We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels old and dreary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feels old and dreary”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel in mid November, 2013. Did get a room with a very large balcony overlooking the river but the room itself was just average size. Furnishings in room wer OK but the rest of the hotel was below par. Stayed only one night and moved to Hyatt Boston (downtown). MUCH nicer property and proximity to shopping and sights much better also.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    747
    469
    197
    106
See reviews for
660
411
119
782
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed there for 2 weeks in August 2013.
The room is big but I had a view of the back (Not Charles river).
The room wasn't thoroughly cleaned. I spotted a piece of paper on the floor for 3 days before it was picked up.
Air conditioning wasn't working well.
I had to pay extra for parking.
Things not included: Breakfast, Wi-Fi (not even in the lobby), small fridge (they wanted extra for that!!!!).
I was dissapointed and the staff was indifferent.

Room Tip: Ask for a roon with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The hotel and our room were very nice (what we expected, nothing totally extraordinary, but the price was not extraordinary either).

What was really nice was the service - when I politely complained I did not get the wake-up call I ordered for our first morning there, they made it up to us that evening with a bottle of wine and appetizer tray delivered to our room (even though we had declined their offer to do something for us).

We were also doing a long distance real estate deal during our stay, and the front desk staff were wonderful printing off and faxing documents for us, all at no charge and done with a smile. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucerias_Homeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Here is the thing.
I used to stay in Boston but now stay in Cambridge. Its more for personal reasons and not much else. But in Cambridge I always used to stay at the Marriott because it was right on Kendal square even though places like the Hyatt were much cheaper.
Well I needed to renew my platinum status on Hyatt (its good for the Asian hotels) so I stayed at the Hyatt this time instead. I was not expecting it to be particularly good as it was half the price of the Marriott and the location was certainly less useful.
However I was very pleasantly surprised. The property itself is very nice indeed being right on memorial drive. And it is also more low rise than some of the hotels and hence feels more comfortable. It also has a lot of parking at the hotel itself which beats the more centrally located hotels.
The rooms were also quite nice with good showers (its showers only in the bathrooms) in the bathrooms and a decent amount of space in the room. The rooms have generally been well upgraded (much better than most hyatt upgrades traditionally have e.g. GH NYC.) and the TV selection as well as the internet are good. There is a huge safe in the closet which is useful.
Room service is generally strong and bang on time and the cleaning is very good and efficient.
Overall service is strong throughout the hotel.
The location of the hotel is not much of an issue as there are taxis right outside at all times (I certainly never had to wait to get one during my stay and it was during the first snow storm of the season and also at 5am on Monday morning so its safe to say this would not be an issue generally).
Overall whilst I feel that Hyatt in general is pretty bad in the US this hotel stands out like a beacon representing the way things should be.
I cannot fault it hence I am giving 5*

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurlyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
CurlyHongKong, thank you for the “5-star” review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your room as well as your overall stay with us. If you loved our in-room dining, next time you stay with us you should try out Zephyr on the Charles which is available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner as well as offering an amazing view of the Charles River and Boston Skyline. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back next time you are in Boston. Best, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I've been to a few hotels personally and traveled for my previous job (5 days/week). Read, I know a how to rate a hotel.

Hyatt Regency was a great weekend stay for us. The parking garage actually has the same Card Reader as the hotel so you don't have 4 pieces of paper to keep account of (Yes, this happened to me before, in Philly). The card will let you into your room and in and out of the garage. The lobby is nice, well designed and thought out. Glass elevators were definitely awe-inspiring. The room was fabulous. Make sure to get a room with a balcony and a view of "Cambridge", not "Brookline". A little out of the way (no T access nearby) but they have a shuttle to go to MIT, Harvard Sq, Central Sq. (not Downtown Boston).

We ordered dinner which was surprisingly awesome, no complaints. Staff is excellent. Check in was seamless (Noah I believe checked me in, EXCELLENT service). Complementary champagne was delivered to our room since it was a special occasion. TV does not take any inputs, e.g., HDMI, etc.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony and view of the Cambridge side. Try to get as high in the building as p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Shiz_mac, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. I am so glad that you received such authentic hospitality from Noah upon your arrival. He truly is such a great asset to our Hyatt team, and I will be sure to let him know that you appreciated his warm welcome. If you enjoyed your dinner at Zephyr on the Charles, next time you stay with us you should check out our breakfast buffet with so many delicious options that are guaranteed to please everyone! Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back, soon. Best, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Loved staying here. My child was going to an event at MIT and it was very accessible. The hotel shuttle got my child to MIT quickly. The staff was courteous. Wish there was more of a free continental breakfast.

Green Features: Wonderful. Quiet and clean. Glad it's environmentally friendly, it made a for good experience
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Barbara, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. I am so glad that you not only loved staying with us but also that our complimentary shuttle was able to make your travels more convenient. Next time you stay with us you should take a break and use the shuttle for your leisure and explore the city! Thank you again for your review. Best, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We arrived to the hotel after a hellish 16 hour road trip, and the staff did everything to improve our mood from the first moment we entered the lobby. We received complimentary parking and breakfast and a room upgrade. The view from our room was just wonderful. The room was very clean and comfortable, no chemical smells (this can be an issue even in 4 star hotels). The breakfast buffet was great: Fresh fruits, custom made omelets, cereal bar, pancakes, cheeses and pastries and more. We took a walk to a local ice-cream shop, Toscanini's, one evening and I recommend that you do not deny yourself that pleasure if you are not lactose intolerant. We ordered some snacks from room service and it was ok. Overall it is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tediref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.8 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
779 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#17 of 20 in Cambridge
198 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
151 reviews
1.6 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,480 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Address: 575 Memorial Drive, Overlooking Boston, Cambridge, MA 02139-4896
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, Hyatt Regency Cambridge is a stylish hotel overlooking the Boston skyline. A proud recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award, our Boston hotel features contemporary rooms with breathtaking views of the scenic Charles River and downtown Boston. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit art museums, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just a complimentary shuttle ride away from Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Nestled between legendary colleges and universities such as Harvard, MIT, Boston University and Boston College and conveniently located just minutes from innovative companies and start-ups such as AT&T, Yahoo and Amazon, our Cambridge hotel is the ideal place to conduct business or academic pursuits in Boston. Enjoy seasonal New England cuisine at Zephyr on the Charles, offering sweeping views of Boston's Charles River. Sip a cocktail at the Zephyr Lounge and relax on our outdoor, seasonal patio on warm spring night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing