We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in poor location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Good hotel in poor location”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Hyatt Regency Cambridge is a good hotel located on the banks of the Charles River. The design of the hotel is unusual in that it is pyramid shaped and the interior is quite contemporary with lots of natural light.

The staff are friendly and efficient. The rooms are quite spacious and and view of Boston from my room was great. The Zephyr restaurant and bar are quite good with the same great view.

However the location is poor. It is sort of closer to MIT but you need a taxi to go anywhere else. There is a shuttle to Cambridge but it is not adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E150A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello, E150A, Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Cambridge! We are so glad you enjoyed both our property and our associates. We pride ourselves on our friendly associates as well as our quick and efficient service. My apologies that you found opportunities with the shuttle. Our complimentary shuttle drops guests off at three major subway stops, taking you directly into Boston. Upon your return, please visit our on-hand valet for a taxi whenever you may need one. We hope to invite you back to Cambridge soon! All my best, Emily qualitybosrc@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    771
    482
    210
    109
See reviews for
678
424
121
819
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Excellent hotel in Cambridge-close to Fenway. Really liked this hotel and would stay again. Restaurant was excellent-food was very good and service was fantastic. Service was great and Concierge was very helpful directing me to Fenway. Close to MIT and Harvard and the running trails along the Charles River.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Blair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Blair N, Thank you so much for your "5-star" review. We are thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy the local attractions, our convenient location, close to Fenway and it's action, as well as the amazing views of the city and the Charles River. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best, Emily qualitybosrc@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Alright, so while the hotel itself looks beautiful and has a lot to offer, everything comes with a price. In this case, VERY high prices.

The good:
Pool open for a long time without charge each day.
Fitness center open 24/7.
Fairly easy access to Boston via buses and subway.
Amazing views.
Restaurant sounds like it's high quality.
Parking available.

The bad:
- Pool is open without a lifeguard, it's a lap pool and not really family friendly.
- Hear about that great view of the river? Well that's going to be another $35.
- Want wifi? $13 please.
- Care to use the computers in the lobby? It's free! For 15 minutes of use. Then it's $6 for every 15 minutes after that.
- See that huge parking structure by the hotel? Well customers at the Hyatt get to use it! Are you thinking there's a deal? Nope. $35 dollars overnight parking fee. And that's not even valet.
- Some of the rooms look like they've just painted over every single problem that exists.
- I'm no plumber, but I'm fairly sure that the shower shouldn't be spurting out water at a 90 degree angle from the stem.
- Did you think Starbucks was expensive before stopping by? Well it just got more expensive.


In total:
Room with river view: $35
In room wifi: $13
45 min of computer: $12
Overnight parking: $35
Total: $95 more for what you could've gotten elsewhere for free. I mean elsewhere like Comfort Inn or a Hilton.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Julien T., Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback in regards to your recent stay. Our sincerest apologies that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. A clean and well maintained guest room is a top priority and I'm sorry that we didn't get it right the first time; please, next time contact the front desk immediately, as we could have sent engineering straight up to address the problem, moving you to a different room if you had wished. It is understandable to be frustrated with all of the costs associated with staying at a hotel; we do ensure that our prices are as reasonable as they can be and these extra costs are on par with other hotels in the area. We do hope that you will give us another shot to provide you with the authentic hospitality that we are known for. Please be in touch should you wish to return, so we can ensure an amazing stay. Best, Emily qualitybosrc@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Guestrooms were extraordinary with beautiful clean lines. Beautiful decor and interior design. Splendid commanding view of the Charles River bustling with local activity. Riverboats and colorful rowing teams was the theme of the whole day. And maybe just our timing as check in was a bit slow and we were checked in at 4:00 pm. sparing no earlier minutes - That's fine because official check in is 4: 00 pm so we understand earlier is certainly a courtesy. I get that, but feel that 4:00 pm is still a bit late altogether with a 12:00 pm check out which diminishes the overall value of a "1nts" stay. (It's sort of cheating a little bit.) 4ft spacious lap pool was fresh and clean and a roof top lounge area adds great value. Complimentary Shuttle Service to Kendall Station and Area Malls really gives great support to an area which offers boundless charm, but not too much more. Hyatt Regency Cambridge customer service really shines though.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the complimentary shuttle service to the Galleria Mall area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DERRICK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello, DERRICK M, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. We are glad to hear that you loved clean your guest room, and that you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to Cambridge points of interest via the complimentary shuttle! If you enjoyed the view of the Boston skyline next time you stay with us ask a front desk associate about Zagster bike rentals to explore the Charles River and city of Cambridge on two wheels! Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back, soon! Best, Emily qualitybosrc@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

When you book your reservation here (which was difficult for me to do because of the automated system) make sure that you ask for a room with a view of the river if you want one. Not all rooms have them, and it's an extra charge. The shuttle doesn't run all that often and the concierge was not from the area so not helpful. On the other hand, the room was clean and adequate (no bath, no mini-bar, no complimentary breakfast) AND the highlight is the restaurant. The dinner food and drinks and service (and view) were well worth the stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Madalyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hello, Madalyn J, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for the difficulty with your reservations. If you ever have an issue, please feel free to email or call us directly. We are here to help. We are so glad that you were able to take advantage of our amazing views and the delightful food, drinks and service in Zephyr on the Charles. Please be in touch upon your next return, we'll ensure that hospitality amazes throughout your stay. All my best, Emily qualitybosrc@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Hyatt is in a great location for events at M.I.T. (the reason for my stay - my son was in a triathlon and had to be on campus by 6:15am - we could walk from the Hyatt). However, the hotel reminded me of hotels in former Communist Countries - cold and depressing. The carpet in the room was dark brown. The whole room was dark and cold and had a bad smell. Very unwelcoming. I had planned to ask for extended checkout, but changed my mind and checked out early. On the positive side, the staff was very friendly at both the front desk and restaurant. The restaurant was nearly empty but the food was good. The bed was very comfortable. My son enjoyed the pool and there was a decent gym. However, all the positives don't outweigh the negative feeling in the room, I won't be booking a stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi, Colleen W, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. We are glad to hear that you took advantage of our close proximity to MIT and were able to enjoy the campus and cheer on your son at his triathlon! At Hyatt Regency Cambridge hospitality is our #1 priority; we are pleased that you enjoyed interacting with our associates, but we are sorry to hear that you did not feel as though the décor was as welcoming. We are renovating our first floor starting in December and hope that you will return to see the beautiful changes. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back! Best, Emily qualitybosrc@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The good: a nice buffet breakfast ($19), attractive physical features, attentive staff in the restaurant, shuttle to Fenway on game days. The bad: my wife, son and I went to Boston to see the Sox. I booked through Expedia, requesting a HC room (son is in a wheelchair) and a rollaway bed for him. We got into the room, finally, around 4:00 (the check in time). Despite emphasizing the need for a second bed, it had not arrived at the time we left for the game. (The desk clerk informed me that they pay no attention to such requests when they come from a second party, in this case Expedia (yet they did have a HC room for us). I asked the desk again as we were leaving, but upon return to the hotel a little after 11 PM, the bed still was not there. I went to the front desk and asked again for it. 20 minutes later, nothing. I became highly annoyed and was prepared to return to the desk and create a scene. But my sweet wife went instead. It was promised in 10 minutes. 15 minutes later, still no bed. I opened the door to head to the desk, and coming down the hall was one of the desk clerks, a pleasant Asian man. Apparently room service people are not available at night?). So around midnight we went to bed. The second morning we were awakened to a high pitched scream from the plumbing at 7:30 that went on for at least 20 minutes.

Green Features: It's isolated in Cambridge, with only the Charles River nearby. A shuttle is available to go to a couple spots in Cambridge, and on game days, to Fenway.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi Rick S, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Cambridge. It is great that you were able to enjoy our restaurant and utilize our complimentary shuttle. I deeply apologize that you experienced such a frustrating time while awaiting a roll-away bed for your son. We take pride in our efficient and friendly associates and I'm sorry we missed the mark. We take your feedback very seriously and will use your example as a training point. We hope to invite you and your family back to Cambridge soon! Best, Emily qualitybosrc@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,910 reviews
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
172 reviews
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#16 of 20 in Cambridge
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,355 reviews
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
828 reviews
Boston Marriott Cambridge
#7 of 20 in Cambridge
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Address: 575 Memorial Drive, Cambridge, MA 02139-4896
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, Hyatt Regency Cambridge is a stylish hotel overlooking the Boston skyline. A proud recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award, our Boston hotel features contemporary rooms with breathtaking views of the scenic Charles River and downtown Boston. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit art museums, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just a complimentary shuttle ride away from Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Nestled between legendary colleges and universities such as Harvard, MIT, Boston University and Boston College and conveniently located just minutes from innovative companies and start-ups such as AT&T, Yahoo and Amazon, our Cambridge hotel is the ideal place to conduct business or academic pursuits in Boston. Enjoy seasonal New England cuisine at Zephyr on the Charles, offering sweeping views of Boston's Charles River. Sip a cocktail at the Zephyr Lounge and relax on our outdoor, seasonal patio on warm spring night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing