We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Evening Cruise”

Charles Riverboat Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Charles Riverboat Company offers our guests the best views of Boston and Cambridge on our Sightseeing Tours, Sunset Cruises, and Architecture Cruises. Our tours depart daily from the CambridgeSide Galleria Mall from May through October, with special prices for children, seniors, and groups. Join us aboard the Charles I, Henry Longfellow, or Lexington for an interesting and relaxing local experience on the Charles River and Boston Harbor.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
176 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Evening Cruise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I went on the sunset cruise. It was a nice easy boat ride especially for someone who normally gets seasick. The cost was only $17 for an hour boat ride. The cruise included great views of the city. There are plenty of photo opportunities, especially on a clear summer evening. There is some classic music and a bar on board. Of course, the drinks are sold separately. This boat ride is a nice way to cap off a busy day. It easy to get to by public transportation. It is close to Lechmere and Science Park on the green line. The Cambridge Side Galleria Mall is right there if you want to get a quick bite to eat before or after the ride. There are also a few full service restaurants such as the Cheesecake Factory, California Pizza Kitchen and P.F. Chang's right in the mall.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank holllywood38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesRiverboat, Public Relations Manager at Charles Riverboat Company, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and post pictures on Trip Advisor. We love seeing action shots of the river! We love our location at the CambridgeSide Galleria Mall just for that reason: places to eat, easy and cheap parking, shopping, and the list continues! Please like us on Facebook and we hope to see you cruising with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    38
    16
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Could be better...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

1. Improve your speaker system please, it was scratchy and hard to listen to.

2. Nice clean boat. Staff was very kind.

3. Narrator/Guide/Shouter:
We don't want to hear a laundry list of architects shouted at us. Please relate an interesting story or anecdote about the architects or buildings, I paid money to hear something interesting. And for heaven's sake, do not mispronounce names or point out buildings for which you don't know the name because it's new.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesRiverboat, Public Relations Manager at Charles Riverboat Company, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I will pass along this message to our general manager as well as our maintenance crew to make sure the quality of sound is perfect. It sounds like you were onboard our Architecture Tour. I will pass this message along to Boston by Foot who provides the tour guides for those cruises. We pride ourselves with friendly staff and clean boats so we are glad that you agree. We hope you cruise with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Nice Ride on a hot Nite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We lucked out and went on a hot nite so was enjoyable in that respect but I was dissappointed that there was no audio pointing out things along the way. Guess I should have taken the architectural tour. There were only two crew members and one of them tended bar and was boat hand. Nice guy working awfully hard. I guess the captain's job was to drive the boat and say goodbye as we left. The whole thing needed a little more enthusiasm but as I said Nice Ride on a hot nite!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank pickytraveler612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesRiverboat, Public Relations Manager at Charles Riverboat Company, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor! We agree that a sunset cruise is a perfect way to spend those hot summer nights. We don't give much of a tour on the sunset cruise because we leave this time for people to sit back, relax, and grab a drink. We would love to have you onboard one of our Architecture Tours and/or Sightseeing Cruise to get the full tour of Boston and the surrounding area. We hope to see you cruising with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftsbury, VT
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Boat was fine the narrator was trying too hard to be funny”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The boat ride itself was pleasant and informative. The narrator however was painful at best. He was trying way too hard to be funny. He did share some interesting information however some if it was a bit inappropriate with the age of the children on the boat.

I would not recommend this tour.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesRiverboat, Public Relations Manager at Charles Riverboat Company, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Sean,
Thank you for your review. I have passed this response to all the crew to insure our tours are informative, appropriate, and interesting. We do pride ourselves in our tours, so if you would like to come and try us again, please contact us and we will do our best to accommodate you. Thanks and we hope to see you cruising again with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Too Much Loud Talk that Says Too Little”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

It is always nice to spend time on a boat on a river, and this can be a nice way to get nice views of Boston, even for a local like me. What spoiled the trip for me is that it was noisy and the guide (an undergraduate student) spoke incredibly loud and talked constantly while actually saying surprisingly little. There are some interesting facts, Boston trivia, and anecdotes, but he took way too long to deliver them. Also, the boat turns around just before getting to Harvard, so many of the prettiest stretches of the river are not included on the tour. So before signing on, weigh the pleasures of the water on a nice day, against the noise and verbosity of the trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank THOMAS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesRiverboat, Public Relations Manager at Charles Riverboat Company, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thanks for your review Thomas. We agree that one of the best ways to see Boston, for an out-of-town guest or a local, is to see the sights by water. We are checking in with our tour guides to make sure they are aware of the sounds to insure high sound quality for all. Please join us again on a beautiful New England summer day on our other cruises! Thanks again for cruising with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charles Riverboat Company also viewed

 

Been to Charles Riverboat Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing