We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun resale shop!”

The Garment District
Ranked #8 of 32 Shopping in Cambridge
Attraction details
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fun resale shop!”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I am quite the thrifter in our hometown, so while on vacation, I like to find local thrift stores to explore! We took the subway out to Cambridge to the store The Garment District. They have a 'clothes by the pound' sale they are known for and that was a little disappointing... literally an entire room filled with clothes piled almost waist high. I wasn't brave enough to walk across clothing to dig through that for any treasure. Instead I headed upstairs where I found a big selection of vintage clothing. You have to sort through to find the reasonably priced items... I came away with two great pairs of boots, a pair of camel Franco Sarto riding boots and Jessica Simpson cowboy boots that I paid a total of $40 for. If you like thrifting and have the time, then give The Garment District a try!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank thefamilythattravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    11
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Vintage bargains galore!”
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

I would definitely recommend this place to bargain hunters of vintage and second hand clothing. The vintage clothes were the cheapest I saw in Boston and there were some great floral tea dresses and jumpsuits at decent prices. I didn't look in the 'By the Pound' area but spent a good hour looking through the rails of ladies clothes.

Helpful?
Thank Holly_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“More thrift less vintage”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The plus side: plenty of items to browse thru upstairs if you want clothing from previous decades. The first floor has costumes and a floor covered in used clothing for sale by the pound. Lots of props to take funny photos of or with.

The down side: clothing can be very worn and faded. The store and merchandise is not very clean. I found multiple items covered in dust. Employees are encouraged to dress any way they want and in turn a few looked like homeless runaways.

In the end, it's a Salvation Army rebelling against society.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Resale shop & Costumes galore”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We went during halloween weekend so the first floor that is usually "Dollar by the pound" had been converted to only costumes (which were very expensive too). We found very good quality used clothing on the second floor and almost found a pair of expensive timberland boots too. The prices are very very low for the quality too.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank 101Traveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Giant, comprehensive, a must for thrift shoppers”
Reviewed 14 August 2008

Its maybe the giantest used clothing store you can imagine. Everything from vintage to contemporary plus costumes and accessories. A must for Halloween. A must for vintage and thrift fans. Not very convenient sans car, but you can walk from Kendall T in about 10 minutes.

Helpful?
1 Thank mzamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garment District also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to The Garment District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing