We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great staff”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

i was impressed with how helpful the staff was for the entire stay
we had multiple rooms and various check in request and all of them were accommodated
great work out equipment
pool was a large pool for laps

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dirk S., thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Reviews like this are so great to see because it shows that the hard work our associates put in each and every day truly pays off. We will be sure to pass this along to our team, as they will be ecstatic to see it. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you again, soon! Best, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    748
    469
    197
    107
See reviews for
661
411
119
783
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mulhouse, Alsace, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed 2 nights in the Hyatt Cambridge. I had a good room with a balcony which meant I could open the sliding door and get plenty of fresh air in the room which is often difficult in hotels with no balcony! The view of the Charles river and Boston was great. I enjoyed my stay - normally I don't like the "Atrium" style hotel design (i.e. where rooms back onto a central, enclosed atrium which runs the full height of the hotel) since this design tends to be noisy with all the hotel noises being funnelled up insider the atrium space, but in this hotel it seemed very quiet which was good. The staff were friendly, and the breakfast good, if a little pricey (but then that is typical of US hotels). My only gripe is around the room price - as part of a conference group special rate I thought I had a room at a certain price, but then on the bill there was a per-night 43 USD "occupancy charge" on top of the room rate, which actually made the per night cost quite expensive, in my view. I would have done better simply to go through my corporate travel agency, who I am sure would have got me a better rate overall. I think some better transparency about total (true) room rates would not go amiss - maybe I did not read the small print on the hotel website, but one shouldn't have to, the rate shown should reflect the total rate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel was impressive compared to many. Look up in the lobby, and you'll see 14+ floors of winding hallways with 4 glass elevators moving between them. I was hoping our room had a view of the Charles River like some other reviews mentioned. It didn't, but we still overlooked a little courtyard that was landscaped in an outdoor area. It was stuck between the lower lobby, our wing of rooms, and the parking garage. It was well done with ivy-covered brick, floral design, and a friendly bunny was wandering around and seemed domesticated/residing in the courtyard. Go up to the 16th floor and check out the view if you can...best view of Boston I've ever seen from the other side of the Charles.

Their pool was also impressive. It was a little tough to find since it was built above the parking garage (along with the fitness center), but it's glass ceiling made the search worthwhile.

The room was very nice too. Very classy, modern look. The beds were a definite highlight, and I slept like a baby.

Here's what really surprised me: why would a Hyatt Hotel need to overcharge (or spring unexpected charges) for standard, inexpensive conveniences? Maybe I'm naive, but I think the higher price for the room should allow for relatively basic conveniences to remain priced fairly.

I pulled into THEIR parking garage, because the signs said it belonged to the hotel. And, there didn't seemed to be anywhere else possible to park. Checking in, I was told it was an additional $35/night to park for the night. But, I don't live in Boston, and there didn't seem another option. When you book, tack another $35 onto the cost of the room.

Later, I used the room phone to make 3 calls, because I misplaced my cell. Big mistake. The first two calls were technically 'long distance' (a cell number with a neighboring state's area code). I never reached the intended party. One voicemail, one hangup prior to voicemail, and under 3 minutes on the phone was $26! I can't complain about ordering about ordering a flick (12 Years a Slave) for $16.99, because that was my own call (even if over-priced).

I received notice of the additional $78 and change in charges the next morning, under the door. Not sure why my account was charged an even $85, but I'm shrugging it off. It's hard to complain when it's such a beautiful hotel with great staff, and I didn't.

This hotel is gorgeous, and it's worth a stay for sure. Just be aware that $200+ a night can easily turn to $300+ a night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I just got back from a 4 day stay at the Hyatt Regency Cambridge. This place is great! Not only is the staff attentive, the rooms are really nice and the area is really convenient to get into Cambridge center. I didn't need my car at all the whole time I was there and just left it in the garage. This is my second stay at this hotel and have only had great service. I would highly recommend this hotel if you're visiting Boston or Cambridge for any reason.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello Roger M., thank you for reviewing your “5-star” stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. We are so glad that we were able to welcome you for your daughter’s graduation and you were able to experience such a busy and exciting time in the city! However, are happier to hear that you experienced the authentic hospitality of each of our associates during you stay. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back for a third visit! Best, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Overpriced, small rooms, pricey additions (breakfast and wifi), not a very convenient location for anything, lot of construction on area. But these are issues with most hotels in the area. Mattress was not firm enough for me. On the plus side, view from (a quite large) balcony is very good. Be sure to ask for room on a higher floor with view of the river. Night manager threw in free wifi upon request. Parking is free unlike some other hotels in the area.

Overall if you have to stay in/near Cambridge, this is a reasonable place to stay. Someone else reported getting a very good price on Priceline so that may be something to try.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolguy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello coolguy007, thank you for stay with Hyatt Regency Cambridge. We are happy to hear that one of our managers was able to accommodate you during your stay with complimentary Wi-Fi! Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back, soon! Best, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Got a room with a river view, overlooking boston. And the rooms were really nice. Really enjoyed the stay there. And the concierge was very helpful and sweet. The location is also perfect, since I was going to BU. Every single penny is worth the money in this hotel. The service was also amazing. I really liked it.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank divya1516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Divya1516, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the unique view of the Boston skyline and that our concierge was able to assist with area activities throughout your stay. We will be sure to let him know that you appreciated his authentic hospitality. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back, soon! Best, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our last minute one night stay at the Hyatt Cambridge was smooth and easy. Located right on the Charles, it is simple to find and offers a great view of Boston and the river. Other than the view, the hotel is only average for this chain. The room was simple, and with an older style bathroom that was nonetheless very clean and efficient. The common area features a big atrium, but without the brightness and view of other Hyatts built in this style (e.g., Baltimore) or the huge welcoming space in San Francisco, for example. I gave it a fourth star for the view, so if you're choosing a non-view room, expect less.

Room Tip: River view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Kinhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.8 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
779 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,855 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#17 of 20 in Cambridge
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
151 reviews
1.6 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,480 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Address: 575 Memorial Drive, Overlooking Boston, Cambridge, MA 02139-4896
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, Hyatt Regency Cambridge is a stylish hotel overlooking the Boston skyline. A proud recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award, our Boston hotel features contemporary rooms with breathtaking views of the scenic Charles River and downtown Boston. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit art museums, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just a complimentary shuttle ride away from Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Nestled between legendary colleges and universities such as Harvard, MIT, Boston University and Boston College and conveniently located just minutes from innovative companies and start-ups such as AT&T, Yahoo and Amazon, our Cambridge hotel is the ideal place to conduct business or academic pursuits in Boston. Enjoy seasonal New England cuisine at Zephyr on the Charles, offering sweeping views of Boston's Charles River. Sip a cocktail at the Zephyr Lounge and relax on our outdoor, seasonal patio on warm spring night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing