We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home”
Review of Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My home away from home”
Reviewed 5 October 2010

It was the first time I stayed in this hotel, and I loved it. The location is perfect : a short 5 minutes walk from the subway, and from vibrant Harvard square. The hotel is also located next to the JFK gardens, it has two restaurants: an upmarket one, and a more casual one (Henrietta's table). I have been told by Bostonians that Henrietta's table serves one of the best Sunday brunchs in town. I had breakfast there on Sunday, and it was already quite busy for breakfast. (The waffle with the New England apple butter sauce is delicious: light and fresh! ) There is a Legal Seafood restaurant that you can access from the hotel's backyard. There is also a Legal Seafood terrace on the square in front of the hotel. There is a jazz bar too. So this is a nice, lively and comfortable hotel for business travellers (free wireless internet, quick check in and check out) and tourists., The service is efficient and friendly. My room was big, very comfortable, clean, quiet , with big windows overlookng the Hotel's square. The bathroom was big too, with a lot of room for storage like in the bedroom. I absolutely loved the fact that one can have access from the hotel's third floor- and for free - to the fitness center next to the hotel. You just need to show your hotel key and fill a very short form the first day. The fitness center has a swimming pool, and a good choice of cardio machines, and other machines. It opens at 6 AM. i will definitively return, and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BidaLokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    460
    151
    60
    48
See reviews for
504
255
110
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

The Charles placed us in a room above its Noir patio bar. As the night progressed, it became so loud (100+ people outside) that we couldn't sleep. When we called the front desk, the young lady attempted to get rid of me by telling me she would go to the bar and tell them to "hold it down." If I weren't so angry I would have laughed. We couldn't change rooms because our college students were out that night and wouldn't be able to find us. We gutted it out till the wee hours when the bar closed. Apparently, the hotel favors its bar patron's revenue over its guests.

4 large offensively smelling room service trays were left in the hallway all evening and into the night.

The Charles charged me for valet parking when it was included in my package. It took me two attempts, including a visit to the front desk, to have it removed from my bill.

When the valet service brought my (new) car around, it had two scratches on it that weren't there the night before. I was required to submit a written claims form and am awaiting the manager's call.

IT WAS A NIGHTMARE, WOULDN'T RETURN.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Columbus5683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

The Charles Hotel is a welcoming hotel with all of the luxury amenities you could want. THe room was clean, comfortable, well-appointed, and large. There were nice touches such as decorative hooks on the wall to hang your clothes which is nice as I don't like to let things drop on the floor in a hotel. Everything was perfect and I slept like a baby in the great bed. The Bose stereo/clock radio was especially nice to wake up to in the am.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank researcher45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I had heard good things about the hotel, but was dissapointed. The hotel overall was just outdated and the water pipes in my bathroom kept me up most of the night. Checking in at nigh the front desk wasn't very helpful or even available when I got there. The room was fine but nothing special, the TV didn't even have a guide and make sure you don't stay with a room facing the inner circle or one on the 3rd floor - lots of noise and bright lights.

Henrietta's Table had a good breakfast but I had to ask for water three times to some young girl who never checked how things were.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

The Charles is very well located for Harvard and our son is a student. To be closer to him we chose to book this hotel and we also wished to make it a special experience for the whole family. The hotel's exorbitant room prices and website built up our expectations for a first rate holiday. It could not have been more disappointing. The hotel's lack of service was shocking: there was no turn down service, food trays were left all day in the halls, free morning coffee (we were jet-lagged as came from overseas) was awful and usually had run out, no bathroom products were renewed without begging, the room was not vacuumed nor the bathroom floor cleaned. The list of disappointments actually goes on and on.

This is a hotel that also pretends to have great food. It is wholesome, abundant stuff, but absolutely nothing to write home about.

If a hotel wants to charge $400+/night ($700+ during graduations!!!!!!), it should aspire to make clients feel somewhat pampered or there is inevitable disappointment. In today's world, we all hope to experience some value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrowneyesOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

A luxurious but unassuming hotel with a huge fitness center, 3 restaurants and 2 bars. Also, something we have never seen: Mirror TV in your bathroom. Honest! It comes out of the mirror.

The place is lovely, comfortable, conveniently located and an excellent value for the price.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank devadasi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Excellent venue for meetings. Staff are very professional and exceptionally accommodating. Meeting rooms are spacious, clean and most have large windows for natural lighting. Overnight rooms are clean, good size with many overlooking the courtyard or Boston skyline... with TVs in the bathroom mirrors! Could not ask for better location - right in Harvard Square with plenty to do and see. On site restaurant, Henrietta's Table, has outstanding food and beverages. Our group dinner was held in private dining area; appetizers and entrees were exceptional. Definitely on my list for another meeting or just a weekend stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perkie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejstefan, Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2010
Thank you so much for sharing your Charles Hotel experience on Tripadvisor. We're thrilled to hear that you and the rest of your group enjoyed your stay at The Charles. We'll be sure to share your kind words with the entire staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles in the not-so-distant future.

Thank you again,
~Elizabeth Stefan
E-Marketing Manager
estefan@charleshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,940 reviews
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
500 reviews
Harvard Square Hotel
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,868 reviews
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Hotel

Property: Charles Hotel
Address: 1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Boston and a variety of world-class attractions, The Charles is a AAA Four Diamond Hotel and a proud member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts. Reflecting the eclecticism that is Cambridge, The Charles Hotel is a modern interpretation of New England hospitality with a thriving jazz club, the Regattabar, two signature restaurants, year-round farmers market, state of the art conference facilities, Corbu Spa & Salon, and a central location in the heart of Harvard Square. The Hotel is home to Henrietta’s Table, featuring “fresh and honest” home cooking, and Benedetto, inspired by the honesty and wisdom of traditional Italian regional cooking. Noir, the hotel’s chic, cozy bar, serves classic cocktails mixed to perfection and sultry signature drinks. Since its opening in 1985, The Regattabar has established itself as the leading jazz and world music club in Boston and the New England area. Corbu Spa & Salon is named after famed architect and designer, Le Corbusier and offers a harmonious escape from the stresses of urban life. A French influenced menu offers seasonal treatments with locally sourced ingredients. Open daily. Catering to internationally renowned business leaders, government officials, entertainment executives and leisure travelers alike, it’s no wonder that the New England Travel Guide has designated The Charles as the best hotel to “stay put in” when visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing