We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Just spent a few days in Cambridge/Boston and stayed at the Marlowe. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Very clean and nicely decorated. The comforter was divine, however, I found the bed to be rather too soft for my preference (down bed topper) and it sort of felt like it sloped to one side. Perhaps everyone slept on the same side and thus it became lopsided?

The hotel is advertised as pet-friendly. Thankfully, for people with allergies, they have non-pet rooms (people with pets stay on one level).

Location was fairly convenient. Just a short walk to where our course was given on the Boston side. Beside the hotel, there is a shopping mall with restaurants. Nearest metro station was about 10min walk.

We didn't have free wifi (because we had booked through a hotel-booking site). Staff informed us we could either use their business centre or register for their rewards program and then get free wifi. Unfortunately, there was a glitch and we were unable to after all. I think that was the only inconvenience. Most hotels offer free wifi for ALL guests (at minimum in the lobby) to allow you to use your own device, regardless which website you use to reserve rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalgal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thanks for the review! Regarding our WIFI, it is free for all Kimpton InTouch members (no cost to join) regardless of how you book the room. You just need your email address to sign in and it works in the lobby and guest rooms!

Thanks again!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,311
    421
    85
    27
    15
See reviews for
476
588
97
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Marlowe in Cambridge. It is a very nice place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone traveling to the Boston area. The rooms were nice, clean. The bathrooms were a little on the small side which made it tight if you are in a hurry and trying to share a sink. Staff was OUTSTANDING. We were looking for a restaurant and they made several recommendations including Abigail's in Cambridge and some fine Italian restaurants and bakeries in the North End. Tried to get through to one restaurant for us for over 30 min. I accidentally left my phone charger at home and they loaned one to me. Free coffee in the morning. Free wine happy hour in the late afternoon. The Cambridge Galleria Mall is next door. A few nice non-chain restaurants a 10-15 minute walk. Close to MIT and Harvard. Cab stand outside. Did a mention the outstanding staff?? We don't have a dog but it is also dog friendly.

Green Features: They make efforts to be environmentally friendly which I appreciate.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AC585ROC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
The staff was outstanding? Thanks for mentioning (and mentioning again :-) )!!! That's what we pride ourselves on....can't wait to have you back!

Thanks,

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Love this place, our third stay, this time with extended family in adjoining suites for a weekend night. From booking, to checkin to checkout, everything went without a hitch. The complimentary happy hour was a pleasant treat, and if you join their rewards program you'll get free wifi. Joe and his staff were friendly and helpful before, during and after our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveMHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thanks! I am very proud of the team here at the Marlowe and Bambara, they do a great job!

Thanks,

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel is located in Cambridge a little bit outside of Boston. However, the Mall next door and the restaurant are very convenient. The city centre of Boston is only a short cab ride away.
The rooms are spacious and the colours are very warm and welcoming.
The service was at the expected level! Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Woo hoo! Another happy guest!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

While on the green line Lechmere stop, I felt it was REALLY inconvenient if you wanted to go to Harvard Sq/Univ by public transport. The staff are super friendly and the rooms are stunning, but the location left much to be desired

Room Tip: The handicapped room is MUCH larger, though you don't get a tub -- just a shower stall. Asked to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBuginNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thanks for that feedback. It's about a 15 minute walk or 5 minute cab ride over to the Kendall Station on the Red Line which takes you right into Harvard Square, but I understand how that can be inconvenient at times. Thanks for taking the time share your experience!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsford, NY
Level Contributor
73 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Two nights and everything was great. Join the Klimpton club and they'll give you $10 worth the mini bar and $ off next time you stay.

The hotel is decorated as if it was by one of the lighting places in New Orleans but it's okay. Modern kitsch and it's done fairly tastefully. The rooms are quite large, the concierge and doorman are exceptionally friendly. The bar downstairs is good, okay as a restaurant, nothing to write home about. But for the value in Boston and as a great location (close to MIT and Harvard and a few minutes from downtown), it's superb. Beautiful views of the river for an extra $35 a night. Asked my wife what she thought and she said next time, just take one of the less expensive rooms on the inside of the hotel. After all, how much time do you spend looking outside.

Needless to say, I would highly recommend it. Less expensive than the Royal Sonesta next door and appointed equally well. The featherbed was wonderful! You're not next to any Irish pubs or Italian restaurants here but it's within walking distance to Abigail's which was actually a highlight of our trip for its food and oysters. Check it out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
When you join Kimpton InTouch, you get to choose how you want to spend the $10 credit, in the mini bar OR at the actual Bar itself. How cool is that??

Thanks for the kind words!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Marlowe. The hotel is beautifully decorated, the staff was very friendly and gave great recommendations and the complimentary daily wine happy hour was terrific! The Hotel Marlowe offers complimentary wifi and has a fantastic gym that's open 24 hours! The rooms have fluffy towels and robes for your convenience too!

If I were forced to come up with a complaint (or two) it would be this: the bed was a little lumpy which made it slightly not as comfortable as other hotels I've stayed at. You could visibly see two wells on either side and a "hump" in the middle. Also, the in-room safe is too small for a laptop.

Overall the Marlowe is great (get a "view" room if you can!) - I'd definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: ask for a "view" room. try to get a city or river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soixante17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
The view rooms are definitely worth the little extra, some of my favorite views of the Boston skyline! Thanks for the great feedback, hope to have you again soon!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,265 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Marlowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Marlowe Hotel

Property: Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Address: 25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141-2236
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Marlowe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderfully eclectic and luxurious Kimpton Marlowe Hotel is perfectly situated minutes from Harvard Square and the MIT campus in Cambridge. The waterfront location offers guestroom views of the park-lined Charles River and Boston skyline. This unique boutique hotel further sets itself apart with unsurpassed service, superb amenities and educational and cultural programs. It celebrates and reflects the vibrant sense of discovery that is quintessential Cambridge. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Marlowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlowe Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing