We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, very very noisy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gray House Cambridge Accommodations
Ranked #13 of 20 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I wanted to love this place. Karin and her associates were very friendly and helpful and the location is perfect for Cambridge and Harvard. Self-catering is always a plus, too. We stayed in apartment 7A for three nights and didn't sleep well the entire stay. There was noise from the yoga studio above from early in the morning until the evening (I think there is another apartment up there too) and the students who live in the adjacent apartments come back at all hours, slamming doors and shouting. Whoever lives below 7A spent hours playing guitar along to The Smiths, very loudly. You can hear voices and TVs and footsteps as clearly as if they were in the room with you. The wooden floors are lovely but there is just no soundproofing at all - when one person in the building uses the bathroom in the night, everyone hears it!
Such a shame, this place would be fabulous if it weren't for this issue, but sadly it is a big deal when you are visiting Harvard for interviews and work. Sleep is important.

Room Tip: Try the top floor apartment.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itrunsdeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BnBBay, Owner at Gray House Cambridge Accommodations, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

We are so sorry this guest did not sleep well. We do not typically get complaints about noise from the yoga studio or from surrounding apartments. The yoga studio classes are fairly small, students do not wear shoes, and there are no classes in the early morning (before 8:30) or late evening. Our neighbors are usually very courteous but we will certainly look into this issue. Our top priority is always to ensure our guests have a comfortable, enjoyable visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Gray House Cambridge Accommodations
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

We loved our 4 days stay. We agree with all the positive comments. Tanji the caretaker was always gracious and ready to help. We stayed in the 2 bedrooms, 1 1/2 bath ground floor apartment. It was quiet and comfortable and quite near all services. The only reservation is that there are not enough kitchen utensils. We cannot really cook except for the very basic. We would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghislaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I really enjoyed staying at the Frost house with Karen, she is the most welcoming host, the room was nicely decorated, clean, and comfortable. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We currently have a child who is a student at Harvard and another one who is at Tufts and were up to visit both 10/20-10/23. We found Frost House to be a very good alternative to Harvard Sq. accommodations (where we usually stay). The two bedroom unit was larger than my wife and I needed, but it was what was available on the busy Head of the Charles Weekend. We hosted a small cocktail gathering with some other parents, and found the extra room provided by the full kitchen/living room area just right.
I echo other reviewers that it is more properly viewed as a furnished apartment, rather than a B&B. Easy come-and-go access, secure, and convenient to the T-stop at Porter Sq. The walk to Davis/Tufts one way and Harvard Sq. the other is about 10 minutes each. Furnishings are not luxurious, but very comfortable. Perhaps the only nit-pick is that the towels provided were not as substantial as I would have liked, but otherwise the place exceded our expectations.
The host, Karin, was most attentive even though she was not physically present during our visit. She made sure all arrangements were in place before our arrival, had someone meet us with a key when we arrived at about 7:00 PM, and followed up to ensure we were pleased.
We'll certainly consider staying at Frost House again on our regular visits.

Room Tip: I believe one bedroom units are also available, but only this two bedroom was available when we book...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Collier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My dad and I were visiting Boston for a week and needed a place to stay. Luckily we found this quiet apartment only a five minute walk from the Porter T-Stop.

The apartment has two bedrooms, one just a bit roomier than the other, but both are very comfortable.

It also has one and a half baths, and a very spacious kitchen. There is also an adjoining dining area and living room. Although we didn't use it very much, the full kitchen was very nice to have. Microwave, fridge, coffeemaker, and dishwasher were all provided.

The apartment also has a nice widescreen tv (with cable) in the living room and wireless internet service.

The apartment has a common entrance off the street, and a private entrance within the building. We never saw any other residents during our stay, though we were gone all day every day during our visit. This is not a traditional B&B setup, so we were free to come and go as we pleased without worrying about disturbing anyone.

Although we used local transportation during our stay, we did pick up a rental car during our last day. Our gracious host, Karen, provided us a parking pass to allow us to keep the car right next to the apartment.

Karen made us feel very welcome and let us know that we could rely on her for any needs during our stay.

It did not matter to us, but some people may want to know that the apartment is an older building with some "quirks". For instance, the vent for the shower was a crank window that you could open/close before and after use. The apartment has crank or traditional sash windows throughout the house. We rather enjoyed opening all of the windows and letting the fresh air in after returning from our daily excursions. We didn't use it very much, but the radiant heat worked great for the night or two that we needed it.

Locally, there is a market to buy bread, milk and necessities, right across the street from the T-stop. There were several good places to dine nearby. For breakfast, I highly recommend Rosie's Bakery. If you like Thai food, try Sugar and Spice. All are within an easy five minute walk.

All in all, this is a very clean, comfortable, private, quiet, and safe place to stay for a couple or family.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Allen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This was the second time in a year that I have stayed at The Frost House. Both times have been excellent. The apartment is in a great location as only 2 blocks from the Porter T stop and a 10 minute walk to Harvard Square. It is also close to some restaurants and a supermarket. I have stayed both times with 3 other adults and have found the apartment spacious and clean. It has a main room with a bed, sofa, tv and small dining table, a bathroom, a separate bedroom with 1 or 2 beds and a kitchen. There is also a small terrace outside of the kitchen door. It has cable and plenty of A/C units as the apartment was cool despite being hot outside. It has a full kitchen and It is well stocked with kitchen utensils and towels. I have found the hosts Karin & Kenji very helpful as they allowed me to have some event tickets sent to the address to collect on my arrival. I thought the apartment was good value and would thoroughly recommend staying here if you need somewhere to stay in the Boston area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We spent 6 nights there, enjoying the Boston area. The location of the House is just perfect in a quiet street, just off Mass. Ave, and 2 mn to the Porter Square subway stop on foot. There are many places to have dinner and breakfast, convenient stores and a supermarket as well as a nice bookstore in the neighbourhood with a good kids' section.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecile H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
0.2 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
67 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
506 reviews
1.0 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#15 of 20 in Cambridge
40 reviews
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston Cambridge-Arlington
2.3 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray House Cambridge Accommodations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray House Cambridge Accommodations

Address: Frost St and Roseland St, Cambridge, MA 02140 (Formerly Frost House)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: £74 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this comfortable one-bedroom apartment in a multi-unit house on a quiet street in Cambridge, with shiny hardwood floors and a simple, pleasant contemporary decor. This modest unit contains a bedroom with queen bed, a queen futon sleep sofa in the living room, a single futon, a full kitchen for light cooking, and a full bath. The private entry is from the exterior walkway via one flight of iron grate stairs. The room next to it can be rented separately or adjoining and contains a queen futon platform bed plus private bath. For larger parties, there is also one other apartment in the same location. The owner, who speaks English and French, operates a small yoga studio and healing center on site, and guests are welcome to join her for a class. You will occasionally hear students arrive and depart. Take a quick walk to Lesley College, a 10-minute walk to parts of Harvard University, or a 15-minute walk to Harvard Square. Residing in Porter Square, you will enjoy many restaurants offering a variety of cuisine's, as well as unique local shops. The Porter Square subway is 2 blocks away. For larger parties, there is another apartment and a guest room in the same location. You may reserve off-street parking. All linens and kitchen supplies provided. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing