We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming”
Review of Villa San Pietro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montichiari
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa San Pietro
Ranked #3 of 11 Montichiari B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is not a standard b&b, it feels more like visiting family!
We stayed here for 6 nights joining friends who were staying longer. Villa San Pietro is old and querky so bedrooms are unique,each with their own style, antique furnishings and decorations; en-suites are basic but functional. The garden is shaded with ample seating for relaxing and from where the town's duomo dome can be seen. Anna And Jacques are wonderful hosts taking pride in ensuring you are comfortable in their historic home. They are full of life and sharing evening meals in the garden with them had a party atmosphere. Montichiari is a good base for visiting surrounding towns of interest and Lake Garda, though a car is useful as public transport limits your options a little.
Anyone wishing to get a sample of genuine Italian hospitality would not be disappointed by Villa San Pietro. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank cumbrians14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed at this wonderful B & B during December whilst on a Rugby Trip. The welcome from Anna and Jacques could not have been warmer. They came out in the snow to guide us to their historic home. During our two night stay nothing was too much trouble with helpful advice and a great meal cooked by Anna. They were perfect hosts. We would love to return if we are even in the area again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed for one night with Anna & Jacques, whilst driving back from Croatia. Our welcome was overwhelming, as we were welcomed into their house. Villa San Pietro is old and has nooks and crannies which is to be expected. It is not clinically clean, but has a lovely ambience about it. The room where breakfast is served is lovely- the old paintings on the ceiling have been recently revealed by taking back centuries of paint. An American couple were also staying there and we stayed up 'til nearly midnight talking round the dinner table with the family. The food was wholesome and tasty,but the wine was lambrusco which was not to our liking. There is a very pleasant square within a minutes walk, where the locals gather in the various bars, and there is a lovely church located at the end of the square. it is very easy to get back onto the autoroute from Montichiari, and I am sure is a good central place to stay if you are visiting Lake Garda and its environs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rpwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I've stayed here twice now, and I have to say that its one of the friendliest places I have been to.
I had no worries about bringing two friends with me this time, and they loved the place too.

Anna & Jacques are perfect hosts. This is not some cold clinical hotel, but you are welcomed into their home, into their family. They have great senses of humour, a magnificent range of language skills, and try their hardest to help you enjoy your stay with excellent advice on where to go, when to go and where to park/eat/shop etc.
The house is very central in an unspoilt Italian market town. You're likely to be the only tourists, but there's a decent choice of bars/restaurants/gelateria etc, as well as some good genuinely cheap but quality fashion outlets. The 50m outdoor pool is a must for the summer, or you can run/walk up the hill 60m above the town. Brescia ( a fantastic town) is 30mins or less, so don't miss out on the Mille Miglia museum....perfect for car nuts. Lake Garda a similar distance, then take the ferry anywhere on the lake: perhaps avoid the touristy Sirmione and head for classy Salo instead.
The rooms are homely. No, they're not wall to wall tiled or minimalist show rooms. These are good honest family rooms in someone's home: much more comfortable and welcoming. The secure garden and parking is amongst the best I've seen, and the ducks & rabbits are great for youngsters. Breakfast of home-made breads & cakes with Anna's jams, in a frescoed dining room is sublime. I've eaten with the hosts and would say that I found the experience totally opposite to hmf42....did they really stay here?
The parking is not tight, its ample even for our huge rented estate, and being secure behind closed gates is a real boon.

I cannot recommend this highly enough.
Its not an hotel, so if you want anonimity and soulless minimalism look elsewhere. If you want to experience Italy, by being welcomed into an Italian family then come here.

Chris

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baldperksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

To get extra towels, Fine cutlery and Butler Service, we rather go to Ritz Carlton or Mandarin Oriental. Villa San Pietro is the Perfect Place to relax and relax and relax. The Villa is very nice and clean with a Value add that is a Great famiglia Running it? We go there since 2000 and everytime is a nice and quite Experience. Nö Wonder Michael Schumacher was staying there! Don't miss the Pizzeria Next door....

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_Carlos_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

The hosts were very friendly, we were welcomed like part of the family! Any question you might have, they will answer with great enthusiasm, and they are so helpful with any request you might have, it is amazing!

The rooms are big, very cosy, and comfortable. The bathroom is also big, and has all the things a bathroom needs. There is a kettle in the room for making tea or coffee. Everything is also very clean.

Villa San Pietro is located in the middle of a little village, just a few meters from the beautiful church, and the town square. we found it very nice to walk around the village, it is peaceful and quiet. Every friday morning there is a market in the square, and you can get almost whatever you might need there. Lovely!
For a time to relax and reload the batteries, this is the best place I have seen. I loved the breakfast room where everybody sits around one big table and have breakfast together. Also, if you want to, they will provide you with dinner in the evening.

What I liked best about the stay there was the helpful people and the calm and quiet place. There is a beautiful garden, which must be a little heaven on earth in the summer. I have to say, there was nothing I didn't like about it. This is definetly a place I will come back to!

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
Thank bentebjorseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

During our visit to Italy in August we stayed at the Villa San Pietro. The setting is very nice in a very old town nearby Lake Garda. Don't be fooled however, because it is not close to the lake; especially during the august holidays when everyone is on vacation. And, I mean everyone! In this town which is small to begin with, the choice of restaurants during the holiday season is even less. The owner of the Villa serves a prix fixe dinner, wine included, which was available for 35 euros a person.Buyer beware! is all I can say. Don't be seduced by the opprtunity(?) to eat a meal al fresco with the hosts. Opening a bag of arugula and dressing it with balsamic vinegar and oil, is not our idea of a salad! Certainly in Italy, at this time of the year, a tomato, carrot ,cucumer or onion might have fit the bill. The rest of the meal was also unimpressive. The appetizers were salty and the wine was pretty cheap. It seems like the owner was getting away with as little as possible. This was also evident during breakfast. There are too many things to mention like unsafe steps, dirty screens , poor lighting, insufficient directions for sightseeing and a very tight car parking area just to name a few. We hate to bash people's livlihood however they need to do some soul searching about how the place is run and what the accomodations and food are like for their guests.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hmf42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUCFAMILY, Proprietario at Villa San Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2011

We are deeply sorry that this couple was not happy since we tried from the very first moment they called us, saying they were lost somewhere and we immediately went to pick them up, to do ou best in any way, constantly asking them if they needed something as we do with all of our guests.

Our guests' satisfaction is for us real happiness.

They did not know where we were and did not research about the area; as everybody can clearly see in my own webiste all info are clearly stated, where we are, distances to each place, photos of the town and of all major area attractions.

The cost of the dinner is wrong and I prepared lots of different dishes and kept asking if all was ok and they never mentioned during the dinner they did not like something. On the contrary we spent a very pleasant evening celebrating this couple's friend's birthday. We offered some liquor and spent the whole time chatting with them explaining where to go and what to do since they were not aware of the area.

We gave all of our tourist literature in English, several books about all major cities in northern Italy but they remained unread in one of the two living rooms.

Our home was built in the 16th century and of course there are old steps but all is very safe, we have put handles on the side for our guests.

We offer part of our marble-columned loggia built in the 16th century as free parking, a plus our guests really appreciate.

We gave them our GPS so they could find places easily, my husband explained how to put the addresses and find all places. Every morning he spent a long time showing places on the map and explaining where to go and what to see.

We helped them in any possible way, always asking if we could do more. As we always do with every guests.

During the stay they have never complained for anything and we are sorry for this; if they needed something different, it would have been our pleasure and duty to help them.
As I said, the satisfaction of our guests is our satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montichiari hotels
0.4 mi away
Monticlaris Bed and Breakfast Self Contained
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Novello
Hotel Palazzo Novello
#1 of 5 in Montichiari
222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garda Hotel
Garda Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montichiari
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Faro
Hotel Ristorante Faro
#5 of 5 in Montichiari
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elefante
Hotel Elefante
#3 of 5 in Montichiari
113 reviews
1.1 mi away
B&B Cascina Colomberina
B&B Cascina Colomberina
#7 of 11 in Montichiari
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Pietro

Address: Via San Pietro 25, 25018 Montichiari, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Montichiari
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Montichiari
Price Range: £53 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Una casa del 1600 in cui amiamo ricevere tutti gli ospiti in provenienza da tutto il mondo e condividere con loro quanto di meglio il nostro Bel Paese offre.Colazione curata con pane fresco, torte dolci e salate e muffin, prosciutto, formaggio e yogurt fatto in casa. All'arrivo amiamo accogliere gli ospiti con una fetta di torta, un buon tè o caffè e restiamo a loro disposizione per aiutarli a scegliere gli itinerari piu' interessanti della zona.La nostra casa è aperta e amiamo condividere la nostra passione per la vita semplice e vera.Organizziamo visite nei vigneti e degustazioni, visite didattiche nei salumifici, nei caseifici e in tutti i luoghi degni di interesse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa San Pietro Montichiari, Italy - Province Of Brescia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing