We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new favorite”
Review of Hotel Veritas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Veritas
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A new favorite”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We spent three nights in July while visiting our son in Cambridge and found everything about Hotel Veritas ideal. The location is great (close to Harvard Square and Harvard Yard) and the decor is upscale and refined, relaxing and intimate. Even though the room was small (a "petite queen") it was wonderful. The bathroom was luxurious, the bed comfortable, the flat screen TV large. The best part of the stay was the service. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, for example, offering an umbrella every time we went outside and there was a threat of rain. They were friendly and eager to please. Free juices, sodas, coffee and tea in the lobby. Choosing Hotel Veritas for our stay was one of the best decisions we made on our visit to Boston.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
We like being your new favorite! Thank you very much for your nice review of Hotel Veritas and all of your kind comments. We strive to provide an intimate level of service to our guests – and we’re pleased that we were able to connect with you so well.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our little boutique hotel in Cambridge, MA.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    109
    36
    11
    4
See reviews for
93
162
67
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed at Hotel Veritas as our last stop on a 10-day tour of New England. We returned our rental car at Logan airport and took the T to Harvard Square. The hotel was a short walk from the subway station, and we had planned ahead and packed sensibly to make the walk easy, Arriving at the hotel, we were treated with attention and respect from the moment we walked in the door until we departed two days later. Smaller than I expected, the hotel was attractive and swanky and comfortable and used every square inch for functionality. Our room, a "petite queen" was tiny with just enough room to move around the bed, and it was decorated in a cool, modern style with neutrals, glass and metal, white shutters on the windows and natural stone surfaces in the bathroom. But it was totally comfortable, particularly the bed. We slept like babies despite the low rumble of the subway that we could hear now and then. On the first floor, which is kind of a mezzanine level,our room was a few steps from the small business center for visitors overlooking the lobby and consisting of a few chairs and small tables with laptops. We could hear voices outside our door but it was never a sustained noise. Staff explained how to use the coffee machine at the desk and showed us complimentary water, soft drinks and juices stored in refrigerated drawers. The lobby and outdoor patio doubled as a lounge where we could enjoy glasses of wine (we did!) or a drink, and we had the opportunity to order a charcuterie plate or a selection of New England cheeses, which we didn't. Crisp anise pastries were complimentary as a breakfast nosh (delicious!). Our stay did not allow us time to use the yoga studio/fitness center across the street, regrettably. Hotel Veritas is adjacent to Harvard University and within walking distance to numerous restaurants and shops. We chose to stay in Cambridge to be in a less urban environment than downtown Boston but close to the T, so for us the hotel was absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: The petite queen was the best price but realize that it really is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peghaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
We appreciate your detailed review of your stay at Hotel Veritas. Your comments accurately reflect so many of the attributes and drawbacks of our little hotel in Harvard Square. Guests frequently mention our intimate level of service, the décor, the complimentary beverages, access to the gym, and the convenient location on the edge of Harvard Square. We also often hear about the small size of the rooms and the noise from the subway and street. We readily acknowledge that we’re not the right hotel for everyone. If having a large room is important to a guest, then we highly recommend that they opt to stay at another hotel.

We are so glad that Hotel Veritas is the type of hotel that suited your needs and we await your return.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Good things come in small packages, it's true. This is a small, exquisite hotel, staffed by the loveliest crew. I had a queen room with balcony - I can't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paintandbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
What wonderful comments – thanks so much for staying with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My fiance and I spent a long weekend at this hotel in July - we had a fabulous experience from start to finish. The hotel itself has a great vibe; a very elegant, upscale space coupled with a fun, hip atmosphere. The hotel staff is extremely professional and courteous. We'll stay here again most definitely.

Pros
Boutique hotel
Valet Parking
Close to restaurants, bars, and shopping
Attentive and professional staff
Room was beautifully furnished and comfortable

Cons
The only thing I'd mention to potential guests is that our room was on the smaller side - definitely not a big deal for us, but something to consider if that is important to you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review of Hotel Veritas! We are so grateful that you stayed with us and have shared your comments on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This hotel’s location was fantastic (right outside of the hustle and bustle of Harvard Square’s main shops and T Station but still in the heart of the Harvard Square area). The rooms were great and the ambiance was refined. We had a fantastic view of the street below. The room was modern, comfortable, clean, and chic, and the bathroom and shower were very beautiful and spacious. The staff was friendly. The free sodas, juice, and water were great perks. This hotel is boutique without being too stiff and formal. The valet parking was convenient, and they have your car in a private garage, so it is safe. Guests may use the yoga studio across the street. It was a great experience all around.

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms that overlook Mass Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeltriGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
We are so pleased that you found our hotel in Harvard Square to be in such a great location for your trip to Cambridge, MA. Thank you for sharing the details of your trip and the photographs of the hotel on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to seeing you again at Hotel Veritas.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Hotel Veritas was a very good choice to stay in Harvard square-10 min. walking distance to the Harvard square. It is beautifully decorated. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was quite small, but the bathroom size was very good. The bed was so comfortable. I really enjoyed staying there. I will stay there again if I am back to Harvard.

Room Tip: upper floors are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
We’re so happy that you loved your stay with us! Thank you for posting your nice comments on Tripadvisor about Hotel Veritas and we hope that you’re able to come back for a visit.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I have to take continuing education classes to keep my Architectural license current and I have taken many classes at Harvard over the years, and stayed at many wonderful hotels in Cambridge during these classes. Hotel Veritas will be my only choice from now on. It just feels ‘right’. The location to campus is very convenient; the décor is very well designed and executed. Having read other reviews, I was expecting a tiny room. Much to my surprise, room 401 greeted me as I first opened the door with a nice sitting area and as I turned once inside, I found plenty of space around the bed. A big screen flat tv was opposite the bed and a table for working was directly below. A pleasant surprise was the spacious balcony.
Other reviews mentioned street noise, so when making my reservation, I requested a quiet room and that is exactly what was delivered.
The only criticism I could share is that the tables on both sides of the bed looked like something we may have rescued from the curb, repainted and proudly placed in our dorm room at college. The colors were correct for the décor and really blended in but on closer inspection, was inconsistent with the quality of the furnishings in the room. A nice dock for my iPhone sitting atop one of the tables was a welcome addition.
This is a true gem of a hotel. The price was agreeable for my two night stay, $680 (I had one vodka tonic) and an added bonus of a 15 percent discount because I was attending Harvard covered the tax.
I write this review because when I find something so agreeable, it would be wrong not to share my complete and total satisfaction.

Room Tip: room 401 is worth asking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
We are so appreciative that you took the time to post your thorough review of Hotel Veritas on TripAdvisor. The fact that we feel “right” to you makes us very happy. We look forward to welcoming you back many times over the years to come.

As for the bedside tables, we love the look - but we've been working for months with the manufacturer trying to resolve some issues. We're not too thrilled, either.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
735 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,916 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
174 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Veritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Veritas

Property: Hotel Veritas
Address: 1 Remington St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Veritas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Veritas is a 31-room independent upscale hotel located in Harvard Square offering intimate service in a hip Cantabrigian setting. The entire look and feel of the hotel is elegant and current, but with a respectful nod towards our traditional and historic neighborhood. The guest rooms are designed with the fine detailing of an old New England residence and furnishings that are interesting contemporary pieces with rich fabrics and textures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Veritas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing