We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but avoid until construction in the area is complete”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice, but avoid until construction in the area is complete”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

It's 7 a.m. And I've just been awoken by the unique sound of pile drivers. It's a nice hotel, the usual Hampton with friendly staff, but if you like to sleep past 7, come back in a year or two. It's another Big Dig we have here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TioPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear TioPablo:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. I do apologize for the disturbance you experienced due to the nearby construction project. I can assure you this is temporary.

We hope you will visit with us again during future visits to the Boston/Cambridge area.

Sincerely,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    424
    150
    52
    22
See reviews for
415
211
71
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Dirty noisy and outdated. I wouldn't stay here again there are better options. There is also alot of construction going on around the hotel, noisy during day but ok at night. Also, this hotel doesn't have a store in the lobby so you have to leave to get any kind of snack

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Eric H:

We’re very sorry we didn’t provide you with the high quality of amenities you expected during your recent stay at our hotel. As you noted, there is currently construction occuring on a nearby site and we apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort this may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I usually stay at Hilton properties. Hampton is a good choice for quietness, good food and quality of rooms. This property is an exception to that rule-of-thumb. There is construction behind the hotel; which (literally) shakes the entire building starting at 7:00am. No mention was made of that when checking in. The shades will not cover the windows because the in-room HVAC systems blow the air directly into the curtains. The heating (in Boston's winter) will not go above 68 degrees. All of these are unacceptable for a Hampton property and should be remedied.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Lynn W:

We’re very sorry we didn’t provide you with the high quality of amenities and service you expected during your recent stay at our hotel. As you noted, there is currently a construction project nearby. This is not related to the hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort this may have caused you, however, they are operating with approval from the city. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.

Thank you,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flushing
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Shared a double queen with my two children for three nights and there was adequate room. Nice clean duvet covers, comfy bed, coffee maker, nice toiletries, great staff. All staff were so helpful whenever we needed information. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise - several hot dishes and an ample amount of cold cereals, fruit, juice, pastries. Coffee is available all day in the lobby. There are complimentary newspapers available. The Lechmere green line is down the block. Parking is free which is in common in Boston. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabrams13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear sabrams13:

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your recent visit to the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. We truly appreciate your feedback.

Comments such as yours are vital to our continued success. We look forward to being your hotel of choice in the Boston/Cambridge area.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I recently stayed for six nights at this Hampton Inn. Despite the shortage of parking in the area, garage parking is included with room rent. I was greeted as a Gold HHonors member at the desk, and even though I elect to receive bonus points, I was offered a bottle of water and snack at check-in. The room was always clean and roomy. The wireless internet worked well. The breakfast was always tasty with plenty of fruit, bread, and protein choices. If I had any complaint at all it would be the lack of refrigerator and microwave in the room, but I know those amenities vary between Hampton Inns. All in all, I will make a point of staying at this hotel again if I have to work again at MIT.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Michael D:

Thank you for your thorough review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and our complimentary amenities.

We look forward to being your host during your future travels to Boston/Cambridge.

Sincerely,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Standard Hampton hotel. The staff was nice and the room was typical Hampton. Good location and wasn't over priced. Within walking distance of bars and restaurants.. Tripadvisor wants me to use 200 characters so I am just going to type stuff now.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JonnyPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear JonnyPgh:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us during future visits to the area.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Be advised that if you book a room at this hotel and are charged a cancellation cost for cancelling the room within required time you will also be charged TAX for the unused room. The hotel can then rebook the room and pickup additional TAX revenue for the city of Cambridge.
I did not stay at the hotel so I cannot review it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Dave A:

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your canceled stay with us. I do apologize. However, we are required, by law, to submit taxes on all room revenue collected to the appropriate city and state agencies.

Sincerely,

Lisa O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,964 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.8 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
958 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge

Property: Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
Address: 191 Monsignor Obrien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141-1250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at our Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge hotel, just over the Charles River and just 1.2 Miles from downtown Boston, Government Center of Boston and Harvard Square. Our hotel is across the street from public transportation and near medical, technological, financial and educational institutions - a great location among Cambridge, Massachusetts hotels. Located on Route 28, providing direct access to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hampton Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing