We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I travelled here because I was working in Cambridge, it was only just a bit more convenient but I moved to a better hotel (Marlow) for my own personal portion of the trip and can't praise it enough. I wouldn't stay here if I was visiting Boston, it's too inconvenient.
If you get a river view room, it is quite nice but not worth the extra cost. I found all of the public areas very dated, it looks like it hasn't been refurbished since the 80s.
There is one bar/restaurant and it's really not very good so you have to get a taxi to go anywhere half decent.
Staff in the shop were genuinely very friendly, waiting staff keen for tips (as they paid so poorly in the US) so I found them overly obsequious, receptionists were indifferent and cold.

Room Tip: River View - Deluxe upgrade if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kitteecat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi kitteecat74, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback in regards to your recent stay. Our sincerest apologies your experience regarding our associates and the quality, as well as service at Zephyr on the Charles did not exceed your expectations. We want to assure you that this is not typical of Hyatt Regency Cambridge. We do hope that you will give us another shot to provide you with the authentic hospitality that we are known for. Please be in touch should you wish to return, so we can ensure an amazing stay. Best, Sarah. qualitybosrc@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,430 - 1,436 of 2,462 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

I chose this hotel because it was much cheaper than staying in Boston. The room was clean and comfortable with a comfy bed. The hotel shuttle takes guests to Harvard Square and Kendall/MIT station and the drivers were friendly and helpful. However, at busy times I waited 15-20 minutes for the shuttle and there are few public transportation options other than the CT2 bus. The CT2 stops at both Fenway station and Kendall/MIT, but unfortunately it stops running around 7pm each evening.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BelfastTraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review BelfastTraveller77! We take guest feedback very seriously and value your opinion. We’re pleased you enjoyed our suites and had a good night’s rest. Our shuttle is one of our many amenities we provide to help with the city experience and we apologize for the high wait time you experienced due to Boston traffic. We try to accommodate this with multiple shuttles running at once during peak travel times. However, we appreciate your feedback and have passed it along to the correct departments for immediate evaluation. Thank you again for the review and we hope to welcome you back, soon! Have a great summer! Best, Sarah. qualitybosrc@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel is a little outdated compared to other Hyatts and the staff was not as friendly. It's across the Charles river from downtown Boston but you can walk there (although it takes a while). We stayed at the Cambridge Hyatt because it was cheaper than Boston hotels but next time I will likely pay more to stay closer. The rooms are nice and the river view is pretty. The pool is a lap pool so not kid friendly. It's in a strange and distant part of the hotel with the fitness center and I would have felt uncomfortable walking there by myself.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Darcie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hello, Darcie S, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. We are so glad that you were able to enjoy the river views and our proximity to Boston. Next time you visit, be sure to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle connecting you to convenient Cambridge and Boston locations along with Green and Red-line T stops which take you right into the city. We hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you back, both Cambridge and Boston are amazing places to explore and discover! Best, Emily qualitybosrc@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stay other Hyatt before, this one is just average. Staff are courteous. Location is not convenient without car. Service is quite slow at restaurant, staff don't seem experienced at waiting table. Swimming pool is relatively small although the picture makes it look big! It has no lifeguard, there are many rules written there but no guests really follow. Only two shower room there! Room is relatively clean. We left something in the room after check-out but Lost and Found Dept never has anybody answer the phone and never returned call. So as for our family, it is just OK Hyatt. Maybe they can do better at non-busy season.

Room Tip: Ask for Charles River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi Barbara G, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Cambridge! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the indoor saline swimming pool as well as your dining experience at Zephyr on the Charles. We will certainly pass along your feedback to our teams as I am sure our associates will love your feedback. However, I would like to apologize that our team has not gotten back to you regarding the item you left behind. Please reach out to me directly, sarah.davison@hyatt.com, with further information regarding the item you left and I will reach out to the correct departments to see if it has been found. Thank you again for your review and I hope to hear from you. Best, Sarah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed for a week. very accommodating and eager to please. Clean room and shuttle service was a plus. Would stay there again. Food at hotel restraunt was excellent and convenient. Pool area was well maintained and gym equipment was modern.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank joee691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hello Joee691, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge! We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your time here at the hotel. Next time you are in Cambridge be sure to ask a Front Desk Associates about Zagster Bike Rentals so that you and your family can explore the Charles River and the great local neighborhoods on two wheels! Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Best Sarah. qualitybosrc@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

If you're looking for a clean and comfortable home base for Boston, this is a great choice. It has great views of the river, a free shuttle to do different points in CAMBRIDGE (but not across the river to Boston), and a beautiful, well-maintained room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travellingKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

TravellingKC, thank you for your recent review! We are so glad that your room was clean and comfortable, and that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location to Cambridge via our complimentary shuttle service. If you haven’t signed up already, please take advantage of our Hyatt Gold Passport Membership in order to qualify for complimentary room nights, free in-room Wi-Fi access, and much more during your upcoming travels. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon! Best, Sarah. qualitybosrc@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great place to stay. Very easy to commute to Boston; shuttle service is wonderful; rooms are comfortable. We had a river/Boston/balcony room... made every night and every morning memorable with the spectacular view.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Sonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hello, Sonia D, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We are thrilled that your stay warranted a “5-star” review! We truly appreciate your feedback and are glad that our amenities and views overlooking the Charles River made every night and every morning a memorable one. We hope to welcome you back, soon! Best, Emily qualitybosrc@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#12 of 19 in Cambridge
228 reviews
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#17 of 19 in Cambridge
239 reviews
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 19 in Cambridge
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 19 in Cambridge
2,026 reviews
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
992 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Address: 575 Memorial Drive, Cambridge, MA 02139-4896
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £99 - £519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, Hyatt Regency Cambridge is a stylish hotel overlooking the Boston skyline. A proud recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award, our Boston hotel features contemporary rooms with breathtaking views of the scenic Charles River and downtown Boston. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit art museums, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just a complimentary shuttle ride away from Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Nestled between legendary colleges and universities such as Harvard, MIT, Boston University and Boston College and conveniently located just minutes from innovative companies and start-ups such as AT&T, Yahoo and Amazon, our Cambridge hotel is the ideal place to conduct business or academic pursuits in Boston. Enjoy seasonal New England cuisine at Zephyr on the Charles, offering sweeping views of Boston's Charles River. Sip a cocktail at the Zephyr Lounge and relax on our outdoor, seasonal patio on warm spring night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing