We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food but sun glare”
Review of Sugar & Spice

Sugar & Spice
Ranked #219 of 629 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
433 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
“Good Food but sun glare”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We have gone there twice over the years and the sun glares in very hot in the booths by the windows. The food is good but equally good at other nearby Thai restaurants

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jroihl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    25
    17
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Quantity less. Cheap and good service.”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We went to Sugar&Spice and we ordered a Red curry , one LemonGrass Chicken and 2 extra rice..There is no gravy sauce in Lemongrass chicken , which was quite shocking to me as all Thai restaurants i had been to , had it. Food was good. but Quantity of rice and chicken was less. It was pretty cheap and the service was nice - but like okay - okay. So in all i would say its good restaurant , but beware of the quantity.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Review_Master18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better than average thai food near Porter Square”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This place is decent. We are still looking for our favorite north Cambridge / West Somerville thai restaurant, but this one is near the top so far.

Recommend Drunken Noodle.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThatGuy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Delightful surprise”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Went to visit family and see a concert at the Orpheum so we were at a loss as to where to eat between his place in Sommerville and the theatre area which we knew would be congested with people. We happened on this place in Porter's Square area and were very happy we did. Perfect for our purposes. Beautiful decor, not too crowded at 5 ish, very friendly and attentive, but not intrusive, staff delicious large portions of food.

They gave us the corner booth with 3 people. Generous.

Summer rolls are soft rolls crisp with cilantro and shrimp and seasoned tofu. Nice dipping sauce.

Son had Tom Yum Soup for appetizer and Hor Mok in the coconut shell both of which looked great! Didn't have the opportunity to taste!


We shared Scallop Lover and Sugar and Spice Shrimp both great but Shrimp was better. Sticky rice for side and they made us hot Thai tea though not on menu.

I can't believe anyone had a bad experience from these lovely people. Not questioning. Just saying. These are definitely not the same people who would throw a menu at someone like the other reviewer's experience. I hope you give them another chance. These people and their place are lovely.

We will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtnchkbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great new menu and dishes!”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My wife and I have eaten here several times over the last year. It is always a reliable and good value choice in the Porter Square area, but last night we were very pleased with the new menu which has just been launched. The owner, who is usually working in the restaurant, has introduced new dishes from the south of Thailand, where she originated. We tried Klua Kling, which is pork cooked with southern style curry power and coconut milk, which was outstanding. It is certainly spicy, so make sure your water glass is filled up. It goes very well with Crispy Duck, which is suitably crispy on the outside, but soft and tasty inside. We had Isaan sausage and the restaurant's new crab nugget for starters, and our eight year old couldn't get enough of them! It's worth asking the staff about the new dishes as they really set the restaurant apart from the standard Thai food served elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffrey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar & Spice also viewed

Cambridge, MA
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Sugar & Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing