We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wouldn't go back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Cambridge House B & B Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Cambridge House B & B Inn
Ranked #7 of 19 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Drogheda
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I wouldn't go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The first night I arrived the fellow on the desk was very unhelpful and abrupt, in fact, rude. When I left, I asked him if he could call a cab for me, and he said innkeepers weren't allowed to call a cab for customers so I'd have to call me own, which I did, incurring long distance charges from my cell phone.

Because I was on a longish trip I had to go back. The second stay introduced me to a very helpful front desk person, but the room hadn't been cleaned well and there were dead bugs along the baseboard and a spiderweb in the corner. The fellow at the desk put me in a new room right away, and Andrea, the manage gave me a discount. (She's wonderful). However the place needs a good cleaning from top to bottom and certain members of the staff really need a course in customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanieWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    38
    28
    18
    6
See reviews for
31
49
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We were in town for 2 days for a baseball game. Our room, while small, was very clean with a private bath. Breakfast was more than adequate. Only a 10 minute walk to the "T". I would highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetMarie_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

My husband and I like to frequent Boston when we can and usually stay in the City proper. However, friends of ours recently moved to Cambridge and we wanted a place close to them so that we could celebrate New Years. The Cambridge House Inn was a compromise of charm and price. The room was comfortable but not anything special, although I must say having a working fireplace in the room was a nice treat in early January. It's a B&B so there is compromise on what would be considered modern amenities i.e. the TV was small and the bathroom equally so. However, the price and location more than make up for any defects in the room: it's a short walk over to Davis Square with plenty of great restaurants, nightlife, and a T Stop which provides access to the City.

Room Tip: I recommend staying in the original 19th Century Building and possibly requesting a room on the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyalHistoryLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Picture a classic B&B from the hayday of B&Bs and you can imagine Cambridge House. At least the Victorian part where we stayed. Lots of dark wood, ornate wallpaper and sconces. Twisting stair to our 2nd floor room. The room was small, but made to feel a bit larger by a mirrored wall. Bath was clean and spacious, and all the windows opened for nice cross ventilation. The canopied Queen bed needed the stairs to get in it was so high, but the mattress was very comfortable.
Continental breakfast was plentiful and the staff was quiet but friendly.
As others have said, it is convenient to the T, Harvard, stores and restaurants. One of our favorite spots was Pemberton Farms, immediately across the street. This store is a charming mash-up of a flower nursery, Whole Foods, your favorite deli, and a very diversified liquor store. We visited it twice in 2 days is was such fun.
For the price, Cambridge House is a good deal and we would go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baileywyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

We have stayed here three times, and plan to do so again, The Victorian side is our favorite, partly because of the decor of the rooms (MANY have fireplaces and canopy beds) but also because you can get to the (very cosy)downstairs breakfast room without putting on a coat! With the addition of the boiled eggs, the Continental breakfast becomes a substantial meal - and if you want something that's not on offer, you are free to pick it up at the very nice gourmet grocery across the street and store it in the refrigerator. Most of the staff members are very friendly and helpful; last summer a group of us were there for a wedding, and the staff kindly organized a car service to take one of the late-comers out into the suburbs for the reception. We appreciate the free parking as well as the proximity to the MTA and some very nice restaurants withing walking distance. The beds have been comfortable and we have never had a problem with noise. The bathrooms are slightly cramped and yes, they just have shower stalls. That said, it's an excellelnt value for the location. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuinivereStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Stayed in a "contemporary" room in the main building, which was nicely decorated, clean, and quite comfortable. The bathroom had only a shower stall (not a problem for me, but might be for others expecting a soaking tub). The morning breakfast was pretty decent (continental plus boiled eggs), and they also have a tray of chocolates and other treats which you can help yourself to in the evenings. The property is a 5 minute walk to the Davis Square Metro station (Red Line), which will take you to Harvard (2 stops) and MIT (4 stops) and all the way to Boston South Station where you can catch the Silver Line to the airport (all in 1 fare). The Inn keepers are friendly and accommodating. I originally booked 2 nights here to attend a conference at MIT, but wasn't able to arrive the 1st night due to transportation difficulties during Hurricane Sandy - and they refunded that night. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shpenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, New York, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Decided to try a B&B instead of a hotel - this place is sort of a hybrid. Our room was spacious and clean, nice bathroom, noisy window air conditioner. Location is very convenient and the free parking is a real bonus. Front desk staff wasn't particularly welcoming or friendly and we didn't try the breakfast, but would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tria
Hotel Tria
#15 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
3.1 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Cambridge House B & B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Cambridge House B & B Inn

Property: A Cambridge House B & B Inn
Address: 2218 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA 02140-1836
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A Cambridge House B & B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cambridge House B&B Inn is a lovely turn of the century Victorian. We now have two buildings; the rooms in one are contemporary decor, the other Victorian. All rooms are equipped with private baths and cable television. Many of our Victorian rooms have fireplaces; all rooms have air conditioning during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your A Cambridge House B & B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Cambridge House Bed And Breakfast Inn
a Cambridge House Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing