We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced but good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Irving House at Harvard
Ranked #4 of 21 Cambridge B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Pluses:
Good breakfast
Good location (near Harvard)
Nice common area with books and mags to read
Charming exterior to building
Quiet at night
Plenty of towels & hot water in shared shower room
They booked a taxi for me to the airport ($44 from B&B to Logan)

Minuses:
Expensive for small room with shared bathroom
Bedroom was cold-ish and not enough blankets
Checkout at 11am not 12pm, as is normal
Snippy receptionist

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladybird43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSolem, Owner at Irving House at Harvard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. And thank you for phrasing your headline that way. During October, our peak month, the rates are indeed high, as they are all over Harvard Square. Our rates vary with demand, as is the industry standard, but we set them to be a good value overall within the Harvard Square market.

The heating can be a little slow to get to some rooms, but we do have supplemental heaters for particularly cold nights/cold rooms, for future reference.

However, the lack of blankets and the snippy service at the desk are NOT our way, and I have showed this to my staff to ensure we make further improvements in those areas.

We are pleased that you did, in some ways, enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Rustic charm and great location made the Irving House a great place for us to stay while getting our daughter situated for a Harvard fellowship. It's expensive but we had a wonderful experience and parking is free.




Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Noel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We decided to stay here after reading some of the older positive reviews. I'm not sure what room those people had or what they ate for breakfast but our experience was not positive. The rooms are WAY OVERPRICED! I consider myself a world traveler - having been to more than 50 countries and away for more than 125 days each year. I've become a good judge of hotels, B&Bs, hostels, guest houses, and apartments on airbnb. I've stayed in more than a dozen different places in Cambridge and Boston. This was one of the most expensive and by far the most disappointing. The towels were rough and thin. Housekeeping did not remove dirty dishes. The breakfast was continental only. There were few hot options and certainly no service. You had to clear your own dishes. The compost and dirty dish trays were in the same room as the food. The pillows were lumpy. The shampoo (in a large dispenser) did not foam and left my hair feeling dry and dirty. There was dust on the floor. Without going on and on, I hope you get the message. Stay elsewhere, even if it means a T ride or a longer walk to the campus and area.

Room Tip: Stay Elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maple1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSolem, Owner at Irving House at Harvard, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

i am so sorry that your stay with us was not to your liking in so many ways! I have shown it to my staff to begin to address the concerns you raised. Your stay did come during our most busy season, and so the rates are higher now than they are during other times of the year.
The shampoo does not have the chemicals that cause lathering, but it is still effective in washing, and rinsing out. Most of our guests are appreciative of both the simple, natural ingredients and the dispenser provision, which replaces small disposable containers. This is in keeping with our environmentally friendly operations, and is becoming standard throughout many hotels.
We are phasing out the thinner towels, and have been providing thicker towels, so I am looking at how and why your room got the older towels.
Our breakfast staff does bus tables when they can, and we will review staffing to be sure they can do it more often, so that guests do not need to clear others' tables, or wait for an empty table. The menu does change very little, though the baked goods do change daily and more with the season.
Most guests also appreciate that they can compost and recycle as they do at home. We have not ever heard a complaint about the presence in the dining area of facilities to do so, but we will look at that now too, though space is limited there.
We take this review very seriously and will look at ways to address the matters you note. We hope your visit to Cambridge was otherwise a pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Is not easy to find a good and cheap place to sleep in Cambridge ..but Irving House is overpriced. The location is great, in a quite area not on the main street. Rooms are nice and clean but very small. Breakfast place is horrible and food is poor.
Staff is OK.
Irving is the only hotel I know so far in Cambridge, its not bad but im not sure I would choose it agian.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pilot_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSolem, Owner at Irving House at Harvard, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. As an experienced traveler, you are likely aware of the variability of hotel rates, which fluctuate with demand. While we do keep our rates competitive with the Harvard Square area, that still puts our rates higher than other areas of Cambridge and Boston and much higher than many areas of the US and other countries.

We aim to provide an excellent value to our guests. We hope that in your travels as you compare rates and offerings, you find we have succeeded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed in Irving House at Harvard for three nights. I had a room with shared washroom. In general, I liked the place. The place was cozy and the people were friendly. I never had to wait in a line for using the washroom or taking a shower. The breakfast was also good. My main complain is about WIFI which was very slow. Do not count on it except for checking your emails (which also might take a while).

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank ShahinKamali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSolem, Owner at Irving House at Harvard, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. While we have upgraded our broadband signal, and checked the distribution around the house, there are still times when the wifi signal is slow because demand continues to increase: the more we provide, the more it is used. We continue to seek better options , still hoping to be able to provide this service at no extra charge. We are please that in other ways you did enjoy your stay. We hope to see you again some time.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here two nights during our trip in the USA and would have loved to stay longer! Irving House is located close to Harvard and the atmosphere in this area is so nice. The rooms are clean and nicely furnished and as prices on accommodation are quite high in Boston, we really think that Irving House is value for money. Especially the breakfast was great. It included more than we could wish for and everything was fresh and some things even organic. Also the free snacks and coffee during the day was a nice surprise and saved us a few dollars as we didn't have to buy our coffee in town. We would love to come back and stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ditte_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSolem, Owner at Irving House at Harvard, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for your very kind review! We love to hear what we are doing right. We hope to see you again on another visit to Cambridge...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Staff was so friendly, our room (ground floor, next to reception desk, a bit more expensive than standard, but worth the price) was big and clean, breakfast was more than adequate, free WIFI, free parking (tight space but enough), really close to Harvard Square, and the price within reasonable limits. What else could you ask for?

Room Tip: They have free postcards, and they'll even post them for you. A nice touch in this Smartphone-er...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Halcon Viajes
1  Thank fenzof40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSolem, Owner at Irving House at Harvard, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! I will share this with my staff, as I do all reviews, to keep them on their toes.....
We hope to see you again on another visit to Cambridge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.7 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 19 in Cambridge
1,807 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#14 of 19 in Cambridge
774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 19 in Cambridge
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
1.5 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
992 reviews
1.8 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#15 of 19 in Cambridge
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irving House at Harvard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irving House at Harvard

Address: 24 Irving Street, Cambridge, MA 02138-3007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: £77 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Irving House at Harvard 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irving House is a large bed and breakfast in Cambridge offering uniquely cozy accommodations and a variety of amenities for our guests to enjoy. Built as a two-family house in the 1890s, Irving House was converted to hotel use in the 1920s with 44 guest rooms in a variety of sizes. There are many room types to accommodate the ranging needs of our guests, from individual travelers to families. We encourage booking directly on our site, not through third parties. In this way, we can offer you better options for your stay. Bookings that come through a 'book now' button cost us high commissions! Be a savvy traveler and go to our site to book for best availability and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Irving House at Harvard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irving House At Harvard Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing