We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy access to Boston and MIT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
seattle
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Easy access to Boston and MIT”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Kimpton has become my hotel chain of choice almost everywhere I travel in the US. My first stay at the Marlowe reconfirmed once again my preference. Great location for business in Boston, easy access to the Mass Pike via Memorial Drive. Comfortable, clean room--very quiet on inside courtyard view.

Room Tip: Rooms with courtyard view are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruceww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly Z, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear bruceww,

Can I tell you, Kimpton Nation is honored to have such a happy and loyal guest! Thank you for giving us the opportunity to impress. We can't wait to see you again (where ever you go)!


Happy Travels,
Kimberly Zalanskas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,332
    425
    86
    27
    15
See reviews for
481
595
97
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrenshall, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed at the Marlowe for 2 nights during a recent vacation/conference trip to Boston. I recently discovered Kimpton hotels and really appreciate their quirkiness, sense of humor and attention to customer service. We had a delightful stay, staff was efficient and friendly & the room was very comfortable. This hotel is located close to the Lechmere T station, so getting into and around Boston is very convenient. One of the coolest things about the Marlowe is they have complimentary bikes and kayaks for the use of their guests. My son and I went kayaking on the Charles river one morning - a totally unexpected treat for an urban vacation. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank So Many Places, So Little Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear So Many Places, So Little Time,

Quirky is our middle name! :)

It's always fun to be a little different from the pack and we're so happy that you noticed. We're also glad that you've decided to become a part of the Kimpton family. We can't wait to see you around the rest of the country! I can't guarantee that all of them will offer those awesome kayaks, but I'm sure they'll have something... Unexpected (in a good way :)).


Safe Travels,
Kimberly Zalanskas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
386 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Quality hotel of the Kimpton family of hotels. As expected, top notch service, rooms, and staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GL726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear GL726,

Short, sweet and to the point. I like it! Can't wait to see you again!



All the best,
Kimberly Zalanskas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Everything was excellent. I was perfectly fine with paying more than $200 to stay for just one night because I noticed that the hotel was worth it from reading reviews and looking at pictures. I told myself that I would recommend it to just anyone looking for a place to stay around the Cambridge area. This was true until I checked my bank statement the same day I checked out and realized that I was being charged an amount that I wasn't recognizing. I called in and spoke to Chris, not sure if that's the correct spelling of his name. He told me that I was being charged for using the mini-bar (a drawer that says "treat yourself"). I told him that I never knew that I would be charged for it, and that if that was so then I would've never touched it. He even told me that the drawer itself had a menu on top stating the prices. I promise you that this wasn't the case for me. Then he stated that somewhere in the room, there was a menu. But how are we customers supposed to see this unless we are directed to it? No where in the drawer did it say that I was going to be charged for it or that there was even a menu with the prices in the room. Bottom line is that I thought everything was going to be "free" taking into account that I was paying a very high price for a simple night stay. So I utilized a bunch of stuff thinking that it was complimentary.

Also the service isn't all that great. I checked out 3 days ago, and my credit card shows every single transaction as If I was already charged. However, when I call in they aren't capable of telling me what I am being charged for, etc. They keep telling me to call a few hours later, as if I have nothing to do all day. It's driving me crazy.

My honest opinion: If you want a nice room with friendly staff and great room service then pick this hotel. If you want to avoid having to call for being charged wrong amount, etc., then simply keep looking.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal P, Hotel Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear vivi f,

I appreciate your great comments about the staff (for the most part) and your overall experience. I am, however, sorry for the hassle you had to go through with your credit card charges.

We do in fact charge for the minibar items - as you were told, the price list should have been on top of the minibar as well as it should have been on the red board that hangs in the entrance of the room. It sounds like both price lists were missing. I will follow up with the team to make sure the lists are always present on the minibar and on the board so that situations such as this do not happen again.

I will also follow up with the team regarding the not being able to tell you what the charges were and to call back later...not cool!

Thank you for sharing your experience,
Michal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

All in all it was a great trip but my frequent hotel in Boston was sold out for the week so I booked in at the Marlowe in Cambridge. I gave it a 4 because of its location.

First of all if you are like me I take the subway all around Boston most of the time. The closest T from the Marlowe was about a 7-8 minute walk to go back into downtown and If you wanted to go to Harvard or further north it was a good 20 minute walk from the hotel.

There is a shopping mall connected to the hotel. It has all kinds of great stores. It also has a California Pizza Kitchen and a Cheesecake Factory. Other than the mall there wasn't a whole lot that a young couple were interested in doing in close walking distance from the hotel.

The bed in the room was very comfortable, the room was kept up and I didn't see any signs of neglect or problems with the walls, plumbing, dirty carpet, etc. Very clean and comfy.

Also with Kimpton there is wine hour from 5-6. This is usually very festive and a lot of people show up. The few days we were there for wine hour not to many people showed up and the woman pouring the wine was very rude.

I spent majority of my time in the North End, Fenway, or Back Bay. There is just not a lot to do in Cambridge. I will not stay at this hotel again just because of its location. This was my 4th time to Boston and the first time I've stayed out of the city. Never again though.

Room Tip: Stay in a high floor and use cabs and the T to get around to downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BayouGuy4036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear BayouGuy4036,

Thanks for trying us out. Sorry the location wasn't quite what you were hoping for, but we're glad to know that you made your way around OK.

Maybe next time you can try out our other Boston locations by North Station or Downtown Crossing.


Happy Travels,
Kimberly Zalanskas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This hotel wasn't bad overall. When I travel, I like to stay in really modern and renovated hotels, however the prices in Boston are exorbitant so my friend and I settled on the Kimpton Marlowe because it was best value for 200$ a night.

The good points: mattress was comfortable, staff was friendly, free glass of wine in the evening, relatively cheap parking in the basement (20$ a night), close to Boston, pretty good value for the money.

Wasn't so crazy about: the decor- it was a bit tacky and outdated. Not as nice as the professional photos on the website. Although the room was fairly clean, my headboard was stained (and clearly couldn't be removed) and my friend found a bit dust on the pillow. The bathroom was clean but kind of outdated as well. What really bothered me about the room is that the windows didn't open, not even a bit. There was a smell in the room that couldn't be removed as a result. It just didn't feel "fresh" in the halls. Also, we asked for a room with two queen beds but got stuck on a floor that allowed pets. Book way in advance to prevent this happening to you (although the sound proofing was actually not bad).

I think if I were to return to Boston I would stay at another hotel as there are many modern, well rated hotels in the city (albeit for at least 50-75$ more a night).

Room Tip: you have to pay extra to get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eclipze006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear eclipze006,

I'm sorry there were parts of your stay that weren't to your satisfaction, but thank you for seeing the silver lining in regards to the mattress, staff and complimentary wine.

We have two other Kimpton locations in Boston, both of which are located in downtown. Maybe next time you could give one of those a chance. :)


All the best,
Kimberly Zalanskas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I am a fan of Kimpton hotels. Hotel Marlowe in Cambridge is an exception. From the configuration of the building (most of the rooms face a small courtyard) to poor sound insulation (did we leave a radio on?- no that is the tv from the room next door) to the worst scrambled eggs in a buffet that I have ever experienced, this is not a very good hotel. Yes the staff tries hard to be friendly, the lobby is attractive and the shower head good- but there are many better choices in the Boston-Cambridge area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face the courtyard- good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdcCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal P, Hotel Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Wow! I'm so sorry you are not a fan of ours! It's great to hear you love Kimptons but not so great you don't love us...

You are correct in that some of our rooms face the courtyard and when we are fully booked, it is tough to give our guests complimentary upgrades to our view rooms. We try our best though, I promise!

I will share your egg comment with our Restaurant GM, not sure what happened there but he will definitely look in to it.

I hope you choose to return to us so we can prove to you that we are better than what you describe.

Sincerely,
Michal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Marlowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Marlowe Hotel

Property: Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Address: 25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141-2236
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Marlowe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderfully eclectic and luxurious Kimpton Marlowe Hotel is perfectly situated minutes from Harvard Square and the MIT campus in Cambridge. The waterfront location offers guestroom views of the park-lined Charles River and Boston skyline. This unique boutique hotel further sets itself apart with unsurpassed service, superb amenities and educational and cultural programs. It celebrates and reflects the vibrant sense of discovery that is quintessential Cambridge. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Marlowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlowe Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing