We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Year's Eve Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great New Year's Eve Stay”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I am late in writing this review but I can't say enough how awesome the Hotel Marlowe way.

I stayed at Hotel Marlowe for New Year's Eve 2014. This was a last minute stay to extend my inner circle status for 2014 but I couldn't have had better service or a nicer staff. The booking process was easy and a last minute deal made it really affordable for New Year's Eve so off from New York City we went.

At check in I we were greeted nicely and told by the front desk that we had been upgraded to the Presidential Suite. The hotel had heard about a rough year I had personally so they wanted to take extra special care of me. I've been to many Kimpton properties 10+ but I've never received an upgrade like this, the room was amazing. It was huge and had everything you could want. The views of the river were fantastic. I had a pet goldfish Emeril Lagasse already set up in my room. I went out for a bit and was welcomed back with an amazing welcome amenity and 2 cards from the staff of the hotel. I've never felt more appreciated as a guest of the hotel. For New Year's Eve we went to dinner at Bambara the food was very good. We could also see both Boston fireworks shows from our room.

As for the neighborhood the hotel is in itself it is outside Boston in Cambridge so it isn't in the most active area. It is connected to a mall which you can get to through a shared parking garage which is good for when it is cold. The mall also offers a shuttle to the T which comes in handy to get around the Boston area. We were able to explore around without driving which was nice. I would recommend Hotel Marlowe to anyone who is looking for a place to stay in the Boston Area.

Thank you again to all your awesome staff for a great stay.

Room Tip: A high floor will give you the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodyKitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Reviews like this one make me smile from ear to ear and so proud, thank you for sharing! I am glad that we were able to take extra special care of you and I appreciate all the kind words about the hotel and staff! You even got upgraded to our Presidential (something that doesn't happen very often, so I am so happy you got to experience it!)

Thanks again!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,374
    433
    88
    27
    16
See reviews for
498
617
97
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, DE
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We came up for job interviews in February, and had nothing but an amazing experience! Not only were we greeted with the best front desk staff but they went above and beyond their duties to make our stay great. We had forgotten a few things for the interviews and the hotel staff helped us get exactly what we needed & even sent up some "Brain Food" to our room for good luck! It must have worked, because we landed the jobs and we are moving to the Boston area! Another highly recommend Kimpton Hotel!

Room Tip: Join the In Touch program to ensure your best stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Congrats on the job, that's awesome! Welcome to the neighborhood!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Our stay was great, not only was our room beautiful, we had a goldfish there to great us! There for my friends birthday, we couldn't have asked for anything more. Valet was great and quick, Front Desk staff were all lovely. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you so much! I am thrilled you had such a great time and we can't wait to have you back.

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

this was my first stay with a kimpton hotel I always wanted to stay at one of their hotels,I was at the one in cambridge ma.the hotel is accessible from the galleria mall,which have retail stores and three sit down restaraunts and a food court.the hotel is clean I felt welcomed and the room I had was spacious and clean,nice linens and king bed flat screen and robes and info on boston.

Room Tip: i was on the third floor in the middle and you can hear the person above you turning on the shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjones2Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hopefully the first of many! Thank you so much!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Great stay at the Hotel Marlow. Beautiful facility, very nice and helpful front desk, tasteful room, nice furnishings and toiletries, fun mini-bar, efficient (but small) work-out room, great bed and linens...

Two small nits prevented me from rating this a five - star.
- On my first evening, I had to wait a long time for a cab -- over 10 minutes. I think its the bell-persons job to have the kind of relationships with cab companies that keep them available for the guests
- Front desk noted my special preference for bottled water, but none ever appeared. Why mention it if you don't intend to deliver?

Room Tip: not all rooms face the exterior, some face an internal courtyard...its not ugly, but its not really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks for sharing especially about the cabs and the missed preferences. I will personally address those. The water is easier to fix, the cab drivers sometimes have a mind of their own and try as we might it's hard to get them here, especially in bad weather, but your point is noted.

Thanks again!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This was a return visit for us and it won't be our last. We don't get to sneak away from our business very much so when we do it's important that it's right.

The rooms with a king bed have a unique and comfortable style. The linens, the towels, the bath amenities are top notch. There's a large flat screen TV in the room, free WIFI, and amazing floor to ceiling windows. I own my own inn in CT so I do pay attention to these things. Everything was spotless.

We travel with our dogs and for a city hotel the location is perfect. We just go out the front do and a few steps away is a nice green park and walkway along the river. The staff always greets the dogs like I would and they provide dog biscuits at the door and dog beds in the room.

Speaking of the staff - amazing. Professional. Kind, Courteous. Helpful. From checkin to to check. One cool perk is the rewards program. When we checked in we were invited to raid the mini bar. It was a $10 voucher to have whatever we wanted from the minibar - or you could us it in the hotel bar. Very cool. The large bottle of water came in handy over night.

Love the Hotel Marlowe and love the Kimpton brand. We'll seek them out in other cities when we get away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
"It really doesn't get better"...that's how we feel too. Thanks for sharing your experience, and as a inn owner yourself, you know the importance of good service, a clean hotel, and a comfortable stay so thank you for pointing that out. We hope to have you back!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my 30th and loved it!! The staff was super friendly and personable. When we checked in we had missed the evening wine service so they offered us a voucher for a glass at the restaurant. It's all about the little things!

They were able to give us a room with a view, and even though we were extremely close to the elevator I was never bothered by the noise. The decor was awesome, there was a phone in the bathroom!, the hair dryer was of "normal" strength, there was a very nice cosmetic mirror, an alarm clock with docking station, bathrobes, mini bar (at cost), and they even recycle! Loved everything about it!!

This is a great option if you're visiting Boston and looking for a reasonable room rate. Hotel is connected to a mall with various dining options and is convenient to public transportation, depending on the weather you'd even be able to walk to many area attractions.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kmh2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
I am so happy you got to spend a milestone event with us, happy birthday again! Thanks for pointing out how great your stay was from start to finish! I hope to have you back with us again to celebrate #31....

Thanks!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
856 reviews
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
944 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,652 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Marlowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Marlowe Hotel

Property: Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Address: 25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141-2236
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Marlowe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderfully eclectic and luxurious Kimpton Marlowe Hotel is perfectly situated minutes from Harvard Square and the MIT campus in Cambridge. The waterfront location offers guestroom views of the park-lined Charles River and Boston skyline. This unique boutique hotel further sets itself apart with unsurpassed service, superb amenities and educational and cultural programs. It celebrates and reflects the vibrant sense of discovery that is quintessential Cambridge. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Marlowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlowe Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing