We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for brunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hi-Rise Bread Company

Hi-Rise Bread Company
Ranked #6 of 47 Coffee & Tea in Cambridge
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

Really good bread, cappuccino, and baked goods.

The lemonade is good. Ask for no ice since they really load up on the ice. It costs an extra buck for no ice but totally worth it.

Tip: ask for countertop sandwich.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank taknev24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
184 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Don't go if you want to be on a diet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

The bread and pastry is out of this world. Prices are a bit high and at the main store/bakery some of the staff has an "attitude." But still, we love what they produce. And eat (too) much of it!!! Sandwiches and take-out are good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SLRS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
319 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Puzzling Popularity”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

The popularity of Hi-Rise continues to puzzle me. Their bread is okay at best. Sandwiches are decent, if expensive. But their other items (cookies, brioche, sweet breads, etc.) are a consistent disappointment. There's very little quality control -- things are often over-baked and dry. Service is full of attitude. The success of Hi-Rise seems to come down to location, certainly not quality.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Filmprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Vanilla Loaf to drool for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I love the hi-rise. People complain that it's overpriced... well, maybe a bit so. But the food is great, and the prices aren't anywhere near what this quality of food would be in a fancy-schmancy restaurant, so - get over it, folks. Though I do enjoy their salads and sandwiches, what I keep coming back for, and dream about, is their vanilla load. A $16 golden nugget or pure buttery vanilla-y delicious goodness. Yes, that's a lot of dough (as it were) for a loaf of pound cake. But oh my goodness... From its actual vanilla bean speckled golden moist interior, to its crunchy sweet goodness of an exterior, this loaf is just a little piece of artery-clogging heaven. And I mean that with the utmost love in my heart.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iniren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
91 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“When Tony Soprano orders muffins from here - you know thats a good thing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

True story - confirmed by a member of my familiy how lives in Cambridge. At one time muffins were ordered for the Soprano set. This place is great on bread and a fave of mine is their Semolina - which for reasons beyond the dreams of man - they are now longer selling over the counter. Thats just crazy...

Their muffins are amaze-balls as well, particular their seclusive apple-walnut muffins which are only made a few weeks a year. Another fave of mine is the banana bread....I would go to war with a small nation of bite of those...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hi-Rise Bread Company also viewed

 

Been to Hi-Rise Bread Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing