 50, which we felt was great value. Our guide was funny, and entertained us with tales of the previous inhabitants, and what they got up to! We could visit a good deal of the castle, and go outside where there were amazing views down to the lake. Well worth a visit

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank storyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castello Odescalchi di Bracciano also viewed

Bracciano, Province of Rome
Bracciano, Province of Rome
 
Bracciano, Province of Rome
Cerveteri, Province of Rome
 

Been to Castello Odescalchi di Bracciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing