We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must-Do for July 4th in Boston”

Charles River Canoe & Kayak Cambridge at Kendall Square
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Paddle in the heart of Boston and Cambridge from our location in Kendall Square! Treat yourself to a phenomenal view of the Boston skyline and the Esplanade, as well as other nearby landmarks like the Zakim Bridge, M.I.T., the Museum of Science, and Boston University. This nine-mile stretch of river has no current, allowing painless round trips. However, renters can also enjoy one-way trips to or from our Boston location in Allston/Brighton — a unique way to see the city! Experienced paddlers can even venture into Boston Harbor for an unforgettable adventure! Our Kendall Square location also hosts our spectacular Skyline Tours, Harbor Tours, and Barbeque Tours — a wonderful way for anyone to see the river.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Must-Do for July 4th in Boston”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This past 4th of July, my brother, my fiance, our dog, and I canoed the Charles to watch the fireworks. It... was... spectacular !! A definite must-do. They asked we bring a 100' rope and anchor so we brought at 25lb cinder block. We didn't need the rope since they tied their rope to our anchor for us. When we anchored where we wanted to watch the fireworks, the wind kept pushing the boat back. We assume it was because the rope they tied our anchor to was a little short. Otherwise, it was an amazing experience! The staff was incredibly friendly as well. It was our first time canoeing the Charles for July 4th but we will definitely do it again next year.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
138 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fourth of July Experience”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We rented a canoe to watch the fireworks on the fourth. Check in and out we're both amazingly efficient and it was a fun idea, but the amount of boat traffic and currents made it tricky to actually sit back and enjoy the show. A kayak may have been a better choice. All in all, a good experience, but not one I'd probably repeat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fferffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful way to see Boston...and get a workout!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We did a guided Kayaking tour for 2 hours in July 2013. The guide taught us how to kayak, gave us great history about Boston and the Charles River.

One note - it is a decent workout on the tour. You are kayaking (meaning rowing) almost continuously for 2 hours. We are in our early 30's, workout a few times a week and we found some muscles we didn't know we had! ;)

The views of Boston and Cambridge were great and the pace at which you experience it, really allows you to put locations and references together in a way that car, public transit or even walking doesn't allow you to get.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank eschuetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon!”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I love kayaking and when I saw that you could kayak in the middle of Boston I knew I had to do it! The company was pretty well organized and the hourly rates were reasonable. You get a good view of the skyline and there is even an inlet to the Espanade.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peenkzeeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,195 reviews
526 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Great alternative way to see Boston!”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We rented a kayak -very reasonable price. Bit concerned as we were advised that a big storm was due within the hour but assumed that if we were allowed to rent the kayak it must be ok......in the event we cut short our paddle as a boat came out telling all those still on the water to get back to a safe place. Still, it was a great way to see Boston from the river and I would love to do it again when we return to Boston.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank moot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charles River Canoe & Kayak Cambridge at Kendall Square also viewed

 

Been to Charles River Canoe & Kayak Cambridge at Kendall Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing