We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marlowe was Spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Holliston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Marlowe was Spectacular”
Reviewed 25 February 2009

So, I pull into the circular driveway after a long drive in foul weather, and I am met at the front by the doorman with a heartfelt welcome and directions to the front desk. At thr front desk, I was greeted by Emilie, who, again, was warm and welcoming (see the pattern developing??) She took care of a slightly complicated reservation, and I was on my way to the room in minutes, after a complete explanation of the amenities of the hotel and the surrounding location.
The room. It was exactly as requested. Free internet (pay attention, big fancy chains) a large flat screen TV, an Ipod docking station, and a gigantic window overlooking the courtyard. The shower was hot, the towels fluffy, and the beding was top notch. It was a shame I had to leave the room at all.
Did not order room service, but did walk next door to the mall for a meal. Brief walk through the parking garage and into the Galleria Mall..something for everyone.

At checkout, I did not have some required paperwork, but was able to resolve it with the help of Justin and Keith at the Concierge desk. No eye rolls or big sighs like what is common at other hotels when you ask for something~~ everyone at the Marlowe is truly interested in making sure your stay is what you need it to be, and will go to any length necessary to make it happen.

Will stay here again as soon as the opportunity presents itself, and will definitely look at other kimpton properties when traveling elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2009
Dear Chiefy,
Thank you for your review of the Hotel Marlowe! I can see you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad you found the room comfortable and that the staff made you feel at home. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to Emilie, Keith, and Justin. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,308
    420
    85
    27
    15
See reviews for
475
585
97
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

Excellent hotel, great condition, close to downtown Boston, pleasant staff, always has cabs available, hard to find something negaive to say. Rooms were spacious and well furnished, free wifi Internet, room service was fast (20 minutes) and good, no bililng errors on departure, I will defintely book here again. Try easyclicktravel for rates on this hotel.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traveltoomuchToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2009
Dear guest,
I want to thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Hotel Marlowe. I'm glad to see you enjoyed the amenities we offer, and we certainly hope you'll choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2009

We loved the room and especially loved the view of the city of Boston from the top floor(8th) of this hotel as we were right next to the Charles River. The room is very spacious and well designed. The only problem that I had was with the front desk and their "Default" hotel policy regarding incidentals. They charge almost the full price of the room, just in case you decide to use the Mini-bar. They have a business center, but the computers are not reliable as they give you the option of using a MAC or Windows with the first 15 min free, but they will charge you $20 as soon as you swipe your card, which you have to do to activate the system. The internet is really slow and not reliable in the room, I think that is why it is free. The front desk will tell you that the "hold" on your card will go away as soon as your bank releases it, but I talked with my bank and the hold is determined by when the hotel processes their credit card transactions, not the banks. With those issues aside, I would stay there again because the overall experience was amazing!

  • Liked — The Room
  • Disliked — Front Desk
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bostonma24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

This was my first trip to Boston and I need a place to stay in Cambridge. I had no trouble arriving since I took the subway and it was a short walk.

The front desk had trouble charging me card but I told the person that I had only the total amount (I was staying for 2 nights) and will not be using any services which the deposit is for. The manager took care of it and checked me in. The room was absolutely beautiful but I didn't care for the leopard print. The mall is right next to it so that was convenience for me and they had a business center that I used to check in for my flight.

A week later, I did a survey and the hotel manager got it and credit me back for something in the bar. I brought some water but was overcharged. It wasn't a big deal and I didn't mind paying for it but he saw the mistake and took care of it for me.

Excellent Service!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cindel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2009
Dear cindel25,
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hotel Marlowe. I'm happy to see that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the room comfortable and the location convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

My boyfriend and I decided to go to Boston for New Year's and we stayed at the Hotel Marlowe from 12/30 to 1/4. We had read all the great reviews and the price was right so we decided to give the hotel a chance. We took the Chinatown bus to Boston and the ride took about 5 1/2 hours. The bus dropped us off at South Station and from there we took a short cab ride to the hotel. When we stepped into the hotel, it looked beautiful. The colors were really warm and rich. The people working the front desk were really nice and check-in was fast.

We got a room on the 5th floor. The room was very nicely laid out and the whole animal print thing wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be. The room was big and there was a lot of room to move around. There was a large flat screen tv and two cushiony chairs as well as a writing desk with chair. The mini bar is under lock and key (I mean they give you a key to unlock it if you want something) which is a good thing if you have small kids who might help themselves to a little something when you're not looking.

The bathroom was also very nicely laid out and there was a good amount of counter space to put your toiletries. The shower was a tub/shower combo. The toiletries were high end L'Occitane shampoo, conditioner and body lotions. The closet was also nice. Overall, the room was great but it could have been just a little better. For example, there could have been more of a dresser to put your clothes in. There were 2 or 3 drawers as part of the tv stand but an actual dresser would have been better so that I didn't have to live out of my duffle bag. It was managable though.

Also, we're both not sure what was going on but the hotel needs to do something about providing hot water. It was COLD when we were in Boston and whenever we wanted to take a hotl shower (be it in the morning or at night) the water would be ice cold no matter how long you let it run. At times we were forced to take ice cold showers only to have the water finally turn hot for about 5 minutes before turning cold again. Maybe it was the cold outside that froze the pipes or something but we have to admit, that wasn't very comfortable.

The hotel staff was amazing though and everyone was helpful and always nice. We can't commend the employees enough.

The hotel is close to the T (green line) which made our treks into Boston very managable and is also within walking distance to the Museum of Science which was pretty fun. The hotel is attached to the Galleria Mall and guess what - you don't even have to leave the hotel to get to the mall! There is an underground entrance! It was pretty cool and allowed us to leave our coats in the room and just head to the mall. Oh and free coffee and tea in the mornings in the hotel lobby!

We didn't eat out often. Instead the front desk gave us some menus and we ordered in. The Upper Crust pizza was the best pizza we had during our stay. In fact, of all our trips outside of NY, they had the best pizza. We also had Chinese food one night but I forgot the name of the place - the food was pretty good though. On our last night we went out and got some Thai food from a nearby restaurant - The Similans. The food was really good and we recommend it.

Other than that, the hotel really is dog friendly. We saw many cute dogs during our stay. The Hotel Marlowe is a great hotel and if you're thinking of going to Boston, we would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay. Great location and great staff.

P.S. - my boyfriend proposed to me on New Year's Day at the hotel so now he's my fiance! :D

  • Liked — The large room and friendly staff; proximity to the train
  • Disliked — Cold showers, not enough storage space
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BlooBunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, FL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Marlowe for two days and absolutely loved it. January is not exactly the ideal time to visit Cambridge, but I didn't mind the cold, dreary weather because everything I needed was at or near the hotel. This place has lovely rooms with all the amenities. (Pay-per-view movies, fully stocked mini bar with premium brand snacks and beverages, 24-hour room service, mini toiletries come from Ocitaine). Anyway, It's a shame I was traveling alone, because the cozy, luxurious decor seems like it was made for romance.

On a more practical note, the hotel is conveniently located 2 blocks from Lechmere T station and is easy walking access to East Cambridge Galleria shopping center. The hotel is also pet friendly and the staff is extremely welcoming. There is a business center, fitness center and a shared computer in the lobby used exclusively for printing out guest's airline boarding passes.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area. I had a very good experience there. My only complaint was that my stay was too short. I really didn't want to leave the room.

  • Liked — Service was top-notch.
  • Disliked — Can't really think of anything I didn't like.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scarletletters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2009
Dear scarletletters,
We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Hotel Marlowe. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langenthal, Schweiz
Level Contributor
167 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2009

"Daddy, let's get a room like this one at CasaPapa!"
'CasaPapa' is my daughter's term for our apartment. (She was referring to the fireplace lounge in the lobby where the nightly wine reception takes place.)

It felt like coming home. I had not stayed at The Marlowe in about 3 years. However, the doorman remembered me. "Hey! How you doin'? Welcome back!" I was embarrassed that I could not remember Brendan's name at the time.

After that, it was an idyllic stay.

The carpets in the halls make you want to stop and study them just as much as the furniture and the art does.

The staff is top notch (except for one guy who I'll mention below). There are no robots here. They hire real people with real personalities who are good at what they do.

The wine reception from 5 - 6 pm in the fireplace lounge is not to be missed. The room is as cozy as it is artful and it always generates such a warm, social mood. How often to you stay in a hotel and actually meet other guests... let alone FIVE other guests?

The restaurant, Bamabara, is excellent. A bit pricey, but it delivers. My daughter thought that Pomme Frittes in the paper cone on its own little paper-cone stand was the coolest thing ever.

One negative that they should immediately change...
This hotel charges an outrageous amount for the use of the phone. You'd think they'd know better. What's worse than this insolence is the insolence of the guy at the front desk trying to justify it. Not even the king of the silver-tongued devils could make someone born yesterday believe that a call to New Jersey costs $5 per minute. This guy, however, had the stones to try, though. I have to give him credit for that.

The fitness room is well-appointed. The WiFi access is instant, hassle-free, and super fast.

In summary, at $140 / night (including tax) this was an excellent deal. Price / performance was world class. Great job, Marlowe.

  • Liked — The vibe. Warm, stylish, welcomed, competent.
  • Disliked — The price of using the phone.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ravenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
780 reviews
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
905 reviews
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,262 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,824 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Marlowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Marlowe Hotel

Property: Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Address: 25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141-2236
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Marlowe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderfully eclectic and luxurious Kimpton Marlowe Hotel is perfectly situated minutes from Harvard Square and the MIT campus in Cambridge. The waterfront location offers guestroom views of the park-lined Charles River and Boston skyline. This unique boutique hotel further sets itself apart with unsurpassed service, superb amenities and educational and cultural programs. It celebrates and reflects the vibrant sense of discovery that is quintessential Cambridge. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Marlowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlowe Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing