We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our favorite hotels! We will be back”
Review of Hotel Veritas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Veritas
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of our favorite hotels! We will be back”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I've been meaning to write a review about this hotel forever but i just never got around to it! This Hotel is absolutely fantastic! After looking at many hotels in both Boston and Cambridge, I settled on this one for my boyfriend and I for July 1st- July 5th. I loved the look of the hotel and the reviews were great. I also found the rates to pretty reasonable especially when compared to other hotels in the area which did not seem as nice.
We arrived pretty early in the morning for our check- in and our room was available right away.
The hotel is absolutely beautiful. The decor is fanatstic and the bed was very comfortable. From the reviews that i read i knew that the rooms would be small and they were, but we had as much room as we needed.
The hotel gives off an initmate feeling which was exactly what I wanted. The staff is very attentive and everybody that we encountered was very nice and helpful. The Manager, Benson, is absolutely lovely. He was the first person that we talked to upon our arrival and he was very informative on how to get to all the places that we planned and also suggested other things like other attractions, places to eat (The russell house was great!), and good places to view fireworks.
I loved the location of the hotel. It's located right by harvard square. Even my boyfriend who was very stuck on the idea of staying at a hotel in the heart of Boston, was really glad that we picked this hotel!
They also offered juice,water,espresso, and other things in the lobby which was a great bonus!
This is one of our favorite hotels and we will certainly love to come back. We were actually thinking maybe sometime in the Winter, I wouldn't mind being snowed in at the Hotel Veritas!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bola2084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Well, thank you! You certainly did your research in the planning of your trip, so that undoubtedly helped in understanding what Hotel Veritas could offer to you and your boyfriend. We strive to provide an intimate level of service to our guests - and we are happy that we connected with you in such a great way. I'm glad that my suggestions were helpful to you - I love Russell House (and thanks for the "absolutely lovely" comment, too!)

See you in the winter!

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    108
    36
    10
    4
See reviews for
91
159
67
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Great location, luxury boutique hotel, small well appointed, great service, reasonable rates!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
We're so glad that you stayed with us and enjoyed your visit! We appreciate that you shared your thoughts about our hotel in Harvard Square on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Beautifully designed hotel in Harvard Square. The room was spacious for a boutique hotel- very comfortable bed with luxurious Italian linens, and great bathroom amenities. I walked in the room and was immediately impressed with the plush decor. The service was outstanding- lobby cocktails, wine and cheese platter delivered to the room. Very smooth check-in and check-out, and a pleasant staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monirani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
We truly appreciate that you took the time to post your review of Hotel Veritas on TripAdvisor. Thank you for the high accolades and we await your return.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Veritas is a converted mansion near Harvard Square. The rooms were spectacular and well appointed. Some of the spaces are cramped because there is not really a proper lobby, but the lobby had everything you could want including water bottles, snack foods and an espresso machine available 24/7. Parking is on premises and easy. Great place to stay when visiting Cambridge.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thank you for sharing your review about our boutique hotel in Harvard Square. Your comments reflect the tag-line on our Twitter account: "An intimate 31-room Cantabrigian hotel. We're not for everyone." Although we're a small hotel with small guest rooms, we strive to provide the highest level of service to your guests and the finest amenities - which is why we have Anichini linens, Palais Jamais by Etro bath amenities, Nespresso coffee, and other complimentary beverages.

As to the "not for everyone" comment that you and I both share, I believe that the people who would not enjoy a stay at our hotel are guests who require a large hotel room with a large desk, someone who needs room service available quickly and 24-hours-a-day, or someone who doesn't like the intimate scale of our hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you're one of the guests who find our hotel to be "special."

We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Great place, great location,and FREE water and soda! Thanks so much for a great night out.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristian1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Thank you for your post and we're so happy that you enjoyed a great night out at Hotel Veritas.

We've always found it inhospitable when hotels charge $5 (and often more?!) for bottled water and we promise never to be one of those hotels. And we through in free sodas, coffee, juices, and teas 24-hours-a-day just because we really like to be nice.

Hope to see you again soon,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

There is nothing better than a small hotel that offers the amenities of a large hotel and Veritas does just that. When I find a hotel that has great service, good location, comfort, and class, I'm a happy camper. Add on to that fantastic decoration , free expresso,free water, juices, and soft drinks 24/7 and I'm in heaven. I also liked the fact that the staff knew my wife and I by our name. Laurie gave us the best advice on restaurants and always followed up afterward to make sure we enjoyed our meal. We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathangpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you for your review and for your nice comments about Hotel Veritas. We're thrilled that our little hotel provided you with the service and amenities that made you a happy camper! Laurie and our other concierges are quite knowledgeable about the many great restaurants in Harvard Square, so it's wonderful that you spent some time with her to find the best places for you.

We'll see you on your next visit!

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My partner and I stayed at Veritas in March, and while it was cold in Cambridge, and there was a bit of snow, Veritas was provided a warmth and luxury that was wonderful to return to each day. Rooms are on the smaller side, but they are sumptuously appointed ... and frankly, I'd rather be an a smaller, exquisitely designed room than a large room in a run-of-the-mill hotel. We had a car with me, and Veritas made accessing it tremendous: a five minute call ahead and the car was waiting for us at the curb. Service was polite and gracious without feeling overdone. Great place. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sushi_phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
"I'd rather be an a smaller, exquisitely designed room than a large room in a run-of-the-mill hotel." We couldn't agree with you more! Thank you for your wonderful review of our little hotel in Harvard Square and we await your return.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#8 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Veritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Veritas

Property: Hotel Veritas
Address: 1 Remington St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Veritas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Veritas is a 31-room independent upscale hotel located in Harvard Square offering intimate service in a hip Cantabrigian setting. The entire look and feel of the hotel is elegant and current, but with a respectful nod towards our traditional and historic neighborhood. The guest rooms are designed with the fine detailing of an old New England residence and furnishings that are interesting contemporary pieces with rich fabrics and textures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Veritas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing