We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With just a bit, this could be great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“With just a bit, this could be great.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a good hotel which could be great. The staff is very friendly and, on the whole, well-trained, the location is great, and the food I had was wonderful. So why then detract from what was turning into a better-than-good stay with ... frayed carpet by the (very clean) bathroom, no cups/glasses whatsoever in the bathroom, lousy TV reception, charging $35 extra for a room with any kind of view, charging overnight guests for parking in their parking garage, reception clerk who rattles off the intro from rote and then neglects to tell you where the elevators are, providing an illegible map of the area with none of the places labeled. This place has lots going for it -- with just a bit of work, it could be great.

Room Tip: Unless you pay the extra $35, you will have no view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmental practices do not seem a priority in this hotel.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    771
    482
    210
    109
See reviews for
679
424
121
820
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The location of this Hotel is excellent and the accommodation are very comfortable. I was lucky enough to get a balcony room with a spectacular view of the city. I frequently travel to Boston and Cambridge to for business and to visit family - the Cambridge Hyatt is a great choice whether you are traveling solo, or with family. The pool and spa are a great treat as well.

Room Tip: Try for a balcony room or a room with a view of the Charles.
See more room tips
Green Features: I have traveled all over the world for business, and the staff at this Hotel are extremely friendly and polite - it was a pleasure to stay here.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Araba_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Araba_101, thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit! We are so pleased to hear that not only are you a frequent visitor to the area but also that our team at Hyatt Regency Cambridge were able to make this experience a memorable one for you! Our Balcony rooms highlight the beauty downtown Boston and extenuate the view, which is one of our best qualities! Next time you stay with us make sure to stop by Zephyr on the Charles where you are able to indulge in naturally sourced, local cuisine as well as enjoy the view of the Charles River with the floor to ceiling windows. Thank you again for the review and we hope to welcome you back, soon! Best, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have stayed at this property over 10 times now, and the reason for my return visits are simply that this hotel, while not the splashiest or the newest in the area, hits the right chord in terms of making one feel comfortable. The staff and associates are quite friendly, and the GM and below truly seem to care about customer experience.

Room Tip: Try to score a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EK1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hello, EK1964, Thank you for continuing to select Hyatt Regency Cambridge for your visits to the Cambridge-area. We appreciate you taking time to provide feedback on your experience and are happy that you have continued to enjoy your stays at the hotel. It is our hope that each and every guest, regardless of their purpose of stay, has a relaxing and comfortable experience where they can make themselves at home. Next time you visit, please make sure to take advantage of our River-view and Balcony rooms that overlook the Boston Skyline! Please be in touch during your next visit to the Cambridge area, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Thank you again for your review! Best, Emily qualitybosrc@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Banquet food was better than restaurant, Furniture in bar area worn out, needs replacing. Wait staff very courteous and eager to please. Order from bar menu carefully, some items like fried calamari are poor quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank haroldfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello, haroldfs, Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Cambridge for such an important event. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the banquet food as well as the courteous service. I do sincerely apologize that the calamari was not what you expected. We take guest feedback seriously and have already worked to improve to ensure the appetizers are prepares and served is up to par. We hope to welcome you back soon, and I, personally, invite you back to the restaurant and give us another try. Sincerely, Ryan Ward, culinary sous chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My nephew and I spend two days in the Boston area looking at colleges. This Hyatt was the perfect location for us. The views from our balcony were phenomenal. Staff was great and the late night dining option at the main restaurant was great after long days of college hunting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here because my son had a high school science fair type thing at MIT. The hotel is directly next to the school and that is a major problem. First of all, I booked a room with a balcony thinking it would give us more room and a little air. Well...it was definitely a necessity for more room! The rooms are very small. The fact that our room faced the west was a huge problem because the room was EXTREMELY hot. All of this would be okay for our three nights, but the problem was more about the restaurant. Because of the fact there are NO RESTAURANTS within walking distance, guests are totally dependent upon the restaurant here...Zephyr on the Charles. AWFUL! We had eaten here and it was fine, however, on our second night here, we decided to have drinks and an early dinner. Drinks went well, the service was fine---but then we never got our food. The waitress apologized.....still no food. Finally we decided to leave. A girl was bringing our food as we were leaving. We went to pay for our drinks and the same girl threw down a bill to us without a word! What a horrible way to treat hungry customers! They paid our bar bill and tried to bring us something, but we were too scared to have them bring us food... Next time the Boston area calls our name, we will NOT stay here.

Room Tip: Another hotel would have a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmb560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hello, jmb560, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not everything that you had imagined. We know that it can be hard to find a decent meal away from home, and strive to make sure that each person is completely satisfied with their food. I apologize that we were lacking in this area. I can assure you that this is not Hyatt standard and we are addressing this internally to ensure that it does not happen again. We would like the opportunity to speak with you directly about your concerns at qualitybosrc@hyatt.com. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We hope to hear from you. Best, Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Luxury hotel with Hyatt charm in a great location in Cambridge and overlooking the Charles River. Rooms have been upgraded and service is very good. Health Club and pool are great for those that use them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,911 reviews
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
172 reviews
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#16 of 20 in Cambridge
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,355 reviews
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
828 reviews
Boston Marriott Cambridge
#7 of 20 in Cambridge
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Address: 575 Memorial Drive, Cambridge, MA 02139-4896
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, Hyatt Regency Cambridge is a stylish hotel overlooking the Boston skyline. A proud recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award, our Boston hotel features contemporary rooms with breathtaking views of the scenic Charles River and downtown Boston. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit art museums, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just a complimentary shuttle ride away from Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Nestled between legendary colleges and universities such as Harvard, MIT, Boston University and Boston College and conveniently located just minutes from innovative companies and start-ups such as AT&T, Yahoo and Amazon, our Cambridge hotel is the ideal place to conduct business or academic pursuits in Boston. Enjoy seasonal New England cuisine at Zephyr on the Charles, offering sweeping views of Boston's Charles River. Sip a cocktail at the Zephyr Lounge and relax on our outdoor, seasonal patio on warm spring night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing