We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”

A Friendly Inn at Harvard Square
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Friendly Inn at Harvard Square
Ranked #18 of 19 Cambridge B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here July 2013. Had centipedes crawling over me in bed, plastic mattress cover, unfriendly unhelpful service. Overpriced couldn't wait to leave. Tv didn't work. Noisy air conditioner. Breakfast served on paper plates and plastic cutlery.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slc999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    41
    24
    14
    10
See reviews for
21
20
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I am not sure why accommodations in Cambridge cost so much. While this bed and breakfast is considered the cheapest in the Harvard Square area, I still think that for what it is and what it provides, it is overpriced! Having said that, the cost per night for the rest of the hotels in Harvard Square are out of whack!

We had a double room. Bed was comfortable, room was old and a little run down. Carpet felt like it should be replaced and there were chipped tiles in the bathroom. The furniture and furnishing were also old and worn. This room placed on an international scale would be a 1 star pension! Our room might have been the bigger one but still it was small enough that the bed was propped up next to the window.The staff were friendly and breakfast was sufficient. The decor could be improved and more investment could be put into making the breakfast room not look like an uncoordinated living room of furniture.

While there is clearly effort to keep the establishment running efficiently, I think there is more that can be done by its proprietor to renovate this property and actually get some help with the decor. The combination of oriental and western aesthetic is a little jarring. This is not a suitable place with those having difficulty with stairs. The steps are steep and quite many to get up to your room on the second floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMSJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The best location for visitors of Harvard makes you feel at home. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The rooms were kept always clean an tidy. The breakfast table was very rich with donuts, bagels, cream cheese, cornflakes, toast bread, tea, coffee, milk, orange juice, boiled eggs and fresh fruits. The cost per night was very reasonable compared to other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Room no. 105.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 182Mustafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at A Friendly Inn for three nights. The B&B is less than a five minute walk from the Harvard campus, at most 10 minutes from the Harvard Square T stop. There is free parking for guests in a lot behind the building which was a nice benefit. The room was small but comfortable. Besides the bed there was a small desk and some desk chairs. We used the living space on the main floor and in the basement for comfortable seating. I was surprised that it was so quiet. We did not notice any noise from the street although we only had the windows open one of the days during our stay. This was our second visit to Cambridge during the last year and found this place to be much better than the hotel we had stayed at previously. We will most likely use this for future stays in Cambridge.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocPadri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

A lot of people have praised this place based on its location and price. Fair enough, but I think it deserves to be mentioned that the basic feel of the place is that of a cheap motel, with an old, harsh vibe to it. I'd say this was a rooming house at one time and was transformed into a hotel by putting in new carpet and little else. Fluorescent light in the rooms, weird thrift store furniture, no curtains, heat that can't be manually controlled (i.e. the open window is your thermostat), language barrier with the front desk lady, etc. Be warned!

This being said, the place is clean, and if you want to do better in a walkable part of Cambridge or Boston, you'll be paying $300 to 400 a night, hard as this may seem to believe.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room on the first floor facing the street (having moved down from my original room, on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F-wissenschaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

I was looking for a convenient place to stay for one night with affordable rate in Cambridge and for visiting Boston. Friendly Inn is the one I choose eventually and true enough the location is great and is walking distance to Harvard square and the subway. There is a supermarket and starbucks nearby while walking to Harvard Square. It has free parking which is good for me as I drove from Connecticut. The room is clean and has wi fi connection with a personal bathroom. Wake up and was hoping for a nice breakfast but find the breakfast could be better, mainly pastries, bread, coffee, milk tea, fruits. If they could serve some hot breakfast, I would give a very good rating for serving my stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hijames_ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two days in Cambridge--couldn't have asked for more. We had our little one-month old baby and they were incredibly helpful with offering us extra towels with which to clean him. The location is also superb--walking distance from Harvard Square and right on Cambridge St near Quincy (actually right at Cambridge St and Irving). The rooms are quite nice and homely, and the breakfast is good given the price--continental but adequate for what they were charging. The rates are outstanding for Boston area. To boot--there is free parking for guests.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landonroussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.7 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#8 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.1 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Friendly Inn at Harvard Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Friendly Inn at Harvard Square

Property: A Friendly Inn at Harvard Square
Address: 1673 Cambridge St, Cambridge, MA 02138-4316
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — A Friendly Inn at Harvard Square 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your A Friendly Inn at Harvard Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Friendly Inn At Harvard Square Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing