We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel connected to Shopping Mall.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We stayed here in May and it is a beautiful hotel. Sure, the decor is unusual with all the animal prints, but we loved it. We had a large, king bed room, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Wifi is complimentary in the room, providing you join their loyalty program which takes a couple of minutes and is complimentary. The Hotel is connected to The Cambridge Galleria, a large shopping mall which has many shops, restaurants and a casual food court. Tea and coffee is provided in the guest lounge in the morning, and there is a wine/cheese reception in the evening. The front desk can provide you a parking ticket for $20 a day in the Galleria, which gives you unlimited in and out priveledges. If you have a problem with animals this is not the Hotel for you. This is a dog friendly hotel and there are dogs everywhere, there is even a container with dog biscuits on the front desk. We had no problem with noise from the dogs, and there was no hint of animal smell anywhere in the hotel. I would defintely stay here again, and we loved Boston.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Australia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2009

Dear Australia07,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Hotel Marlowe! I'm happy to see you enjoyed your stay and all of our amenities. It's great that you signed up for our loyalty program, Kimpton InTouch! I hope you'll be back to enjoy more of what the Marlowe has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,727 - 1,733 of 2,057 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2009

My wife and I celebrated our 36th Anniversary with dinner and dancing. We checked into the Hotel Marlowe and met Maxine the front desk associate. She was extremely professional, helpful and knowledgeable. She even went above and beyond sending up a complimentary bottle of champagne and strawberries for our celebration. We love to hotel hop around big cities but the Kimpton really blew us away with their wine tasting and atmosphere. Located near the Science Museum and Cambridge side Galleria, this is an idea hotel for get-aways to Boston. We will try surely try their other hotels.
Andrew J. Miller, MD

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajmmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

My husband and I spent 3 nights here in late May '09 for a family event, followed by 2 days on our own of sightseeing/culture/dining. This was our 5th trip to Boston over 20 years. We chose to stay in Cambridge for its easy accessibility to Boston (on foot or by taking the Green line, both of which we did easily.) The Hotel Marlowe was a completely wonderful experience from start to finish! I won't elaborate on the room since so many others here have described it well--we found the decor quirky and fun; better yet, the room was quiet and the bed very comfortable. We were on the 7th floor with a beautiful view of the river/Boston. The staff is warm and accommodating; all are genuinely friendly and helpful from doorman to front desk to the excellent concierges. (Be sure to say hi to Derek and learn how his parents chose his name.) We enjoyed one dinner in Bambara restaurant--delicious meal, bolstered by some treats from the chef (small serving of soup and glasses of dessert wine.) Morning coffee in the lobby and wine tasting in afternoon are a bonus--we've stayed at 3 other Kimpton hotels in Seattle and San Francisco so were familiar with these welcome flourishes. Boston/Cambridge are wonderful places to visit; my husband and I would love to return and definitely will choose the Marlowe for our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ORsightseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We have enjoyed other Kimptons in the past and this was no different. This hotel was amazing!! After booking with them directly (using their best rate guarantee over the phone) and emailing the concierge, we had a reply back within a matter of minutes from Michael, the front office manager, congratulating us and informing us that he had taken the liberty of upgrading us to an Executive Suite. The suite was huge (over 600 sqft) and overlooked the Charles River. When we got in, we found that they had left us a box of truffles and champagne on ice for the occasion as well, accompanied with a note of congratulations from the concierge. There was a nice sitting room with wet bar area, pull out sofa couch, desk with chair, and sitting chair, along with a nice large flatscreen TV. Two pocket doors led into the bedroom which had a King bed, nice chaise lounge and another flatscreen TV on the dresser. The decor, while on the wild side with leopard print carpet and faux mink bed garnishes really worked for us and felt very home-y. Every light in the place was on a dimmer. The bathroom was fabulous as well...a huge two person jacuzzi, separate stand up shower, and vast amounts of counterspace with entrances from both the living room and bedroom, both with their own pocket doors. The hotel itself has an ample amount of common areas with a cozy living room.
The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk to the Lechmere T station at the end of the green line, which is on a convenient path to the North End, Downtown, Back Bay, and even Fenway. After inquiring with the concierge about the 7 day T passes, he handed me two passes that had been returned by departing guests that had 5 days left on them. The hotel just saved us $30...nice!
We also made use of the tandem kayak, which the hotel offers complimentary for guests (they have singles and bikes also). Two of the guys working the front desk hauled it over to the canal for us and told us to just tie it off and leave it after we were done and they would get it later. We did just that and then informed the front desk that it was tied up but not locked. 45 minutes later we left for dinner and it was still there. An hour and a half later, we were back from dinner, and...you guessed it...still there. We decided to schlep it back ourselves, at which point the front desk staff was very apologetic for dragging their feet.
Honestly, the only knock I can think of regarding the hotel was the lack of doormen presence and how often we had to open the door ourselves. But let's be real...this is not a big deal and if that the only criticism I have, then all in all it was a first rate experience.
During this trip, we stayed at the Marlowe, the Mandarin Oriental in Back Bay, and the Nine Zero Hotel (also a Kimpton), and this was our favorite experience.
In fact, we have decided to name our new Boston Terrier Marlowe.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickles1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2009

Dear pickles1107,
We wanted to express our congratulations to you once again, and thank you for sharing your wonderful stay with all of our TripAdvisor readers! I hope you'll bring little Marlowe back on your next trip to see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

The hotel and room décor has been described many times in these reviews: I thought it was fine (I wouldn’t particularly want to copy it in my own house, but I thought it was great in the hotel – a bit quirky, yet stylish and tasteful - in both the public areas and in the room).
We had some reservations about the ‘pet friendliness’ aspects – However, apart from a welcome notice and a bowl of water and dog biscuits outside the main door, and seeing a couple of dogs on leads in the lobby, we did not see or hear any other evidence of the presence of pets! (I had asked for a pet-free room because of allergies.)
We booked a “view room” which promised a “Charles River or Canal view”. In our case, this was a canal view, directly overlooking the pleasant little park area between the hotel and canal; however, I was a bit disappointed that the view beyond that was mainly a rather uninspiring large brick building and certainly no notable ‘skyline’.

The room and bathroom were very clean and well-maintained. The in-room facilities were as expected – including free wireless, a safe, iron and ironing board, hairdryer and bathrobes (no slippers). There was no tea/coffee making facility in the room. However, complementary morning coffee was provided in the lobby (and of course you could take this back to the room).
The toiletries provided in the bathroom were nice, but there was no plastic shower-cap provided (and nor did this appear on their list of things that could be provided on request – although I didn’t actually ask).
My only significant complaint about the room was the shower. This was a fixed-head shower over the tub. There was a control on the shower head for altering the type of flow (from ‘soft’ to ‘massage’), and obviously a control to adjust the temperature; but no control for altering the rate of flow (i.e. it was either on or off, but it wasn’t possible to turn it down from a high rate of flow to a trickle). Unfortunately, the tub in our room didn’t drain fast enough to keep up with the rate of flow of water in from the shower – So after just a few of minutes showering, I was standing in a couple of inches of water. After the first night, we asked them to look at the outflow from the tub – they sent somebody up to do something, but it didn’t make any difference. As a matter of personal preference, I found this very annoying (I don’t like water pooling round my feet in my shower) – However, to be fair, my partner noticed the same thing but wasn’t bothered by it.

We used Bambara restaurant/bar just for drinks and, on one occasion, a light lunch. Quality & service seemed good.
However, we didn’t have breakfast in the hotel, as the menu seemed expensive and a bit complicated. (Items were listed separately - e.g. $5 for 'cold cereal', and $11 for 'continental' which appeared to consist of a selection of fruit and 'croissant or muffin' - and prices were not listed for drinks, so not sure if tea/coffee/juice was included or extra.) I am used to seeing all-inclusive ‘breakfast buffet’ options in hotels, but this didn’t seem to be an option on offer on this menu.

I agree with other reviewers that staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful – Although, in this class and price bracket of hotel, I think I would be disappointed if they were not!
A long-distance (within USA - not international) phone call from the room proved to be very expensive ... I guess we should have checked the prices first, but we hadn't realised it was long-distance and thought it was a local number!

We thought the location was excellent as a base for sightseeing. It is in a pleasant area, right next to the Cambridgeside Galleria (indeed, joining it – if you don’t mind walking through the car park – but we preferred to walk the very short distance outside to the main Galleria entrances). The Galleria has a Food Court with various outlets (including Au Bon Pain – good for breakfast), and restaurants (California Pizza Kitchen and Cheesecake Factory – also both visited and recommended), as well as a range of shops. Just outside the Galleria, on the Canal, is also the starting point for the Charles Riverboat Company cruises. (We did their ‘Boston Harbor & Locks Tour’ and the ‘Charles River Tour’ cruises – Both highly recommended). It is a reasonably short walk from the hotel to either the Lechmere or Science Museum T stops; and there also seemed to be taxis constantly available right outside the hotel door.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsABear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2009

Dear ABear,
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review for all of our guests to read. We appreciate the compliments and suggestions alike, and I'm glad you enjoyed your experience at the Hotel Marlowe. I certainly hope you'll be back to visit us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

We stayed at The Marlowe for 3 nights. We chose it based on reviews and the hotel website. We did wonder if being on the Cambridge side of the river would be a problem but this was not the case. Close to the Metro or walk into Boston ,plentiful taxis when the children were tired.
As with all hotel choices we went in with an open mind and that it may not live up to the hype! However the Marlowe did not disappoint. The hotel has good facilities, including free internet and a gym, and character ( a bonus with so many generic hotels around). The staff were superb, so helpful, from the doorman to front desk to the dining room. When we could not find the hotel copy of Make Way For The Ducklings ( lifted by a previous guest) the staff went out and purchased one for the next day, as 'you can not do the statues without having read the story.' The complementary happy hour is a nice touch and the magician on one night was excellent the children loved the balloons he tied for them.
The rooms were really clean, a good size and quiet, and the children loved the plush robes just for them.
It was a perfect base for our Boston visit. We will definitely use Kimpton Hotels again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bennfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2009

Dear bennfam,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! I'm so glad you found the hotel a great destination for your family visit, and that everything was comfortable and convenient. I hope you'll be back to visit us again the next time you're in Boston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2009

My partner & I stayed at the Marlowe over New Year [in the middle a heavy snow fall!]. Hotel, room and staff are all excellent combining high standards, good facilities and modernity with traditional service, friendliness and some nice character features. Complementary evening wine tasting is a nice touch. Location is handy for the Boston Metro [light rail service] and is only a short cab ride from both downtown Boston and Cambridge. The shopping mall which adjoins the hotel is handy for picking up anything you may have forgotten [e.g. a hat for the -20C winter temperatures!] or having a quick/cheap meal. One comment we feel may help clarify comments made on both the hotel website and the reviews below: describing the hotel as “contemporary” may be a little misleading to UK/European eyes: sure the hotel is bang up to date technologically and has good facilities with a few nice “quirky” design touches but it is not “cutting edge” in terms of contemporary design as one would find in many European or Asian boutique hotels [e.g. minimalist a la Phillipe Starck]– this is not meant as a criticism- we loved the hotel, rather it is just a point of clarification for non-US guests.

Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KL_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 19 in Cambridge
948 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
1,001 reviews
2.5 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 19 in Cambridge
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#10 of 19 in Cambridge
237 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.6 mi away
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Marlowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Marlowe Hotel

Address: 25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141-2236
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £104 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Marlowe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderfully eclectic and luxurious Kimpton Marlowe Hotel is perfectly situated minutes from Harvard Square and the MIT campus in Cambridge. The waterfront location offers guestroom views of the park-lined Charles River and Boston skyline. This unique boutique hotel further sets itself apart with unsurpassed service, superb amenities and educational and cultural programs. It celebrates and reflects the vibrant sense of discovery that is quintessential Cambridge. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Marlowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlowe Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing