We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marathon Long Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Marathon Long Weekend”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here for four nights for the Boston Marathon.

Front desk were most helpful, friendly and check in was a breeze.

Our room on the fourth floor was of average size and well appointed with good quality furrniture. Room was quiet, with no noises from other hotel guests. TV and hifi worked well. Bathroom OK, with plenty of hot water and good pressure. Like most hotels these days, no kettle. It's coffee or nothing. Beds were slightly soft, which I don't find comfortable.

We used the hotel restaurant several times 'cos there are no restaurants in easy walking distance. Food was decent and not overly expensive. Sure, the hotel has a free shuttle to locations in and around Cambridge, but this has it's limitations and inconveniences. Pity they don't run a regular shuttle to Boylston/Newbury Streets.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank web555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hello, web555, Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. We are thrilled that you chose Hyatt Regency Cambridge for a long marathon weekend. That time of the year is certainly a great time to be in Boston. It is our hope that each and every guest, regardless of their purpose of stay, has a relaxing and comfortable experience and are glad you enjoyed our amenities, complimentary shuttle and on-site restaurant, Zephyr on the Charles. We hope you join us again for the Boston Marathon at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Please be in touch during your next stay and we can note your kettle preferences on your profile. All my best, Emily qualitybosrc@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    762
    476
    207
    108
See reviews for
673
418
120
808
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Had a great room withy a view of the charles river. Place is very clean, staff is friendly. Bar has a great view of the river. And now the became a 5 diamond hotel. What else can I say about this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LastFrontierTvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hello LastFrontierTvlr, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a "5-star" review! I am so glad that you were able to experience our authentic hospitality as well as the spectacular view of the Boston skyline. We look forward to having you back soon! Best, Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Enjoyed the hotel for it's friendly service, great views of the river and the rowing practices, very quiet room, free shuttle service, decent food and subdued decor. It was a nice place to have a meeting.

Room Tip: River view. Fifth floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zwolfalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Zwolfalan, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. We are so glad that you took advantage of the complimentary shuttle as well as enjoyed the unique view of the Charles River while watching the rowers in the morning! Next time you stay with us you should stop by Market on the Charles for a cup of freshly brewed Starbucks coffee before heading into a meeting. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back, soon! Best, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I've stayed at this Hyatt many times since 1979 (anyone old enough to remember the Harvard Computer Graphics Week conference?) and it was my wife's favourite so I continue to use it when I come to town. The river-view rooms are fabulous if you like watching the rowers!

The room was clean, with great linens on large, comfortable bed, and the bathroom is nicely segregated from the sleeping area. Large flat-panel tele, although no refrigerator to keep anything cool is a minor inconvenience.

The internet was easy to connect and fast, although I left my wireless mouse behind and somehow it wasn't 'found' (it is useless without the USB nib!).

I had the Business Plan rate which included the internet and breakfast. Sometimes I have stayed here and there is no charge for internet, and some times there is, it varies and is a bit irritating that they cannot be as accommodating as the mid-range hotel chains.

Very walkable to Copley Square, Boston University and the Green line (subway).

Room Tip: Get a room beyond the fire doors (which close at night) to be less affected by atrium noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hello Pcrosley4, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are that you are frequent visitor when you are in the area however, are sorry to hear that we weren’t able to locate your wireless mouse. If you have time, please e-mail qualitybosrc@hyatt.com with more information, we would like the opportunity to search the room again for this item! Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back, soon! Best, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

For the cost per night this place could be better

Spent 4 nights here ... The place is in need of updating
Its clean but could be better ... Found a juicy bug crawling the in bathroom on my last night there

Location is not ideal unless you are taking a cab everywhere or driving..

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hammer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hi Hammer85, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I sincerely apologize that your stay was disappointing and did not leave you raving about your experiences. We are thankful for feedback such as yours that alerts us to opportunities that our guests are facing. I will make sure to escalate your issues to the correct departments. I hope that you will visit again to give us a chance to wow you. Best, Sarah qualitybosrc@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency Cambridge for the second year in a row during the BostonMarathon. This is a very clean and beautiful facility with incredibly helpful personnel from the front desk to the front door. This year we had a beautiful room, overlooking downtown and last year our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking MIT. Bother rooms were nearly identical in amenities and very comfortable for our family of three. My wife ran the Boston Marathon and the hotel was extremely helpful to both runners and supporters. The restaurant is very good and quite reasonable in price, given the location. I took advantage of the 25 yard indoor heated pool to get some workouts in while my wife ran. Also, the hotel provides shuttle service into the city on a regular basis. All in all, I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Opt for a city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 720PeterH720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hello Peter H, thank you for the “5-star” review! We are so glad that we could be your home away from home during the Boston Marathon and hope that your wife had a great run! It is great to see that during your stay you took advantage of our complimentary StayFit Gym and were also able to experience the authentic hospitality of our associates! Thank you for the recommendation and we hope to see you again before the next Boston Marathon! Best, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I had a low floor room looking out over the Charles. The kids were all on spring break so Cambridge was a bit light on that over-the-top intellectual, youthful energy and the trees hadn't yet begun to bud but I was lucky to get there between a couple of terrible snow storms. I enjoyed my stay and agree with the other reviewers that the staff really elevates the entire experience at the hotel. But I have to say that there was one thing that made me scratch my head -- my room was oddly laid out --there was an empty hallway like area that ran the entire length of the room, faced the Charles and was completely separate from the rest of the room. At the far end of the hallway was the door to the bathroom and a table (that looked so lonesome) with the coffee machine.
But then as I walked around, the whole hotel was laid out a little oddly -- big stretches of unused space and then restaurants or the gift shop squeezed into small spaces. It felt like the visual presentation of soaring space was more important that guest utilization of that space. But I have to say, overall (except for that odd hallway -- what was up with that?) I had a really enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erowe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hello erowe11, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am glad to hear that our associate’s genuine hospitality elevated your stay! Reviews like this are so great to read because it shows that the hard work our team puts in each and every day truly pays off in the eyes of the guests! However, I apologize that you didn’t enjoy the layout of your room. We are continually looking for ways to improve to make guest experiences more enjoyable, I will be sure to pass along your feedback to the appropriate departments for review. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back, soon! Best, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.8 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#15 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.6 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Address: 575 Memorial Drive, Overlooking Boston, Cambridge, MA 02139-4896
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, Hyatt Regency Cambridge is a stylish hotel overlooking the Boston skyline. A proud recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award, our Boston hotel features contemporary rooms with breathtaking views of the scenic Charles River and downtown Boston. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit art museums, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just a complimentary shuttle ride away from Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Nestled between legendary colleges and universities such as Harvard, MIT, Boston University and Boston College and conveniently located just minutes from innovative companies and start-ups such as AT&T, Yahoo and Amazon, our Cambridge hotel is the ideal place to conduct business or academic pursuits in Boston. Enjoy seasonal New England cuisine at Zephyr on the Charles, offering sweeping views of Boston's Charles River. Sip a cocktail at the Zephyr Lounge and relax on our outdoor, seasonal patio on warm spring night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing