We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of St. John Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. John Hotel
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We weren't expecting much as the price was so reasonable, but i have to say I was very impressed with the hotel. It was spotlessly clean, beds changed, fresh towels & room tidied every day. The staff were very friendly & helpful and breakfast was ok for a continental breakfast, lots of nice pastries, fruit and yoghurts etc, the only thing that wasn't good was the toaster, which was useless!
The area the hotel is in isn't buzzing but we found a good restaurant called San Michele a 5 minute walk away in via Monfalcone, they did great seafood platters, meat platters & pizzas.
The metro is a 5-10 min walk from the hotel and is brilliant, it runs from 6am til midnight and you can buy a 3 day ticket for about 5euros which you can also use on the trams & buses. We also ate at Siu's bar in Lima (which is on the red metro line) where if you buy a drink you can eat for free, the buffet there is amazing! Lima is a good area for shopping too, not as expensive as the centre of Milan.
We flew to Malpensa airport, got the train to Milano Centrale (10 euro) and a taxi to the hotel (35 Euro), so on the way back, we got the metro to Cadorna (1.50 euro), then the train to the airport (11 Euro).
You can get straight to the Duomo Piazza on the red line too, which is very nice, highly recommend a visit there and into the Duomo. We also went to see the last supper, which was a fantastic experience and one I will never forget.
All in all, we had a great time and would definitely go back - the hotel is great for what you pay

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wh0d0y0uthinky0uare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    91
    88
    37
    5
See reviews for
46
58
29
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel due to its convenient location for my business trip. Not good location for visiting Milan, too far and too ugly hood. Hotel is basic, more or less clean, some 700m from metro. It faces a busy street with a lot of traffic, but sound proofing of windows is good and you won't hear cars. But you will hear everything from the room next door, so good luck. Beds and pillows could be newer. Breakfast is really basic but ok.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Strahinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Firstly i didn't know what to expect from this hotel, as I do travel quite often. This was my first time in Milan. The hotel is located 500 meters from the metro station so its a quick journey into the city center. The hotel staff were amazingly friendly and helpful almost physic in some sense. Any questions we had in terms of getting to places or general information the staff will go out of there way to provide you with the right information. On the first day the concierge even escorted us to the station, and gave us a quick tour, this kind of service you would only expect from a 5 star hotel. The only downside was the size of the room, which for me was a bit small, however wen i return to Milan I would definitely stay there again. Ciao

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rahana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiratsuka, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

we spent 1 night here and the room was clean and large so better than we expected but the breakfast was far from that. the place was so cold and dark so we couldnt find it first. i dont think we wanna stay here again. receptionist and all the employees were nice though. oh, it is so far from the closest station. it is not walking distance!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommysakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kherson, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I can reccomend St. John Hotel as non-expensive base for discovering of Milan. It is located in Milan's suburb Sesto San Giovanni 500 meters away from the administrative border of the city. You can easily reach the city center by bus or underground (both stops are fairly close to the hotel). Rooms are in the "Ibis style": nor large nor small but clean and well equiped. Breakfast was rich enough but breakfast room was too far away from my room (hotel consists from two housings and if your room and restoraunt in the different housings be prepared to the long walk).
Staff was polite and helpful. WiFi internet is free but did not work in my room, instead the cable internet (which is also free) worked well.

Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank yurisolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The service at this hotel is fantastic, the staff are so friendly and helpful, they are willing to look up places and print of information for you in the evening. They always put the vistors first and are always pleasant regardless of the numerous questions you ask them. This hotel deserves a lot of credit than all the comments below. I will honestly say my family and I were really impressed with this hotel. In milan there isn't much to do any way, however less than a four minute walk is the metro it will take you all over milan and to railway stations where you can go to venice, verona, portofino, rome etc. The breakfast has a huge variety compared to most hotels; croissants, toast, rolls, fruits, yoghurt, biscuits, pastry and a range of spreadings. They gave us lots of brocheurs and cards to help us find our away around and know the best places to eat at. The hotel says it's self what it provides and if your travelling during the day like which is beyond satisfaction. If your looking for people willing to help you out i.e. good service and somewhere to sleep, wash and eat a decent good breakfast then this is the perfect place to be. If i go to milan again i am certain i will be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

I've been staying in that hotel regularly, last year (2009) and this year (2010).
The quality of the hotel is now far from a 4stars quality!

Internet is not working anymore... the subway is that close from the hotel that you can feel it during the night... it seems that you are bothering the people at the main desk any time you talk to them... furniture in the rooms are not fitting to the size of the room...

It would be a nice hotel, if it was not pretending to be 4stars... the price is low for italy, but you have the quality you are paying....

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peyo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sesto San Giovanni hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sesto San Giovanni hotels
0.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Milano Sesto San Giovanni
B&B Hotel Milano Sesto San Giova...
#5 of 15 in Sesto San Giovanni
429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Barone Di Sassj
Grand Hotel Barone Di Sassj
#7 of 15 in Sesto San Giovanni
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Milano Concordia
NH Milano Concordia
#1 of 15 in Sesto San Giovanni
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bert
Hotel Bert
#8 of 15 in Sesto San Giovanni
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#13 of 15 in Sesto San Giovanni
79 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abacus Hotel
Abacus Hotel
#4 of 15 in Sesto San Giovanni
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. John Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. John Hotel

Property: St. John Hotel
Address: Via Bruno Buozzi 97, 20099 Sesto San Giovanni, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Milan > Sesto San Giovanni
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sesto San Giovanni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St. John Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. John Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. John Hotel Milan/Sesto San Giovanni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing