We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, friendly staff”
Review of Mary Prentiss Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mary Prentiss Inn
Ranked #1 of 20 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We loved the staff, the room was nice and comfortable and the location was fantastic. We were able to walk everywhere and even took public transportation to the airport. It was easy with the help of the Mary Prentiss staff. There are wonderful cookies in the late afternoon. The breakfast is nothing exciting, so if you are looking for gourmet, this isn't your place.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank omlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Mary Prentiss Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed here for the complimentary stay on Veterans Day and found the Mary Prentiss Bed and Breakfast to be a wonderful place to stay while in Boston. It was located just down the road from the Porter Square tube station in the Cambridge area of Boston. The area is full of restaurants' particularly Japaniese restaurants'. In the bed and breakfast they had a wonderful tea service with homemade cake and cookies. The bed in my room was also, super comfortable and puts my bed at home to shame. I would love to know what the matress brand was on that bed so next time I can buy one at the mattress store when I am in the market to get a new mattress. I would strongly recommend this place to anyone visiting Boston or considering a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catharine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I had a fantastic stay and cannot say enough about how great we were treated by the staff. The breakfast was amazing and we had many places to choose from to eat dinner all within walking distance. The location of this place makes public transportation a perfect choice. What really stood out in my mind is how well maintained the entire place was. Plus, I really enjoyed how quiet it was both inside the Mary Prentiss Inn and outside as well. I realize my review will probably be read by many outside the U.S. This would be my #1 First Choice if I were planning a trip from outside the country. I believe this property will not disappoint even the harshest critic. I plan on returning again in the near future. Thanks to Lisa Gartland for making my stay smooth and worry free!

Room Tip: They offer 3 times for breakfast; 7:30, 8:30, and 9:30 AM. Make sure you sign up the night before fo...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, and my wife thought it was gorgeous. The location is amazing, walking distance to dozens of restaurants, 5 minute walk from the T, and a liquor store across the street. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJBIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Cannot say enough about the quality, warmth, and lovliness of this very special home away from home. The attention to detail is spectacular; breakfast is superb; tea and goodies make it a delight to return each evening. Package with T pass wonderful and so convenient for the people from outside the Boston area. It feels like a cozy home away from home!! You'll love it!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cab444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our recent stay could not have been better. The staff were extremely friendly and accomodating.
They helped me surprise my wife on her birthday with balloons & banner at breakfast and wine, chocolate covered strawberries & cookies in our room when we returned that evening. The room was very quaint. The location was excellent (only four blocks from the subway). And I cant say enough about the service. I would diffenently reccomend staying here. I know when we return to Boston there is only one place we'll stay. The Mary Prentiss Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at this mid sized inn near Harvard Square while visiting Cambridge for a reunion. The room amenities were great, the breakfast generous and the staff very pleasant. I thought the off street parking was perfectly adequate in contrast to one reviewed who couldn't seem to manage maneuvering in tight spaces. I was just glad to have free parking in a town where on street parking doesn't exist. We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taem111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.9 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#17 of 20 in Cambridge
66 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
506 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
767 reviews
1.2 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#15 of 20 in Cambridge
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary Prentiss Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary Prentiss Inn

Address: 6 Prentiss St, Cambridge, MA 02140-2212
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: £155 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary Prentiss Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mary Prentiss Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary Prentiss Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing