We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, comfortable, charming, friendly B&B walking distance to Harvard University”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mary Prentiss Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mary Prentiss Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable, charming, friendly B&B walking distance to Harvard University”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This week (5 nights) I wanted something within walking distance of Harvard, where I was visiting on business. The location was perfect, a pleasant 10 minute walk (1/2 mile) on level ground. I had one of their smallest rooms, which they honestly advertise as being most appropriate for a single guest although it did have a double bed. 3rd floor, sloping roof/ceiling at the head of the bed, very acceptable bathroom. Choice of cooked or continental breakfast--not extensive choices, but freshly made and tasty. Tea, coffee, cookies, etc. in the late afternoon and evening. Very friendly staff. Free WiFi throughout. Wine shop, excellent casual Mexican joint (Boca Grande on Mass. Ave.), coffee shop, and a pharmacy within a block, and a couple of full restaurant/bars within 2 blocks. Great access to the T and busses. I will stay here again when I'm next visiting Harvard.

Room Tip: You select your specific room choice when you make your reservation, so simply read the descriptions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_Fei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    64
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
93
111
34
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights; right away, I was impressed with the Inn's coziness and cleanliness. The 19th-century antiques-themed room was well-balanced with amenities that included Starbucks coffee, flat-screen TV, blackout curtains and wooden shades, lots of nice towels (even one just for makeup) and a microwave and fridge. Breakfasts were yummy, different each day (with some regular offerings) and beautifully presented; see my pics. Tea time with pastries, a lovely fire and good music was an unexpected bonus. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The location can't be beat, either. Loved it!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Melamed45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

A very convenient B&B, just a few blocks from Porter Square where there is public transit and shopping. The rooms were spacious and comfortable (I admit I love the charm of the historic building with original shutters in my room). There is a little noise that comes into the rooms (it is an historic house, after all) - in the case of Room 1 it's generally people walking down the lovely but creaky staircase (not really a problem overnight). Breakfasts were delicious (loved the eggs florentine and broccoli quiche), and the afternoon tea in front of the crackling fire was a pleasant added bonus. Breakfast in the garden room, even if there wasn't much of a garden to look onto in early March, was very enjoyable. Everyone was very accommodating and friendly, especially as my travel plans changed last minute and I ended up arriving very late at night. The fact that there is free covered parking helps exceedingly in Cambridge, particularly when some street areas are still inaccessible due to snow. I'll definitely stay again if travels bring me back to Boston.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Great breakfast, lovely rooms, friendly staff, great location, wonderful afternoon tea, hope to be back one day. The place to stay in Cambridge - and when visiting Boston. Could not have been better. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stjernerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymour, Connecticut
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

First time at this inn and we really enjoyed it. We were there for a long weekend just to get away. The inn is nicely located only 3 blocks from the Porter T station. Nice wine shop on the corner of Prentiss and Mass Ave. Local markets and restaurants (especially sushi) are close by. There's a larger market and shopping center just past the T station. All within easy walking distance.

The inn is well decorated, historic and homey. We were in #16. Shower was hot and had good pressure. Bed was tall but very comfortable. The third floor was quiet at night. Of course the rooms on the third floor have some sloping ceiling but that's part of the charm. Our room was warm and cozy.

All of the staff we met were very, very friendly and helpful. Availability of free on-site parking and proximity to public transportation was a BIG plus. The full breakfast was adequate size and good but not exceptional: Scrambled eggs and bacon one day, blueberry pancakes and sausage the next day. We enjoyed the common room fireplace in the evening along with free WIFI.

TL;DR Great experience, would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Creaky stairs but rooms on 2nd and 3rd floor seemed quieter at night. Our room on the third floor ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CT-wni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We had a lovely stay here this past weekend. We stayed in Room 20 and enjoyed the layout of the room (very smart to have the jacuzzi tub separated from the bathroom!). Many exceedingly minor details keep this from being a five-star experience. Regarding the jacuzzi: the innkeepers request that you not press any of the buttons other than on/off, and it is set to a very strong setting so be prepared for intense pummeling, rather than a relaxing jacuzzi experience. The fireplace is the real deal (wood, as opposed to gas/electric that you simply switch on), which means you need to devote several hours to being in the room while the fire runs its course and we did not have time for this in our schedule, so we did not get to enjoy the fire (we were not aware in advance of the type of fireplace, as other inns we've stayed in have all been gas). The food here is average, though my husband did enjoy his full breakfast and the portion size was ample. This room directly faces a central patio where other guests roam and wander and privacy is afforded only by curtains, curtains which unfortunately are difficult to keep fully closed; we succeeded only by dragging over a chair and propping it up against the door. The curtains also continually get stuck in the door as you're trying to lock the door to your room from the outside. Also, it would be better for sleep quality for the curtains to be of the black-out type; perhaps sliding screens would solve all these issues? The quality of the sheets is basic, not the higher thread count you find at many other B&B's and nice hotels. Finally, the door to the bathroom isn't a perfect fit, so it's hard to feel like using the facilities is a truly private experience. Maybe install a vent to help create the illusion?

All that said, these are minor issues. The location of the inn is ideal and the parking is indispensible. We would happily return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank katystava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Our first stay at this well located Inn was fantastic. The staff are extremely efficient and friendly. The breakfast was fresh and tasty. The room and bathroom had very nice extras. A lot of thought was put in to make you feel welcome and at home.
When we arrived we requested a room with a jacuzzi bath. As there was one available the staff were only to happy to give it us.I would highly recommend the Inn.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
29 reviews
0.9 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,478 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#9 of 20 in Cambridge
191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#11 of 20 in Cambridge
703 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary Prentiss Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary Prentiss Inn

Property: Mary Prentiss Inn
Address: 6 Prentiss Street, Cambridge, MA 02140
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary Prentiss Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mary Prentiss Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary Prentiss Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing