We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEASE REPLACE THE MATTRESSES!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The hotel is well located and provides easy access to MIT and the City of Boston. Those are the good points. The rooms are small, the AC/Heat temperamental. However the worst element of the hotel is the mattresses or should I say matts. The mattresses (and I am being generous) are 4" matts layed on top of a box spring. They hang 3" over the box and provide no support what so ever and if you sleep on the edge you feel like you are falling out. Pretty shabby for a class hotel.

The breakfast buffet is great, the lobby small and the views from the upper floors are wonderful.....BUT I NEED TO BE ABLE TO SLEEP!

Room Tip: GO HIGH on the SOUTHERN SIDE of the hotel. The view are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonahElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeMarriott, Manager at Boston Marriott Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding the location of our hotel and the convenience of being so close to MIT and Boston. I was however disappointed to read about your experience sleeping on one of our mattresses. I would like to sincerely apologize for your lack of sleep and would like to replace that mattress. Unfortunately, since this is an anonymous posting, it is difficult for me to react. It would be greatly appreciated if you could respond to me at ken.lavigne@marriott.com.

I can assure you that we have received many great comments about the comfort of our mattresses and if there is a problem with one in particular, it will be replaced.
Sincerely,

Ken Lavigne
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

First off I live locally but stayed here 2 nights in September to run a conference at Microsoft next door. Many of the conference guests stayed here and the rest stayed down the street at the Hyatt. My personal experience was good, nice top floor corner room looking towards Fenway and the Charles. A great view. Room was a decent size and clean.

Hotel is attached to Microsoft's New England HQ and in the heart of the tech center of Cambridge/Boston. MIT campus surrounds the area and you can walk to a number of places. Harvard square is a 5 minute drive or you can jump on the T near the hotel entrance to get to most of Boston and Cambridge.

Most guest had good things to say, there were a few room mix ups (someone already in the room) but they were all figured out eventually. The staff was good to work with as well.

Room Tip: Top floor corner rooms facing Boston have nice views.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank PeterOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I'm not sure why I had a different experience than others.

To me, the room was a little small and a little humid and dingy. The AC was temperamental.

The service was good, but a bit slow - albeit I checked in rather late. Lots of drunk guys hovering around the lobby when I was there.

Not the best place, but certainly not the worst. Perhaps I just came at a bad time.

On a plus side, the room view was great, they have a few restaurants that deliver 24 hours, and the location is perfect.

Room Tip: Up top, as usual. The view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tcp102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated across the Charles River from downtown Boston, allowing you to enjoy nearby Boston sites such as Beacon Hill, Boston Common, and Fanueil Hall, as well as the adjacent MIT and nearby Harvard in Cambridge. Even better the Kendall Square subway stop is right out the front door. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The hotel has a large fitness center with multiple cardio machines and free weights. Breakfast buffet was very generous and food tasty, but was expensive if purchased separately, so purchase it as part of room package if possible.

Room Tip: Choose room facing out front of hotel with views of downtown Boston.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcadoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

During a short business trip to Boston on short notice I stayed at this location. Not very far from the airport. Valet was quick and easy as well as getting around on foot. My king room was as expected. Late night during my neighbor had a cry baby that escalated to screaming. I called the front desk,security came up and knocked on the door several times and received no answer.

The front counter person immediately moved me t an huge suite for the rest of my stay where I was able to get a couple of good nights sleep. I'm not sure what became of the crying baby.

Room Tip: Get a suite on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dMoniqueRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Marriott (nearly always) works fine for me. This one is well located (next to T and MIT), spacious clean room. The full rating is given because the complimentary continental breakfast was a full buffet with eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes, nice orange juice and coffee. I used to stay at the Kendall but they only had a ridiculous rate this time to I switched to the Marriott - this is an alternative now!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The staff was very accommodating and the view from my 20th floor room looking over the Charles river and Boston was amazing. It is about 75 yards from the back door to the Red line subway. MIT is a two minute walk. The pool and gym were nice and well maintained. Our use of the Executive Lounge was an added bonus.
While the price of the valet was a little pricey, there is no street parking nearby. There is a paid lot that is next door, but it is only $5 less a day, so, I chose to stay with the valet.

Room Tip: Try and get a high floor facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBillOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.1 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
1,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 19 in Cambridge
982 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#11 of 19 in Cambridge
247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 19 in Cambridge
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Cambridge

Address: 50 Broadway, Cambridge, MA 02142
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £105 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top choice among Cambridge hotels, Boston Marriott Cambridge is situated across the Charles River from downtown Boston and is the perfect location for your next visit to our historic city. Our Cambridge hotel is positioned in Kendall Square near popular Boston area attractions. Top universities such as MIT, Harvard, and Boston University are just minutes away, as well as Massachusetts General Hospital & the Children's Hospital. Guests of Boston Marriott Cambridge enjoy close proximity to Harvard Square, Fenway Park, TD Banknorth Garden, the North End and the Museum of Science. Our hotel is also an ideal event and meeting facility. With ten breakout rooms and 12,000 sq ft of event space, we can accommodate groups of any size. With easy access to Logan Airport, I-93 and the subway, Boston Marriott Cambridge is the ideal lodging choice for business trips and vacations in Boston, Massachusetts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Boston Marriott Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Marriott Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing