We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous as always!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Marlowe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous as always!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Hotel Marlowe consistently goes above and beyond to make their guests feel comfortable and special. My husband and I stay in this hotel exclusively when we go to Boston and always take our Boston Terrier, Lucy. The wine hour is not to be missed and we have enjoyed breakfast, lunch, and dinner at Bambara. The Marlowe is full of special surprises for their guests!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view have a gorgeous view of the Charles River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly61308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarloweGM, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
I LOVE Lucy! (Sorry couldn't resist...) But seriously, thank you much for staying with us and we look forward to having you back!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,293
    417
    85
    27
    15
See reviews for
466
583
96
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I love Kimptons, especially since they make it easy to travel with dogs. I’ve stayed at the Hotel Marlowe a number of times, and always had a good experience. The rooms are nice and large, and the Marlowe is right next to a shopping mall if you discover you need anything. Very convenient if you need to get to MIT, the biotechs or anything else in the Kendall Square area, but not the best choice if you’re going to be heading to Harvard Square.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
And we love you right back! Thanks for the great review!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I've stayed at the Marlowe several times this month. It is a good, clean hotel for business purposes. Plus side - the beds are super. Minus - a few light bulbs were non-functional in each room. Housekeeping was good, not fabulous. They forgot to replace the towels and shampoo one day. I was surprised by a $100 per night difference between my stays. One trip I paid $150 per night, the prior week, the rate was $250 night for the same room.

Room Tip: inside rooms look over the parking courtyard with a bit of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GAFSPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks for continuing to stay with us throughout the month, I appreciate it. I will personally look into the things you mention about housekeeping and make sure they are corrected.

Thanks!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I had researched this Hotel on tripadvisor and others and perfectly understand why it receives such great reviews.

There is a great friendly atmosphere throughout the Hotel, all of the staff are excellent and nothing was ever too much. This was my first ever stay at a Kimpton Hotel and I would have no hesitation in using the 'chain' again in the future for either a business or a personal stay.

Do join the Kimpton "InTouch" membership to obtain free WiFi, a membership scheme that rewards you for more stays and a number of other perks / advantages.

I particularly liked receiving an e-mail a few days before my stay asking if I wanted a particular photo in my room - sure enough it was there waiting for me when I arrived, which I though was a great touch.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Boston have a fantastic view - worth asking at check-in to see if one is available for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ForestFan1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hard to argue with perfection :-)

Thanks!

Joe Capalbo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Love, love, love this quaint hotel! From the moment I step out of my vehicle
(valet parked!) you are treated like a friend! The well placed lobby fire place welcomes you, draws you in to sit and relax both mind and body.. SO cozy! I am always charmed by your funky rooms decorated to dazzle with super plush velvet headboards and those comfy fur throws! I sleep like a baby on those silky Frette sheets!!! Want to take home one of the fun thick terry robes someday.. the Leopard style please!

While my trips are always pure pleasure I would very much recommend that business travelers hop on over to experience this Chic little find! Convenient to all attractions there is also great shopping right next door! Don't forget to bring your pets! The Marlowe caters to your fur babies too! Treats and fresh water are always ready!

Room Tip: I loved my last room 617, I was given it as a free upgrade! Gorgeous view of the river and the Zakim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
WOW, thank you, thank you, thank you!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at our first Kimpton property a little more than four years ago, the Hotel Marlowe, and have been hooked ever since. We were lucky enough to return for a second time and it was just as enjoyable. We chose the self parking for $20 a night that is accessible through the hotel (this is cheap for the Boston area). We arrived early and were upgraded to a king room overlooking the Charles River. The rooms are very decent in size for two people with fun, eclectic decor (don't forget to don your animal print robes!). Bathrooms are small, but clean and organized with great water pressure. Every night Kimptons host a complementary wine hour in their living room from 5-6 and Marlowe also provided some light snacks. Hotel is in a nice location - 5 minute walk to the Lechmere T stop, next to a mall if you need anything, and a nice 15-20 minute walk toward Kendall/MIT area for some local restaurants and pubs. The best thing about Hotel Marlowe is the staff! You can not say enough about their friendliness and care for every hotel guest. Every employee greets you as you walk through the door, asks how your day is going, offers up assistance, and acknowledges you as you walk past. Thankfully we have the opportunity to stay in another Kimpton property in December.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank slp2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
We pride ourselves on great service, so thanks for pointing that out!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay at the hotel Marlowe. The service started even before I arrived with a call to the concierge asking about transportation issues. She was extraordinarily helpful and friendly. We did not have our dogs with us, but there are little four-legged and some big four-legged friends coming and going. It has a wonderful atmosphere but is not intrusive. I did not hear one bark the entire time. The rooms are extremely well done, and the beds very comfortable. It felt very high-end, but we did not pay a high-end, snooty price. Every day they offer wine at happy hour for free in the lobby. I highly recommend signing up for the Kimpton hotel loyalty plan, which gave me free Wi-Fi, and a complementary paper in the morning. The Cambridge Galleria Mall is connected via a series of doors to the hotel itself. This is a bonus if you want to do some quick shopping or grab a quick bite and it is as frigid as it was the weekend that we were there. Otherwise, it is a 20 minute walk to the Boston Garden to watch the Celtics play, and about half of that to the Museum of science. MIT is another 20 minute walk in the other direction. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful, without the usual off – shift grumps you can find it anyplace. Anytime I'm in Boston, I will come back here first.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DaveWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for the kind words, I think we are pretty cool as well. The InTouch program is definitely a must even if just for the free Wifi, but there are alot of other cool perks too!

Thanks!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Marlowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Marlowe Hotel

Property: Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Address: 25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141-2236
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Marlowe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderfully eclectic and luxurious Kimpton Marlowe Hotel is perfectly situated minutes from Harvard Square and the MIT campus in Cambridge. The waterfront location offers guestroom views of the park-lined Charles River and Boston skyline. This unique boutique hotel further sets itself apart with unsurpassed service, superb amenities and educational and cultural programs. It celebrates and reflects the vibrant sense of discovery that is quintessential Cambridge. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kimpton Marlowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlowe Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing