We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy. Clean. Kitty.”

Cambridge Bed and Muffin
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cambridge Bed and Muffin
Ranked #9 of 20 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy. Clean. Kitty.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

It's a great place to stay. It's reasonably priced and in great location. Walking distance to Harvard. The host is fantastic and very helpful. She cleans every day. All is in Hello Kitty style but a little eccentricity doesn't do any harm. Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
10
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canaan, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It is a very nice place to stay. I would stay here again. It was neat and adorable. It was also very low-drama and quiet, a good location and pleasantly old-fashioned. It felt like a little oasis after busy days. I'd also suggest trying the bowl of steamers at the nearby seafood market and the maple-smoked salmon bellies at the nearby whole foods.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed there three nights while attending nonprofit organization board meetings. It's a very comfortable and fun place to stay that is quite affordable compared to many hotels in the area. Sarah, the owner, has thought of EVERYTHING. Not only are the bathrooms chock full of any toiletry item and so on you might need, but also in the public areas there are all kinds of maps, train and bus schedules, brochures, restaurant menus and lists, etc., etc., etc. Breakfast is cereals, yogurt, breads, fruit, coffee and tea, and is self-service. Bathrooms are shared but no more than 2 guest rooms to a bath. No TV's or phones in the room but you don't miss them (there is WiFi).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My boyfriend and I chose this bed and breakfast based on the price. Its cute and quirky and filled with Hello Kitty items. Room was very clean. The bathroom is chock full of things you might need if you forgot anything. There is a little map in the entry hall explaining where it's safe to park your car (we happened to arrive when the owner was out). Good selection for breakfast.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank eskimo122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I been staying here for the past 6 or so years, when I am in town for conferences. Sarah, the owner, lends me her bicycle to get around! I am staying here right now, and had to write this to say how very lovely this is. The location is ideal for Harvard, MIT, and all of the Cambridge/Boston area.
I'm a bit scared to continue gushing as I'll never get to come back because there will never be a vacancy. Yet the price is the lowest I have seen in the area, and the owner is generously accommodating. She is so eco-conscientious that she evens recycles calendars, simply crossing out the dates of the holidays (for example, in this room, a calendar from 2002) that change.
The gathering at breakfast this morning includes A Scotsman physicist, and writers from Toronto and Chicago, an educator from Toronto, and me, a guy who rides borrowed bicycles. You should stay here, but please don't tell anyone about it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Kitty themed bed and breakfast. There are allegedly real cats there too, although we didn't see any. Every amenity is provided served up with a warm welcome. No en suites though. Excellent self serve breakfast. Perfect for women, couples and lone travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GhengisKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I stayed here last year, while visiting Boston with my mom (we were there for a research trip to one of Harvard's archives). We loved Bed and Muffin; it was comfortable and the owner was very nice. The owner, Sarah, has gone out her way to include thoughtful touches (like a stand full of umbrellas, a shelf of reading glasses with various levels of magnification, etc). The shared bathroom on our floor was small but clean. I especially liked the setup for breakfast; it included a number of french presses, with the right amount of coffee measured. All that was left for the guest to do was pour hot water and press (and there were multiple kettles on the stove, ready for use). She had a full-size fridge stocked with yogurts, different types of bread, cereal, milk, soy milk, and orange juice. And on the table there was a choice of jams/jellies for toast and nuts and dried fruits for cereal. All in all, a very nice set-up. After I returned home I realized that I left a battery charger in one of the wall sockets. Sarah kindly mailed it back to me at no expense. If I find myself in Boston again, I will definitely stay at Bed and Muffin.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#15 of 20 in Cambridge
212 reviews
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
497 reviews
Allston / Brighton
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,594 reviews
Harvard Square Hotel
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
735 reviews
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Bed and Muffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Bed and Muffin

Property: Cambridge Bed and Muffin
Address: 267 Putnam Ave, Cambridge, MA 02139-3725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cambridge Bed And Muffin Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing