We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
187 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here for a conference at MIT. Very convenient to the campus and the T, so we did not need to take out our car. Very comfortable beds. Clean room, friendly staff. They also had a mobile check in and check out which was great,checked in on line and told them when we would get there, walked up and key was ready, worked great. Starbucks in the Lobby was convenient and places to eat next door and across the street. We were on the 23rd floor facing the river, great view. In our room there was a frig (obviously the old honor bar) that was helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rorudupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    421
    149
    40
    32
See reviews for
251
137
59
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san Francisco
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

While I regret I will not be staying here during this visit I had the wonderful opportunity to speak with Cathleen either at the front desk or PBX departments, Cathleen is a guest service super star who just a few moments of her time to help me select the right property for my stay. Cathleen was kind, professional and tremendously helpful and answered all of my questions and to wish me a lovely visit to Boston.
Thank you Cathleen, you are a super star!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joebobjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Needed to stay near Cambridge, and this is really well located, but for the price I was charged, this is an OK but not special hotel. Perfectly friendly and reasonably clean, but showing signs of wear and tear, and fairly characterless.

Room Tip: Face the river for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan S, General Manager at Boston Marriott Cambridge, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Derek W:

Thank you for sharing your observations about our hotel. You are certainly right that our Kendall Square location is the perfect place to experience Cambridge and the red line subway stop directly in front of the hotel provides quick access to downtown Boston as well as Harvard Square. Since your visit last October, we have completed a dramatic renovation of the lobby and Starbucks. We have a photo shoot this weekend and we hope to add the new pictures to our website soon.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly if I can be of any further assistance.

Sincerely,

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienne, France
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I paid ~325 USD for room&tax per night and for this money I would expect a better cost-benefit ratio:
- WiFi was not included and was another 18 USD per day
- Neither breakfast nor any snacks were included, however, there is a restaurant & a starbucks in the hotel which is convenient
- bottled water in the room was not included. One bottle would be charged another 4,50$
- the 9th floor had a sign pointing towards a vending machine but there was none
- boarding pass printing was not included

Apart from this: the room (9th floor) was rather small, the view was not really spectacular and the concierge i talked to could be friendlier. For example, this concierge actually told me beforehand that Internet for the first 2 nights of my stay - which were paid by my company - would not be charged. But then of course they did add the costs to my private bill.

So, i a summary: good location but unsatisfactory cost-benefit ratio

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan S, General Manager at Boston Marriott Cambridge, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear N P;

Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations with regards to costs versus benefits. Our Hotel does offer a terrific location in the heart of Kendall Square, convenient to both Cambridge and Boston, along with a wide variety of amenities consistent with all full service Marriott hotels.

I am concerned that our concierge informed you that the internet was included in your rate but then you were subsequently charged. Please feel free to contact me directly so that I can correct this error as well as discuss your other observations.

Your patronage is very important to us and I hope that you will give us an opportunity to regain your confidence.

Sincerely,

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This Marriott is located so conveniently that I gave it 4 stars. The Metro (T) is right outside their front door for the Red Line. And three different tourist trolleys stop right across the street. There are very nice restaurants located within easy walking distance, and Harvard and MIT are very close, as well.

Even thought the hotel was in the middle of some remodeling, the work was done only during the day. Consequently, there was no noise in the evening when trying to relax or sleep.

There is a Starbuck's in the lobby that opens at 6 a.m. during the week days and at 7 during the weekends.

The gym, while small, was adequate and from 6 to 7 a.m. was quite busy.

We had a little difficulty with our reservation, but it was all worked out to our satisfaction by the person at the front counter.

The room was clean. Aside from the undrinkable coffee that's in the room, all was fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel perfectly suited my needs. I stayed with my boyfriend for the weekend, and enjoyed everything about it. From the moment we arrived, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The restaurant Champions on site is clean and had delicious food. Our room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. We ordered room service for breakfast, which was delivered promptly and was very tasty. I chose to not pay the extra $30 or so per night for a room with a view, however our view was still spectacular! The location of the hotel is perfect. There is a subway station conveniently located on the property. The hotel is right next to MIT's campus and we were able to walk to Harvard's campus (although it was a bit of a lengthy walk). Overall, I couldn't have asked for more out of a weekend experience in Boston!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

For the most part, I was very happy with my stay here. It's a great hotel, excellent location, I was working in the Microsoft facility down the block so very handy if you're heading there.

First off, check in was straight forward, very polite staff, also very helpful, I had to send a large package using a courier which they facilitated for me.

Room was very nice, reasonable size, nicely decorated and extremely comfortable. Bathroom was pretty big and again extremely clean.

I had two minor issues with this hotel, first is no free wifi, I mean come on! and the next was the service in champions (the restaurant / bar downstairs) it was very slow, even though it wasn't busy and the staff weren't over worked.

other than that, I was pretty happy, the hotel is literally on top of a subway station so getting down town is simple, there's a starbucks inside and a couple of restaurants dotted about.

Given the choice... I think if I were staying in Boston again and I didn't need to be near MIT, I'd stay in the Revere (which I also stayed in on this trip and have reviewed) in the theater district, even though I'm a marriott rewards member...

Room Tip: High up, to avoid any road or building work noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WolfyManUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Cambridge

Property: Boston Marriott Cambridge
Address: 50 Broadway, Cambridge, MA 02142
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top choice among Cambridge hotels, the Boston Marriott Cambridge is situated across the Charles River from downtown Boston and is the perfect location for your next visit to the city. This Cambridge hotel is positioned in Kendall Square near popular Boston area attractions. Top universities such as MIT, Harvard, and Boston University are just minutes away, as well as Massachusetts General Hospital & the Children's Hospital. Guests of this hotel in Cambridge will enjoy the close proximity to Harvard Square, Fenway Park, TD Banknorth Garden, the North End and the Museum of Science. Enjoy casual American fare at our Cambridge, MA hotel’s new restaurant, Champions. The Boston Marriott Cambridge hotel is also an ideal event and meeting facility. With ten breakout rooms and 12,000 sq ft of event space, this hotel can accommodate groups of any size. With easy access to Logan Airport, I-93 and the subway, the Boston Marriott Cambridge is the ideal lodging choice for business trips and vacations in Boston, MA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Marriott Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing