We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access to T”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Easy access to T”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

1 block to green line makes for easy access to Boston attractions. Staff was very friendly. Complementary breakfast was good. Construction going on next door, but we were there for the weekend only so didn't experience any noise from that. Only complaint is that there is alot of noise while in the rooms - you can hear conversations in the hallways word for word . I would stay here again though as the price was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommyz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear mommyz6:

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. Our guests' feedback is important to us and we appreciate your taking the time to tell us your thoughts.

We look forward to welcoming you back during future visits to the Boston/Cambridge area.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    424
    150
    52
    22
See reviews for
416
211
71
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hampton Inn Cambrige, is an ideal hotel for a family,
Location; nearby Cambrige Galeria Mall, A few steps to T (First stop of Green Line - just few minutes to Downtown Boston),
Free indoor parking,
Helpful staff,
Thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atesk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear atesk2014:

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and we're happy to learn our location and amenities were perfect for your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back during future travels to the area.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This Hampton Inn is not a sparkling new like the ones that you see scattered along highways throughout America. It is dated, has smaller rooms without a fridge and a microwave, and the hotel does not have a pool. You cannot pamper yourself at this hotel.

But is does have all of the important Hampton Inn amenities, such as queen size beds, friendly service, complementary breakfast, internet and parking (which you will have to pay for at most city hotels).

My family (two kids, wife and I) spent four nights at this hotel and it adequately met our needs.
The best part of the hotel for us was that it is less than a five minute walk to Lechmere station on the Boston Transit (subway) system. You can walk to the station in less than 5 minutes and be anywhere in downtown Boston ten minutes after that (North Side, Financial District, China Town, etc) and within 30 minutes you can be at Fenway (Fine Art Museum, Symphony Hall, Fenway Park, etc). The transit system is not simple, but in a day and a half you will have it down. Transit in Boston is inexpensive and convenient, and you can buy at multi day Charlie Card which will give you unlimited rides on the subways and busses. There is also an indoor mall with restaurants within a five minute walk from the hotel on the other side of the station.
We parked our car at the hotel and happily never used it once in the four days we stayed in Boston.

One last thing you might want to know about Boston is that although it is very tourist friendly there are too few signs directing you to places you need to get at street level, and it can be hard to find subway stations. Make sure that you have a city map with not only street names and attractions, but the colour and especially the name of the subway stations on it as well. This type of map is hard to find, but the hotel had the only ones we could find, in the back of a Boston travel guide.

When one considers the cost of staying in Boston proper, dollar for dollar I found that this hotel was fine, as long as you are not expecting it to be one of the newer Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheRoadFromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear OnTheRoadFromTO:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. We're happy to hear you were pleased with our location and our complimentary amenities. Our hotel is recently renovated and we do have a limited number of refrigerators available on a first-come, first-serve basis; however , they are not in all of our guest rooms.

We hope you will stay with us during future travels to the Cambridge area.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Great location near green line. People here are good too. I have stayed here before and it was ok.
Hotel has nice lobby, rooms are basic ( little too dark for me)

Terrible View from room on huge construction. But pretty quiet can't really hear what's going on outside.

For Hampton inn price was little too high.
I will be coming back here :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Veronica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Veronica D:

Thank you for staying with us again during your recent visit to the Boston/Cambridge area. We appreciate your feedback and we're happy to learn our hotel is in a great location for your travel needs.

We look forward to seeing you on return trips to the area.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

1 block walk to Green Line station. Taxis also came quickly. Area restaurants limited to sandwich and pizza shops. Nothing fancy in neighborhood, but felt safe walking the streets. I wanted something close to Italian district, but not in it. With Green Line, just one stop away and a nice casual stroll to/from Italian restaurants. A good walk compliments a great meal in Boston's North End. Also same stop for Italian district gets you to walking distance to Boston Gardens. Actually with Green Line and a couple connections (another line to Boston Airport and board a plane) you can get to anywhere in the world from this Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for opposite of street side, unless you wake easily when the construction crew on new 10 story b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianh747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear brianh747:

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. We're happy to hear our location was perfect for your visits to Boston's North End. It's one of our favorite spots as well! We also have some wonderful restaurants to suit any pallette and wallet within just minutes of our front door.

Next time you're here, ask one of our guest service representatives for their favorites! We're sure you will enjoy.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel is well situated (near Lechmere station/Green line). Very easy to access from the north. The parking is included so we park our car and we used the T to visit. The room was clean and quiet. The water pressure in the shower was low (6th floor), a telephone style shower head would work better in that situation but other than that it was very good! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nancou2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Nancou2014:

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. Your feedback is important to us and we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you on return visits to the area

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at the Hampton Inn last week-end. Following directions from your GPS to find the hotel is very confusing. You’d better follow the directions from the Cambridge Hampton Inn official site. Inside parking is insufficient for the number of rooms, and they are very narrow spaces. If you’ve got a new car, or if you don’t want other drivers to scratch your car when opening their door, don’t park inside (though there’s not much space outside either). Oh yes, some drivers won’t even be able to get out of their car (columns/wall on the side)

That said, hotel is conveniently situated near the T station and mall; room is clean and quiet (except for the A/C of course) and reception helpful. But room and bathroom really need some renovation. While laying down on the bed, noticed room’s ceiling is chipped (at first thought it was some spider’s web….)

In the future, would prefer a hotel in South Boston proper for about the same price : we know of one hotel (had stayed over there once) who has got outside free parking which is much more convenient as more space, and offers free breakfast too. Only a little bit further from T station, around 8 mins but walkable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vel0mane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Vel0Mane:

Thank you for your review of your visit to the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. We're sorry to hear our room/bath decor were not to your liking and our complimentary parking garage was difficult for you to maneuver. While our garage may appear small, we do have ample space for each of our guest rooms to park a vehicle and accommodate all vehicles 6'7" and under. We appreciate your time and feedback.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.8 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
958 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge

Property: Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
Address: 191 Monsignor Obrien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141-1250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at our Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge hotel, just over the Charles River and just 1.2 Miles from downtown Boston, Government Center of Boston and Harvard Square. Our hotel is across the street from public transportation and near medical, technological, financial and educational institutions - a great location among Cambridge, Massachusetts hotels. Located on Route 28, providing direct access to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hampton Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing