We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Visit Cambridge and Boston” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Visit Cambridge and Boston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The location of this Hotel is excellent and the accommodation are very comfortable. I was lucky enough to get a balcony room with a spectacular view of the city. I frequently travel to Boston and Cambridge to for business and to visit family - the Cambridge Hyatt is a great choice whether you are traveling solo, or with family. The pool and spa are a great treat as well.

Room Tip: Try for a balcony room or a room with a view of the Charles.
See more room tips
Green Features: I have traveled all over the world for business, and the staff at this Hotel are extremely friendly and polite - it was a pleasure to stay here.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Araba_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Araba_101, thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit! We are so pleased to hear that not only are you a frequent visitor to the area but also that our team at Hyatt Regency Cambridge were able to make this experience a memorable one for you! Our Balcony rooms highlight the beauty downtown Boston and extenuate the view, which is one of our best qualities! Next time you stay with us make sure to stop by Zephyr on the Charles where you are able to indulge in naturally sourced, local cuisine as well as enjoy the view of the Charles River with the floor to ceiling windows. Thank you again for the review and we hope to welcome you back, soon! Best, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    736
    462
    193
    105
See reviews for
646
411
116
771
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have stayed at this property over 10 times now, and the reason for my return visits are simply that this hotel, while not the splashiest or the newest in the area, hits the right chord in terms of making one feel comfortable. The staff and associates are quite friendly, and the GM and below truly seem to care about customer experience.

Room Tip: Try to score a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EK1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hello, EK1964, Thank you for continuing to select Hyatt Regency Cambridge for your visits to the Cambridge-area. We appreciate you taking time to provide feedback on your experience and are happy that you have continued to enjoy your stays at the hotel. It is our hope that each and every guest, regardless of their purpose of stay, has a relaxing and comfortable experience where they can make themselves at home. Next time you visit, please make sure to take advantage of our River-view and Balcony rooms that overlook the Boston Skyline! Please be in touch during your next visit to the Cambridge area, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Thank you again for your review! Best, Emily qualitybosrc@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Banquet food was better than restaurant, Furniture in bar area worn out, needs replacing. Wait staff very courteous and eager to please. Order from bar menu carefully, some items like fried calamari are poor quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank haroldfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello, haroldfs, Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Cambridge for such an important event. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the banquet food as well as the courteous service. I do sincerely apologize that the calamari was not what you expected. We take guest feedback seriously and have already worked to improve to ensure the appetizers are prepares and served is up to par. We hope to welcome you back soon, and I, personally, invite you back to the restaurant and give us another try. Sincerely, Ryan Ward, culinary sous chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

My nephew and I spend two days in the Boston area looking at colleges. This Hyatt was the perfect location for us. The views from our balcony were phenomenal. Staff was great and the late night dining option at the main restaurant was great after long days of college hunting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here because my son had a high school science fair type thing at MIT. The hotel is directly next to the school and that is a major problem. First of all, I booked a room with a balcony thinking it would give us more room and a little air. Well...it was definitely a necessity for more room! The rooms are very small. The fact that our room faced the west was a huge problem because the room was EXTREMELY hot. All of this would be okay for our three nights, but the problem was more about the restaurant. Because of the fact there are NO RESTAURANTS within walking distance, guests are totally dependent upon the restaurant here...Zephyr on the Charles. AWFUL! We had eaten here and it was fine, however, on our second night here, we decided to have drinks and an early dinner. Drinks went well, the service was fine---but then we never got our food. The waitress apologized.....still no food. Finally we decided to leave. A girl was bringing our food as we were leaving. We went to pay for our drinks and the same girl threw down a bill to us without a word! What a horrible way to treat hungry customers! They paid our bar bill and tried to bring us something, but we were too scared to have them bring us food... Next time the Boston area calls our name, we will NOT stay here.

Room Tip: Another hotel would have a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmb560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hello, jmb560, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not everything that you had imagined. We know that it can be hard to find a decent meal away from home, and strive to make sure that each person is completely satisfied with their food. I apologize that we were lacking in this area. I can assure you that this is not Hyatt standard and we are addressing this internally to ensure that it does not happen again. We would like the opportunity to speak with you directly about your concerns at qualitybosrc@hyatt.com. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We hope to hear from you. Best, Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Luxury hotel with Hyatt charm in a great location in Cambridge and overlooking the Charles River. Rooms have been upgraded and service is very good. Health Club and pool are great for those that use them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

So, I like Hyatt hotels but this one is indeed a throwback and in need of modern renovations.
Staff nice, large open area in center and reminds me somewhat of an Embassy Suite
The most uncomfortable and sparse lobby area waiting for a ride out in the morning--is there any chance they could at least get a few more chairs and comfortable at that.
The wood paneling at the elevators looks like it could be cleaned a bit, or better yet taken off.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelandtravail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.8 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#17 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.6 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Boston Marriott Cambridge
#7 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Address: 575 Memorial Drive, Overlooking Boston, Cambridge, MA 02139-4896
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, Hyatt Regency Cambridge is a stylish hotel overlooking the Boston skyline. A proud recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award, our Boston hotel features contemporary rooms with breathtaking views of the scenic Charles River and downtown Boston. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit art museums, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just a complimentary shuttle ride away from Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Nestled between legendary colleges and universities such as Harvard, MIT, Boston University and Boston College and conveniently located just minutes from innovative companies and start-ups such as AT&T, Yahoo and Amazon, our Cambridge hotel is the ideal place to conduct business or academic pursuits in Boston. Enjoy seasonal New England cuisine at Zephyr on the Charles, offering sweeping views of Boston's Charles River. Sip a cocktail at the Zephyr Lounge and relax on our outdoor, seasonal patio on warm spring night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing