We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not a B&B..it's your home!”
Review of Parkside on Ellery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parkside on Ellery
Ranked #5 of 20 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's not a B&B..it's your home!”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Parkside on Ellery was a surprise. I found a place I was looking forward to coming back after a day out in Boston. A continental breakfast that reaches your room in the morning through a great internal little elevator, a room full of light where you can sit or read at your desk, a large comfortable bed for a quiet and silent night. Bellissimo.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pietro242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    17
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
32
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mamaroneck, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2012

This Victorian B&B offers easy walk to Harvard, Harvard Square. The room was charming with nice neighborhood views and light. It is an excellent value. It was quite private and quiet- we did not run into any of the neighbors in 3 nights. I left a night light there, by accident and the owner mailed it to me ! Extraordinary thoughful courtesy.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

As a first time visitor to Boston, David's warmth and attention for detail made for a truly memorable four night stay.

I'd chosen the Cambridge Room and was delighted by the large King size bed, lovely windows and view, and the (very) special delivery each morning of my breakfast via personal dumbwaiter!

Parkside on Ellery is 6 minutes walk from the Harvard Faculty Club, and just as close to great bookstores, pubs and boutiques. If you are looking for a central location, lovely accommodation, and all the Victorian charm Boston has to offer, look no further.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We spent two nights at the Parkside on Ellery B&B in Cambridge MA in November 2012 and it was perfect. Beautifully appointed, quiet and comfortable, so convenient to Cambridge sights - very very nice. I highly recommend this B&B and would stay there again happily.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My husband and I stayed in Unit 2 for a week. A week is a long time to stay in a room but it was really nice. The King Bed was very comfortable. The best part of our stay was the breakfast that was served in the room. It was sent to our room through the dumbwaiter type of elevator right on the time that we requested every morning. It was nice to wake up to the noise of the elevator carrying our breakfast up to our room. It was great to be able to have breakfast in our pijamas without doing any of the work. The room was clean. We had one refreshment of the room (change of sheets and towels) during the week. Since late fall is the season when the inside of the buildings may feel a bit colder that the actual weather outside, I felt cold one evening and send a note to our host, David. He was nice enough to put an extra heater in our room the next day. In sum, our room was nice, clean, quiet, warm, within walking distance both to Harvard Square and Central Square. It was not a small room. There is a separate section in the room where we had our breakfast.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AKadi34956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This really is a great location. It is walking distance to Harvard Square and the ‘T’ which serves the greater Boston area. This is a historic old house – circa 1870’s. We stayed 8 nights and did a considerable amount of travel both with and without a car from this location. Parking on the street with a permit supplied by our host was not a problem for the several nights that we had a vehicle.

Given the age of the house you should expect smaller accommodations than might be found in more contemporary establishments. The room was large but the bathroom was small and lacked storage space that is always needed in a hotel; the stairway is steep but did not present a problem given that our host was kind enough to take our bags to the room. The bed was firm but comfortable. As stated on their website the breakfast selection consists of your choice coffee, tea, juice, english muffin and/or cereal with accouterments. Breakfast was delivered via a dumbwaiter at your chosen time between 7:30 and 8:30; and was always very prompt.

We stayed in the Cambridge Room which is at the back of the house. Except for normal city traffic noises the room was very quiet and private. Given the neighborhood I would expect the other rooms to be equally quiet and private. There is a great little market, coffee shop and library within a block and great restaurants very nearby. The Peabody Museum is a must visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I love this Inn! Well located near Harvard Square, has beautiful rooms, and David is the best host you could ask for. I can't wait to return! My partner and I stayed in the Victorian Room this time which is large and beautifully decorated. Two years ago I stayed in the Scholar's Room - very nicely decorated also but much smaller. This was not a problem for me on that trip because I was traveling my myself so it was very cozy. David Szlag is the host - on both trips he went out of his way to be helpful but also allowed full privacy. I highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
497 reviews
0.7 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,593 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
930 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
173 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside on Ellery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside on Ellery

Property: Parkside on Ellery
Address: 74 Ellery Street, Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkside on Ellery 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Parkside on Ellery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing